We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smooth as silk”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Hill City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2010

Launched from this central location to Mt Rushmore, golf, Spearfish canyon, Custer Park, national park caves, and the peaceful back county around Deerfield. Nightlife close-by in downtown; went on the 1880's Train with grandkids--boo-yah! Didn't have time to fly-fish the fast water streams, or lakes - takes at least a week to sample it all; another week to do the full tourista scene. Quiet rooms, and attentive staff made my stay a great memory worth repeating.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeeOfNorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2010

We booked this room knowing that it would be different from the average Best Western. The staff was friendly and accommodating, but the location was disappointingly close to the noisy highway. Although it claimed to be newly renovated, the only thing that looked refurbished was the lobby. The rooms were small and worn, but clean. The shower was tiny, and the furnishings were cheap and sparse.
Our first night we stayed we had a terrible, sewage-type smell in our room. When my husband went to speak with the owner about it, he said they'd had "a few complaints about that". The hotel quickly changed us to another room and it was better. Overall we managed and liked the friendly staff but it was not enough to make up for the poor quality of the rooms and location.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathiedot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2010

Our room had two double beds and 19" tv (5 channels), a microwave (no fridge) and a bath with very small shower. It was clean and comfortable but taking a shower was a little uncomfortable. They have internet only in the office area. Not in the rooms. The balcony view was beautiful and there were chairs and bbq grills for your use. You are a few miles from a town or attraction but it is a nice location. The swimming pool was quite small.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tammym58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2010

We were up above in the cabins. We had 4 families in three of the cabins. We had a very enjoyable time. We were there in the month of June, so we were able to take advantage of the outdoors. The location was gorgeous and plenty of room for our families to be outside when we were around. There is so much to check out in the area. As I look back at the pictures that we took it just reminds me what a great place for us to all gather. The ages ranged from 55 - 12, we were able to keep us all entertained. The couple that manages the lodge were very gracious and accomadating. Thanks for a fun family gathering.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dnedrow3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2010

I stayed @ the Mountain View Lodge for an extended weekend and couldn't be more pleased with my experience. The rooms were very clean and the caretakers were the sweetest couple! The lodge also was conveniently located right outside Hill City.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brookeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2010

My husband and I traveled from Seattle to Hill City for a wedding. The wedding took place behind the lodge in a beautiful wooded area. I would highly reccomend this space for an event. We stayed 3 nights in a very nice, clean 1 bedroom suite (2 Queen beds). The kitchenette (microwave, toaster, fridge, sink) was convenient for chilling our wine we picked up from the Prarie Berry Winery up the road. A fantastic continental breakfast is served each morning in the main office. The lodge was located in the perfect location for our purposes. We were close to Harney Peak, various trails in the area (I recommend the Horsethief Lake hike...approximately 15 minutes away from the lodge), Deerfield Lake (fishing), Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Deadwood, Lead, Custer State Park, Keystone, downtown Hill City, Rapid City....and much more. There is also a wonderful burger/ice cream spot across the street (Dairy Twist) as well as miniature golf. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kelliandtoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2010

My family and I stayed at the Mountain View Lodge for 3 nights in June of 2010. It was nice and close to all different attractions in the area. Very clean. the owners are very nice people and their hired help were wonderful too. Very willing to help us out with directions to different places and very accomodating to our needs! I would definately stay again!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank acleighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hill City
3.4 mi away
Mount Rushmore Resort & Lodge
6 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 13 in Keystone
71 reviews
6.1 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
5.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 13 in Keystone
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Lodge & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Lodge & Cabins

Address: 12654 S Highway 16, Hill City, SD 57745-6522
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Hill City
Price Range: £44 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountain View Lodge & Cabins 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your Black Hills vacation at our lodge and cabins within minutes to Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Custer State Park and several area attractions, ride on the Mickelson trail or kick back at Sheridan lake 2 miles away, cookout on our covered deck, and enjoy the scenic hills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Mountain View Lodge & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain View Lodge And Cabins
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins Hotel Hill City
Mountain View Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing