We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Crooked Creek Resort and RV Park
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites(Hill City)(Great Value!)
US$120
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins(Hill City)(Great Value!)
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn & Suites(Hill City)(Great Value!)
US$86
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coyote Blues Village B&B(Hill City)(Great Value!)
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
US$89
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Hill City)(Great Value!)
US$107
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (121)
Filter reviews
121 results
Traveller rating
44
30
17
14
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
44
30
17
14
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfire pitclean restroomsthursday sundayrv parkblack hillstent camperscreek runningmotor homesmall kitchenetteoffice staffpancake breakfastcrazy horselaundry facilitiesthe staff was friendly and helpfulbear countrybath housewould definitely stay here again
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 121 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2013

First time to the area and this RV Park was recommended by our friends. We were not disappointed. Clean and friendly. It was perfect for us to stay there and then drive our tow car to all the surrounding area. It has bike trail across the creek (a pay trail but small state charge)
I would stay here again

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HillCityResort, Owner at Crooked Creek Resort and RV Park, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Hi folks, we are so happy your first experience here was grand! Please come and visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

My grandson and I spent 3 days in the motel. The campground and the outside setting is nice but I thought the motel was overpriced for what we got. I had booked our vacation through Blackhills vacation website and they set us up with this. The staff was very nice. we've stayed at a few other motels on our way out and back home. The Best Western and Super 8 charged alot less plus got many cable channels in our rooms while out at Crooked Creek didn't even get 10 channels. The location is perfect and centrally located for all the sites out there.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peggy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HillCityResort, Owner at Crooked Creek Resort and RV Park, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

We are sorry that our Motel was not up to your expectations. Yes it is a smaller scale motel than your chain motels. Our purpose at the resort is to provide adequate lodging for the area. Our Motel is in a campground setting therefore we do not want to imitate a Super 8 or Best Western. Pricing is based on a seasonal business. We feel our rates and accommodations are very comparable to others in the area. We have been upgrading and doing capital improvements since 2001.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We have been staying here each year we go out to Sturgis. They have ample tent sites, cabins and hotel. We always stay in the cabins, some have full bathroom while others are just beds. It's clean, friendly and very relaxing. They have breakfast, ice, firewood, pop chips and other accessories for sale while you stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HillCityResort, Owner at Crooked Creek Resort and RV Park, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you and your friends again in the future! Happy Camping!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I called twice with questions prior to our stay & was treated rudely. In retrospect, I wish I would have chosen another resort then. We found a used condom between the bed & the wall, a dead fly stuck to the bathroom divider & an all around terrible odor in the tiny cabin. The pool, play area, & breakfast barn are run down. We did not feel welcome left early.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank momof4fellas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HillCityResort, Owner at Crooked Creek Resort and RV Park, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

We apologize that the Resort was not up to your expectations upon arrival. As human beings we sometimes make mistakes. Our ability to correct those mistakes really starts with you, our guest. Unfortunately some guests wait until the last minute or even after they leave to help us correct the problem. Our concrete under ground pool is only 5 years old. This spring we just poured stamped concrete all the way around the outside pool area, and new tile was replaced on the inside of the pool. The pool is only open 3 months out of year and is professionally winterized every year to help maintain the life of the pool. The breakfast barn was just upgraded and re-modeled to meet South Dakota Health Department qualifications and passed inspection with a 100%. The breakfast barn fits the atmosphere of a campground setting. Our intentions were not to imitate a Denny's or an International House of Pancake style of a Restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Don't stay here. Bad place. We tented one night - Tent Sites 1 & 2 are in front of the restrooms (BTW: one set of restroom/shower/toilet for all). Lights are on all the time. They could allowed people to tent inside the restrooms - no extra efforts to respond to nature. I will give this place a -ve rating. The lady in the office made a big fuss about I using the credit card for $2 (I used up all my cash the previous day) - she taught me how much she pays to the credit card companies and how much she will lose by letting me use my card for a "mere" $2 - I didn't buy ice that morning (went to the gas station and used my card). AVOID AVOID ........... AVOID.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WestFargoFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HillCityResort, Owner at Crooked Creek Resort and RV Park, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

We are sorry that our campground did not meet your expectations. The sites you choose to stay in are very close to the restrooms and showers. You should have come to the office and requested a site change. We have several sites with electric and non electric by our beautiful babbling creek. The lights in the restrooms are security lights for the people that have to use them late at night. As far as no extra efforts to respond to nature that is untrue. We have another restroom and shower house located at the south end of the campground. Each guest that checks in is given a campground map showing them to their site. The map also shows where all the buildings are located through out the Campground.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews