We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Hill City)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pine Rest Cabins(Hill City)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (379)
Filter reviews
379 results
Traveller rating
186
143
34
12
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
186
143
34
12
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscinnamon rollshi expressblack hillscrazy horsecuster state parktrain tracksworkout roomking suitemt rushmorenice hotelyogurtbreakfast barother hotelsfront desk staffnice breakfastrushmore areabiscuits and gravy
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
179 - 184 of 379 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed at the HIE in Hill City for two nights while sightseeing in the Black Hills. This was a good location which allowed us to see the sights. Our king suite was spacious, clean and met our every need. Would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GAWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Couldn't ask for anything better in our visit to the Black Hills. The hotel was clean, modern and centrally located to everything. Service and personnel were very friendly and accommodating. Upon our arrival we were greeted and immediately checked into our room. We also upgraded to a King Suite which was a good move. Since we were there for four nights I thought it was best to have a room with some space. Glad I did. Housekeeping did an excellent job in having our room cleaned and ready on time each day. Amazing that the hotel was filled each day and that we hardly heard anyone else. Great stay!

Room Tip: All rooms are great but For the small increase in price, I would definitely upgrade to a King Suite.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BuckeyeTraveler68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed here in the "off season", when the hotel had only been open for the season about a week. The room was fairly clean and comfortable. The only reasons we don't give this hotel an "excellent" rating are that the whirlpool tub in our room wasn't really clean. For having only been open for a week prior to our using the room, there shouldn't have been a partial "bathtub ring" in the whirlpool tub. Also, we did not have hot water the first morning we were there. The hot water issue was promptly remedied when we notified Brenda, the hotel manager. The staff at this hotel are very helpful, friendly, and willing to help with travel directions and recommendations of great things to see and do in the Black Hills. When we mentioned we might try the water park attraction in nearby Hot Springs, Brenda gave us towels to take along so we wouldn't have to pay the towel rental fee at the water park. We will definitely stay at this hotel the next time we visit the Black Hills. There are probably other nice places to stay in the area, but the staff at this hotel make it a comfortable place to stay with a friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank racemom2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

i stayed here on my trip to the black hills to see crazy horse monument, the mammoth site, and mount rushmore. very good, central location. hotel had great authentic atmosphere. breakfast was your usual hiexpress fare, they have these wierd conveyer belt pancakes and no waffle iron. staff was a little overbearing but overall, great trip!

Room Tip: all rooms are good rooms
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steakchef_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Pretty typical HIE in design. We had a king suite facing the train track and road on the top floor. It was very quiet and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Everything was very clean and housekeeping was exceptional with a couple requests we had. The towels were thick, B&B toiletries, microwave, mini-frig, and coffeemaker. We stayed several days and it was a great central location for us to visit everything. The only complaint I would have is the breakfast room is way too small. We were here at the end of the season and there was not enough room for all the guests. I could not imagine being here in the summer with children. However, the staff did try hard to accommodate by setting up portable tray tables throughout the lobby. We would definitely stay here again.

If you want good coffee, try The Smiling Bear Espresso bar on Main St. or The Coffee Cabin on Hwy 385 just outside of town.

Room Tip: First floor backside faces a wall. Get a higher floor room or face the front.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sezme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews