We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best experience ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Hill City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2013

The location was a.) easy to find, b.) close to many attractions and c.) had an amazing scenery! We are living on a tight budget with three little ones and one parent in grad school, so often times a good deal means you sacrifice something else..like service or cleanliness. However, that is not the case here. The room was very clean, never slept so well on a hotel mattress before, and the amenities were awesome (fast wifi, gas grill to use to, a beautiful deck to watch the sunset on, playground, firepit, breakfast, etc.). They even called us and sent us our camcorder we accidently left behind..so sweet! We will definately return to this place each year we come to the Hills!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2012

Our stay at this resort was such a great experience. There had been a huge wind storm that knocked out the power and the owner communicated with us that it might not be back on for our first night. He offered suggestions for other places that had power. We decided to go out for dinner and then check to see if it came back on. During our dinner, they called us to let us know it had been fixed and if we hadn't booked a room yet, we could come and stay. We were very happy and our three kids were excited to see our cabin. We were very happy with the cleanliness of the cabin. It was cozy and had every thing we would need. There was a little loft that our 8 year old was excited about and we had our own bedroom. We have three kids and it was a little bit crowded but we chose that cabin because we wanted to be in our own building and not in a town home where you might hear your neighbors. Our two youngest slept in the loft and our teenage daughter slept on a futon in the living area. We would definitely stay here again. They offered continental breakfast every morning which was awesome....no cooking for mom! The view from our cabin was super pretty with beautiful tall trees every where...it smelled so good. The location of the resort was excellent. Just a couple minutes drive to Hill City and less than twenty minutes drive to many of the attractions. We honestly were not in our cabin that much and it was an excellent value for a family of five. The owner was super friendly and very accommodating. Even though the cabins were somewhat close to each other it was super quiet and we slept well every night. We had a beautiful log bed that was very comfy. We would definitely recommend this place. We were there for Minnesotas MEA week and the crowds were small and very light traffic!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evelyne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

We stayed in cabin 19. It was nice, there were only two of us and it was a little cramped. However, it was clean, the staff was very helpful and friendly, and we had a great time. The inside had a sleeping nook which is specified to be for older children/young adults. I'm 26 and I slept up there. It is much smaller up there than it looks. It's a queen sized bed on the floor and that is all the space up there. The ceiling is RIGHT above you. That's really my only complaint though about the cabin. Our fridge had stopped working, we told the man at the front desk, and within no time he had gone up and switched out our fridge. The cabin/lodge was in a great area. It's only about 10 minutes from the downtown Hill City area, 10 minutes from Keystone, 20 minutes to Mt Rushmore, 25 to Crazy Horse, about forty five minutes to Wind Cave NP, and an hour and a half to the Badlands/Wall. The cabins are all right next to each other. They are not spread out how I thought they would be. It was very quiet though, which was great. There is also a porch, with a view of some hills and trees, a grill, and a table on the porch. Overall, very clean and cared for. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrea F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

our overall experience was good,although we were very disappointed in the pool. we expected a regular size swimming pool and instead found a small pool half-filled with water and green scum. .the traffic noise made it uncomfortable to sit on the deck, however the rooms were quiet.one suggestion would be to fence in the play area, it is very close to the busy highway. the cabins were clean and the owners very helpfl

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kathy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsten C, Owner at Mountain View Lodge & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2012

Thank you for you review of our property. We appreciate the feedback on the playground. The pool was closed and winterized the week after Labor Day and was not open at the time of your visit. We close the pool at that time due to average daily temperatures result in minimal to no pool usage. We continue to work towards providing a quality lodging experience at a convenient location for our guests at an affordable price and are pleased to hear that you were able to have quiet in your room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We stayed for 5 days after Labor Day. One of the most affordable places in the Black Hills to stay. Conveniently located between Hill City and Keystone and central to all the sites. Room was clean with 2 Queen's, a kitchenette with mini-fridge, sink, microwave, toaster and utensils/plates. Inn has a large deck with propane grills available for use which can come in handy. Pool and swing-set are available, however, we did not use them,
but others did. The available breakfast was slim, donuts, fruit, milk, juice, and toast. We used Linda's Deli just inside Hill City, Great place for breakfast and lunch, when it says extreme breakfast burrito it surely was.... Also there is an independent Tastee Freeze across the street that has good food and is open until 9 pm...

If you are looking for hot tubs, large breakfast, workout rooms and so forth this is not for you.
If you want a comfortable, location at very affordable rates this is your place. Even with the purchase of breakfast some days we saved hundreds over staying at the hotels in the tourist traps. May I add, we met some wonderful travelers also...

THE BOTTOM LINE.....You are in the Black Hills who needs foo-foo. Get out and walk the trails and see the sites. The time spent at the hotel was to shower, relax on the large porch and sleep.. The View is amazing and the location is central to all the sites. We highly recommend Mountain view Lodge and cabins for the rates, location and relaxation after a long day of exploring and visiting the Black Hills of South Dakota....

Room Tip: All rooms have same view and despite being on the highway the room was quiet. Check web site and pic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TandP_Baker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

The staff was wonderful. The owners and caretakers are really friendly and helpful. We stayed there in July for 6 nights and I found it the perfect place to return to after a day of touring the Black Hills attractions. The pool was a great place for the kids to cool off and have some fun. The rooms were clean, comfortable and well maintained. We did stay in a cabin for 3 nights (availability) and they were fantastic as well, great for bigger families. It is right near a couple Wineries that have surprisingly good wine. This lodge is located on the highway, which was a concern at first but I barely noticed. From the lodge, it seemed like we were never very far from our destination for the day. Perfect location in the heart of the Black Hills. I will definitely stay here on future family vacations to the Black Hills.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Norman57252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Clean and comfortable motel that is a bit outside of Hill City. Panicked a little when I saw a large group of teenagers entering the room next to ours. Either they were very quiet or the a/c drowned out noise well. Room doors open right onto the highway--might be a concern for a single woman; there is a deadbolt as well as a locking door handle. Managed by a nice couple who takes great care of the place. Average continental breakfast. Tiny pool--room for maybe 3 people at a time. Firm mattress but lumpy pillows.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shanti818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hill City
3.4 mi away
Mount Rushmore Lodge at Palmer Gulch
6 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 13 in Keystone
70 reviews
2.7 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
High Country Guest Ranch
High Country Guest Ranch
#11 of 12 in Hill City
133 reviews
6.1 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
3.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 12 in Hill City
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Lodge & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Lodge & Cabins

Address: 12654 S Highway 16, Hill City, SD 57745-6522
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Hill City
Price Range: £44 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountain View Lodge & Cabins 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your Black Hills vacation at our lodge and cabins within minutes to Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Custer State Park and several area attractions, ride on the Mickelson trail or kick back at Sheridan lake 2 miles away, cookout on our covered deck, and enjoy the scenic hills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Mountain View Lodge & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins Hotel Hill City
Mountain View Lodge And Cabins
Mountain View Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing