We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is the primary thing this place has going for it”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hill City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Crooked Creek Resort and RV Park
Johnstown, Colorado
1 review
“Location is the primary thing this place has going for it”
Reviewed 20 July 2010

Located a few miles from Hill City, many of the Black Hills towns and tourist locations are within a reasonable drive. Also, Hill City has many amenities and fun thing to do as well.

The campgrounds where maintained decent and the kids did enjoy the pool. However, quite time is not enforced whatsoever. Expect campfire parties to continues until 3 AM (at least we did).

The complaints I have are mostly to do with ownership and management. They truely have no concept of customer service. After making a reservation about a month out, I learned on my arrival that I had to move my RV from one site to another in the middle of our stay. When you are in the middle of a vacation with your family and every hour of every day means something, this was unexecusable to me. They basically told me "its just the way it is" and did not even attempt to make it right in anyway whatsoever. Making matters worse, the imcompetent staff could not even get the story strait on what day we actually had to move.

Someone also mentioned the prices of items in the store. Everything was ridiculous in there.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mindloss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    29
    16
    13
    16
See reviews for
62
27
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
MANKATO
Level Contributor
171 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2009

These camping cabins are great at 50% off, which it was when we stayed here. The campground and land are clean and tidy, with a stream running through. Our cabin had 3 double beds, so my husband, myself, and our son could spread out! Plenty of room for luggage. On the downside, the bathrooms are down a short, rather steep hill, especially at night. On the plus side, if you were to come with a big group, this same property contains not only the campground and camping cabins, but also a motel and other, more traditional cabins.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 110kitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2009

One is close to Hill City and the other is further north. We camped with a tent in an RV site at the camp ground about two miles from Hill City and thought it was really good. We have two kids, 11 and 13, camped in site 5, which is right up against the pool and play ground. If you have kids, this is a great site becauseI could sit in my camp site, watch the kids play in the pool and at the play area and not worry about it. I think site 3 or 4 would be the best if you have kids because of being right by the restroom and playground. I've read some bad reviews, but people must be talking about hte other Crooked Creek campground. If you want quiet and not be bothered by traffic going to the restrooms and pool, do not stay in sites 1 - 6 because they do get alot of traffic, ,but that was fine with me. The kids could run to the nice, newly renovated restoom and I could watch them from the campsite wtihout having to walk them across the camp ground. The washer/drayers were recently updated and very nice. They have a very small general store, but HIll City if a short drive away for more groceries. This is also very convenient to all the tourist sites. Would definitely stay there again. Lots of families, kids riding bikes, and alot cheaper than the KOA or other camp sites. Its an older campground, but thought it was nicely managed. There are cabins, but they are right up against the road and Highway 16 is a major road, these cabins were noisey, but at the camp sites, you could hear traffic a little, but it wasn't bad or disruptive. In the summer time, they also have a very reasonable cooked breakfast, so its not necessary to cook your own breakfast. We cooked most of our meals at the camp site, there is a fire pit and a picnic talbe provided. One neighbor was msising a fire ring and the managemennt had a replacement fire ring there in minutes. Its a good idea to cook most of the meals because the restaurants in the area are expensive, there is no fastfood except in Rapid City. The parks all had nice picinic areas so you could bring your own meals and eat outside while enjoying nature. Its a vacation that you can make as cheap or expensive as you want.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank murphch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, CO
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2009

We had a Trailmanor for camping there. Everything clean and worked well. Upon asking, staff helped with ideas on things to see in the area. Great value when 50% off!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fun2go_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2009

We have stayed at several campgrounds and this one has been the worst. It is a good location, and updated showers but the management is poor.

We did the tent sight while other family did the hotel. Toilets were clogged with others feces, hair in the showers. (we stayed for 3 days, this was not a one time thing) We would have left but they would not refund our money. Laundry services cost $6 to do one load. Campground was noisy ~ not that the owners could control that. Bed's in hotel were dirty, door would not shut, and water did not stay hot. The pool is small and with all the guest in it there was no room for anyone else.

To make a long story short ~ I was not pleased.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schester200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hill City hotels

emersonc97
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2009

We scheduled our stay through Black Hills reservations. We reserved a campsite (tent w/electric) for 3 nights. When we arrived, we were placed 10 feet from the playground. There is no path from the road to the playground so kids were constantly running through our campsite. They closed the playground at 9. However, there was no enforcement of quiet hours after that. We were woken every hour the first night we stayed. (even staff was yelling outside of our tent) The second night we had earplugs....very helpful. Thankfully we do not have kids. I would not stay here ever again...and for sure not with kids. Too noisy and too crowded.

There was free Wi-fi, but it was incredibly slow.

We decided to leave a day early and the campground (since this is not really a "resort") refused to refund us the last night's stay. (We asked more that 12 hours before checkout...and left before 9 am.)

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emersonc97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midwest
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2009

I have to disagree with previous postings. Our family stayed in cabin #2 and cabin #3 and found the cabins cozy. Yes they are close to the road and you get some traffic noise but I don't think the staff can do much about that. We found the owners and staff very accomodating and some of the hardest workers I have seen at a campground. The grounds were well groomed. The showers were updated and clean. The laundry facilities were also very clean with newer machines (the staff even kept the building open extra long just by me asking). The location is centrally located and beautiful. The bathrooms were small and the refrigerators were apartment sized but we didn't need more since we were busy sightseeing all day anyway. I would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachloverMidwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hill City hotels
2.8 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
2.7 mi away
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
#11 of 12 in Hill City
179 reviews
5.1 mi away
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 12 in Hill City
240 reviews
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 12 in Hill City
80 reviews
2.1 mi away
Horse Thief Campground
Horse Thief Campground
#1 of 12 in Hill City
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crooked Creek Resort and RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crooked Creek Resort and RV Park

Property: Crooked Creek Resort and RV Park
Address: 24184 HYW 16 & US 385, Hill City, SD 57745
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Hill City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crooked Creek Resort and RV Park is nestled in a valley of the southern Black Hills, just outside of Hill City, South Dakota. Minutes away from national monuments, the George S. Mickelson Trail, and many museums and shops, it is the perfect place to stay for vacationing families, outdoor enthusiasts and history buffs, alike. Pack a lunch and spend the day hiking on the Mickelson Trail or soaking in the beauty of nature and wildlife at Custer State Park. Create a life-long memory by visiting Mount Rushmore National Monument and Crazy Horse Memorial. Enjoy the quaint mountain community of Hill City and spend an afternoon visiting art galleries, shopping, taking a ride on the 1880 Train, enjoying a glass of wine at one of our 4 wineries or have a cold brew at one of our 2 new Micro Breweries. Hill City has it all! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Crooked Creek Hotel Hill City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing