We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location for your day trips”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hill City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Crooked Creek Resort and RV Park
Lisle, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location for your day trips”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

We stayed at the 3 bedroom rental house they have off site. However we used the pool and spoke with people staying at campground. Very nice staff. We will recommend Crooked Creek Resort to our family and friends. The Klein's 2012 Mount Rushmore Trip... crawl-spaces.com

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KevinKlein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    28
    16
    12
    16
See reviews for
60
26
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

The room is very small but if you just need a place to sleep at night and do not plan on spending much time in your room, this is a great bargain. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms are next to the campgrounds. Breakfast in their pavillion in the morning for a fee. Very reasonable and good.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bountiful, UT
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

Holy crap! This stay couldn't have been better. Resort is in the middle of everything in the Black Hills. I booked three nights at Crooked Creek Resort site unseen. I had no idea what to expect. My family and I were spending 4 days in the Mount Rushmore Memorial area and wanted a cabin experience with some amenities. We booked the 1 room cabin with bathroom and shower. When we arrived the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. I was nervous about the cabin because it backed the main road. When we opened our cabin it was spotless. Extra linens and blankets were available. There was a kitchenette with hotplate and fridge. Out front of the cabin was a charcoal grill and fire pit. Simple, easy layout. Now I want to build one of these little cabins on some property I own.
All the staff at the Crooked Creek were very attentive and friendly. Going out of their way to welcome us and see that our needs were met. I wanted a roll away bed for one of my boys and they quickly went and retrieved one. WiFi was great and I planned out our trip on my iPad sitting in front of our fire pit. Now that is really roughing it!
In the mornings Crooked Creek has this great chuck wagon breakfast. $3.00 all you can eat pancakes which is great for the kids. I recommend the breakfast burrito made fresh while you wait. The breakfast staff were some of the nicest people I've ever met and they made sure we were well taken care of. I think I gained 20 pounds in the 3 meals I ate there.
The playground kept my kids occupied for hours and they met new friends from all around the country.
The only con's I saw about this place was the pool was out of commission during our stay but it looked like some new tile work would be completed in a few days. Beds were comfortable but noisy and the cabin bathroom toilet was so close to the door that your knees would hit the door while doing your business. Ok if your an open door sitter! Noise from the road never bothered us. Didn't even notice it.

I would stay there again in a heartbeat!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank stew82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HillCityResort, Owner at Crooked Creek Resort and RV Park, responded to this review, 21 February 2013
Holy Buckets! We are so happy that you enjoyed your Black Hills adventure site un seen with us! Just remodeled those for 2012. More to come for 2013! Hope you will venture this way again in the future. Happy travels.

Doug & Michelle Olson
Owners
Crooked Creek Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nowhere
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

We stayed in a beautiful tent site July of 2011 for 4 nights. It was perfect...lots of room, next to the creek, under a tree and right next to the Mickelson trail. The bathrooms were very clean although, cramped and not enough showers to keep up with demand, and the worst toilet paper on the planet! Leaves would have done a better job! Regardless, because of the extreme NOISE and lack of quiet time enforcement, we will never stay there again. The office staff seemed attentive upon arrival, but once we had a problem with partying neighbors until 3 am, there was no one to be found. I appreciate the beautiful lawns, (the grounds are VERY well kept) but after being kept awake until 3 am, irritability rising with each minute, we REALLY did NOT want to hear mowers starting up at 7 or 8 am, lasting until the early afternoon. We complained about the partying neighbors the next night....nobody really cared. The property is very close to the highway, so we got a lot of noise from that, which was not very relaxing. I realize there is nothing the owners could do about that, but since it is an issue, one would think they would make an extra effort to enforce other noise...ex. LOUD PARTIES. (this was NOT during Sturgis...these people were just the average travelling group whooping it up until 3 am) There is no place to wash dishes, other than a tub with cold water only, with super rude cleaning staff watching your every move. One woman even started spraying down mats from the bath house right next to where I was so the the water was spraying on me. Just plain rude. The pool was really small, but we don't know about the temp. because we ended up showing up to the campground in cold rainy weather, so swimming wasn't appealing...a HOT TUB would have been a very nice addition for ADULTS! All in all, it's a beautiful campground for tent camping, if you can score the right site, the bathrooms are clean, but the noise and lack of enforcement is a serious detriment. We won't stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Celenebean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HillCityResort, Owner at Crooked Creek Resort and RV Park, responded to this review, 21 February 2013
Glad you enjoyed 4 night stay. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

We stayed here for four nights. The couple at the front office were super friendly and we felt very welcome. It has a great location central to all the Black hills have to offer. We did a lot including Custer, Mt. Rushmore, Keystone and of course Hill City. There were a lot of campgrounds in the area but this one had a great fall special. The wifi was very good. The only negative we had was that the RV sites were a bit close together. These big rigs and slides take up lots of room. But the central location really made up for that.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jen1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HillCityResort, Owner at Crooked Creek Resort and RV Park, responded to this review, 21 February 2013
Hey thanks for staying with us! Sounds like you had a good expierience while you were here. Hill City is welcoming a new event this summer. "Brule" an American Rock Opera group. And don't forget about the Custer State Park Buffallo round up the last weekend of september. Oh and don't forget the Hill City quilt show second week of september. Hope to soo you there!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stillwater, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

We stayed at Crooked Creek this summer and really enjoyed our time. We enjoyed the location, the atmosphere, the clean restrooms. Kids loved the pool. The camp sites were in great shape. We loved the carpet-like grass. Loved that it was peaceful! Thanks to those who work hard to keep the place in shape!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank littleaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

Crooked Creek is a nice campground. They had activities for the kids like a playground but we mainly used the campground as a resting point from which to go see Black Hills attractions. We did do a little gold-panning in the creek just so we could say we did that and for the kids. We primitive camped (no electricity or heat) in one of the Tipi tents the first night which the kids (6 and 9 year-old boys) can now have as a memory (good memory I hope but we sure did get cold early September 2011). The other two nights we stayed in a cabin with electricity and heat (no bathroom). The communal bathroom shower area (they only had one shower building open, maybe because summer season had just ended) was OK for the toilets (very clean at least) but the showers could really use some help in that while new and clean there was just practically no room to dress/undress. It was workable and otherwise a nice shower facility but the size of the shower stall dressing area left a lot to be desired. Also had to wait until after the morning rush to use the showers because they only had one building open and too much demand. Otherwise I don't have anything to complain about and overall it was a pleasant campground. The staff was very friendly and helpful. There are so many campgrounds right off the highway that unless you make a real effort to go somewhere more isolated you are going to get some road noise which some reviewers have been critical of. We experienced no negative issues with the road noise and it certainly is not unique to Crooked Creek as stated. For what we paid I actually am really happy with what we got ($28.50 a night in a cabin with electricity and heat). We had a good time and would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hill City hotels
2.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 12 in Hill City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
2.7 mi away
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
#11 of 12 in Hill City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 12 in Hill City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crooked Creek Resort and RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crooked Creek Resort and RV Park

Property: Crooked Creek Resort and RV Park
Address: 24184 HYW 16 & US 385, Hill City, SD 57745
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Hill City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crooked Creek Resort and RV Park is nestled in a valley of the southern Black Hills, just outside of Hill City, South Dakota. Minutes away from national monuments, the George S. Mickelson Trail, and many museums and shops, it is the perfect place to stay for vacationing families, outdoor enthusiasts and history buffs, alike. Pack a lunch and spend the day hiking on the Mickelson Trail or soaking in the beauty of nature and wildlife at Custer State Park. Create a life-long memory by visiting Mount Rushmore National Monument and Crazy Horse Memorial. Enjoy the quaint mountain community of Hill City and spend an afternoon visiting art galleries, shopping, taking a ride on the 1880 Train, enjoying a glass of wine at one of our 4 wineries or have a cold brew at one of our 2 new Micro Breweries. Hill City has it all! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Crooked Creek Hotel Hill City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing