We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel - Bad Housekeeping”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Hill City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2013

The Hotel seems nice, but I will not stay here in the future. This experience may cause me to look for other hotel chain as well. Here is what happened, as we were getting ready to go to bed my wife pulled back the covers on the bed and found numerous hairs (some looking like pubic hairs) spread throughout the bed.

We called to the front desk, and the only employee on duty offered to bring us sheets for the bed. We then had to change the sheets on the bed ourselves (so much for service in a $200 room), and the employee promised to write a report for the manager and housekeeping manager.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Dear Phil L,

Thank you for your business and your review. We take all comments seriously and value the chance to make improvements where possible.

I am truly sorry to hear that your stay didn't live up to your expectations. I sincerely apologize for the dissatisfaction you had with our level of cleanliness and housekeeping services. We deeply regret that these aspects have negatively affected your overall experience with us.

We welcome feedback as it assists us in our never-ending task to better ourselves and improve things for our guests. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class service to our guests. Once again, thank you for your comments.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (378)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 378 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2013

Great stay away from the madness of the Keystone/Custer area. Room was large and clean (minus a little mold on the bathroom mirror and dusty sprinkler head in bathroom). Comfortable for a family of 4. Only complaint: breakfast area is way too small and poorly set up for the number of people that are staying there. Long line out the door and no where to sit. They did keep it stocked well, pancake maker too slow and holds up line for everyone. Would have liked more fresh fruit: all they had were bananas. Would stay here again. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gshey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

This was the first Holiday Inn property we have stayed at in several years, and we were very pleasantly surprised. Checking in was easy, the staff was friendly, and the room was large and clean. Our original stay was scheduled for four nights, but we were pleased enough with this hotel and with the area that we extended our stay by one extra day.

Hill City is a great central location to explore the Black Hills area in South Dakota, and the hotel severed us well. We noticed many families using the indoor pool, but we did not. There is plenty of parking. The Black Hills Railroad (a tourist line) passes by the front of the hotel several times per day, as early as 8 AM and as late as 9 PM – we found that to be very quaint.

Breakfast was typical of what most chain hotels provide, with hot eggs, cereals, juices, etc. As in most hotels offering breakfast, the breakfast area can be crowded one moment and practically empty the next.

The one small negative is that they advertise on roadside billboards that they provide internet access that is “fast and free”, but many times it was very, very slow – so much so that twice we called the internet help desk and they rebooted the routers. We do not know whether this is “normal” or if it was only during the time we were there.

Our room rate changed during our stay, and the final bill did not match our reservation email, but the front desk apologized and changed it accordingly – good customer service!

This is an excellent hotel and we’ll probably stay there again on our next visit to the Black Hills in South Dakota.

Room Tip: The rooms in front face the main road and the Black Hill RR line; the rooms in the back do not. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JerseyHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We stayed in Hill City, SD after seeing Mt. Rushmore. It's very close to the mountain, but quiet. The bed was very soft and very comfortable. Our room had a microwave and refrigerator, but they also added some silverware and basic utensils (which most hotels forget). The wifi worked well and was fast.

My only complaint was the size of the breakfast area. It was very small and fills up quickly, so I took breakfast for myself and family back to the room (but I couldn't find any trays).

Hill City isn't as busy as the other side of Mt. Rushmore, and it seemed much quieter. We checked in early to use the guest laundry (we'd been on vacation a while), and it was easy to use. (The hotel has two washers and two dryers for guest use at $2.00 each.)

If we came this way again, we'd stay here!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monkeybusiness23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Comfortable and clean. Would have liked a room on the other side of the building if I were to stay longer. The back had no view. Staff was friendly and helpful. Right next to the train muesum so plenty of things to do.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terrahuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Best location is all of the Mt. Rushmore area. If you like wildlife then we saw a small herd of deer as we pulled into our parking spot. If you like mountains then look out the window. If you like a steam train going by your room at 8am they have that too! Easy to get to all of the area attractions and far enough away from Rapid City not to get all the yokels. But still close enough to Rapid City to get to all of those attractions and chain restaurants as well. Now about the hotel. It was July 4th weeks so it was sold out. Parking was ample, pool was cold, hottub was filthy, staff was great, breakfast was hot and average (cinnamon rolls very good if hot, gravy a little runny), can walk to downtown shop/eats, 1880's train is not very loud inside, floors need to be cleaned (wear sandals or socks in room), rooms a little on the small size but not in them much, kitchenette is small fridge, sink, and can opener (bring stuff with you if you need it). A little more expensive than Rapid City but well worth the extra cost. Bottom line is that when we come back to this area we will be staying at this hotel again.

Room Tip: The train does go by one side of the hotel so ask for either that side or the other depending on you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DachK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We love the Black Hills, SD area. The scenery never gets old. During our 2010 Black Hills vacation, we stayed 1 night at a motel in Custer (blah), 1 night in another hotel in Hill City before finally staying 2 nights at this Holiday Inn Express. We liked it so much that we booked it as soon as we knew we were heading back to South Dakota this year.

It's in a great location and is within easy walking distance to everything the town has to offer. If you or your kids like trains, the 1880's train excursions to Keystone go right by this hotel. The steam whistle echoing off the surrounding hills is awesome.

The rooms were great 3 years ago and were the same this year. The staff was very helpful and friendly and our kids loved the free breakfast and the pool. Hill City is close to all the fun things to do in the area....Mt Rushmore, Reptile Gardens & the scenic drives through the parks.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hill City
0.2 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 12 in Hill City
129 reviews
7.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt Rushmore / Keystone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Mount Rushmore Lodge at Palmer Gulch
2.9 mi away
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
7.9 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City

Address: 12444 Old Hill City Rd, PO Box 555, Hill City, SD 57745-6610
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Hill City
Price Range: £57 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Hill City, SD is centrally located in the heart of the Black Hills, just minutes from Mt. Rushmore and the region's finest family-approved attractions and the Mickelson Trail. The hotel is adjacent to the historic 1880 Train depot and within walking distance of the central business district of historic Hill City with its' quaint shops, outstanding art galleries, great dining and entertainment, and the Black Hills Institute. Hotel features include complimentary breakfast and free local phone calls. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start Breakfast Bar served every morning featuring eggs, sausage, biscuits & gravy, a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, and breads/pastries. We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon rolls. Visit Hill City, SD and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Hill City
Holiday Inn Express Hill City
Holiday Inn Hill City
Hill City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing