We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Hill City
Certificate of Excellence
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A real gem!”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

You can tell that the owners of the lodge take great pride in their property! I stayed in lodge room #7 for four nights. The room was spotless. The bathroom was cleaner than the one in my own house. The double beds were exceedingly comfortable and the shower was great. Even though the lodge faces a major road, my mom and I never heard any noise from the road or other guests and we are both light sleepers. We enjoyed sitting on the enormous deck and chatting with other guests. Every staff member we met went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed for an enjoyable stay. I would highly recommend the lodge!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    38
    23
    7
    1
See reviews for
92
37
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Atkinson, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We were completely satisfied with our stay at Mountain View Lodge. The room was very clean, and the owners are very friendly! The location is perfect for visits to all the attractions, and the best kept secret is the little ice cream shop across the street, excellent food, and even a better price! We will be back!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brent H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Very nice couple who runs this facility. Everything was always so nice and clean. LOVED the deck side seating and grills available to us. Even got to see some Billy Goats one morning. What a lovely area, loved it!

Room Tip: So glad we had a room off of the deck, made evenings when kids were down so nice to relax.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Great location, rooms are cute and very clean. Beautiful mountain views. On a busy road but we never heard traffic while in our room. Having the grills was a great alternative to eating out all the time. Breakfast was toast, oatmeal, fruit, cereals, coffee and juice. We have 4 kids and our room size and layout was perfect. Pool temp was warm enough for the kids to use even though it was freezing while we were here. We will definitely be back here! Make sure if you stay try the malts at the ice cream shop across the road! They are awesome!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sistawi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
112 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The lodge room was fine, but the lodge is right on the road which has lots of traffic. The TV remote did not work, and the TV was a very small flat screen. Breakfast was cereal, donuts, toast and english muffins, and the breakfast eating area was very crowded.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidney, Nebraska
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The location was perfect - easy driving distance to all the attractions. The cabins were clean & comfortable. While not exactly "remote", they were off the beaten path enough to feel like you were on vacation in the mountains and able to relax. The small heated pool, housekeeping services and free continental breakfast gave you the best of the hotel/motel amenities as well. The Dairy Twist across the road made for an easy evening treat along with our campfire. There is a grocery store in Hill City (5 mins) that had great steaks for grilling! Only note to parents: the loft in the Individual cabin and the bunkbeds in the Duplex cabin were not toddler or little guy friendly in our opinion....our teenagers ended up using them instead of our 7 & 10 year old.

Room Tip: A family of 6 will fit comfortably in the Duplex cabins with plenty of room to move around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShrnJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillips, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We stayed two nights. We arrived late and they were waiting for us. We felt welcome the moment we walked through the door. The staff was extremely fun and friendly. The rooms were clean. Great view from the deck. Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnniePro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hill City
2.7 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
3.4 mi away
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
#11 of 12 in Hill City
179 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 12 in Hill City
240 reviews
6.0 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 14 in Keystone
270 reviews
5.2 mi away
K Bar S Lodge
K Bar S Lodge
#1 of 14 in Keystone
860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Lodge & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Lodge & Cabins

Property: Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
Address: 12654 S Highway 16, Hill City, SD 57745-6522
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Hill City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountain View Lodge & Cabins 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your Black Hills vacation at our lodge and cabins within minutes to Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Custer State Park and several area attractions, ride on the Mickelson trail or kick back at Sheridan lake 2 miles away, cookout on our covered deck, and enjoy the scenic hills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com and HRS so you can book your Mountain View Lodge & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins Hotel Hill City
Mountain View Lodge And Cabins
Mountain View Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing