We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (191)
Filter reviews
191 results
Traveller rating
107
48
27
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
107
48
27
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews donuts family room small pool black hills rapid city fire pit coffee cabin stocked kitchenette oatmeal loft bed covered area continental breakfast custer state park house phone ice cream shop gas grill single room
Filter
Updating list...
136 - 141 of 191 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2014

There were nine of us on this family vacation in early September of 2013. We had a great time at this motel which is centrally located for all attractions in the Black hills. The proprietors were very accommodating to anything we needed. Nice breakfast each morning with fruit, cereal, toast, coffee, milk, fresh bran muffins made by our host. Nice porch out in front of our rooms #5 an #6, facing the road and pool. A small children’s play area near the office for the kids. Very quiet at night. Ice cream and sandwich shop across the street. For the price we could not have asked for more. If you are looking for a wonderful vacation in the Black Hills you could not go wrong making reservations at the Mountain View Lodge and Cabins.

Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JLH19inMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We spent a couple of nights at Mountain View Lodge mid august and loved it! Arlene is a gem who works 24/7 and will do whatever it takes to make your stay one to remember. Arlene is a wealth of information on local events, places to visit and great places to eat. We had room #4 which, as reported earlier by others is small but big enough for the 2 of us. We loved the large deck out front, which was a natural gathering point each evening for the hotel guests to gather, share their experiences from their day travels in the Black Hills and have a drink or two. It also has 2 grills for guests to use. This place is centrally located and makes it easy travel north or south. I would definitely stay here again.

Room tip: room 4 for value and right on the deck. highway traffic during the day is noisy but didn't seem to notice it at night.
Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank roxi72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We spent two nights at Mountain View in a small cabin with our 4 children. It was clean and cozy. The kids thought the sleeping nook was fun. We used the outdoor grill to cook steaks one night and the provided hot plate to cook eggs the following morning. The location is perfect for seeing all the area sights and the owner was friendly.

Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank begsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We got stuck there Oct.3rd from the snow storm of the century. The owners where kind enough to give us a ride. Our car got stuck in the storm they dug it out and did everything they could as weather permitted. We stayed in the 2 person cabin on top of the hill. Everything was exactly the same as it said online. Already have a 2nd vacation booked for 2014

Date of stay: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank adeva25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed at Mountain View for four nights. The room was very clean and tastefully decorated. The owners were very pleasant and helpful! The off season pricing was perfect for our budget. We would stay there again!

Room tip: It did not have a fitness center. I hit that accidentally!
Date of stay: October 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Teresa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews