We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Naked Winery South Dakota

Naked Winery South Dakota
Ranked #9 of 27 things to do in Hill City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Naked Winery What's in your Glass? - Naked Winery Naked Winery(R) is a South Dakota winery that takes the pecksniffery out of wine tasting. We'll set the mood and tease your senses with our romantically playful, traditional grape wines. Naked Winery(R) offers a wide variety of grape wines. Including red, white and blush varietals. We also offer a few select fruit wines. All of our wines are presented in a fun way that will spark your passion. At Naked Winery(R), we want you to drink what you like and have fun doing it! Let the romantic atmosphere put you at ease as you enjoy a glass of wine by the fire with friends and family. Naked Winery(R) has tasting rooms in Hill City and Custer, South Dakota. The Hill City location now offers over 100 revolving microbrews with 34 on tap. Including our new line of in-house Sick-N-Twisted(R) microbrews!
Bristol, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Fun Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

Stopped by Naked Winery during our trip to Sturgis Bike Week (with 5 friends). Enjoyed lunched on the patio (delicious hand made burger, dressed like a Philly Cheese Steak). It was very nice to have specialty wines and craft beers served together with lunch at this same location. This was a plus for members of our group who prefer beer. The Adult humor of the wine labels and the gift shop items made it a good time for all. We purchased a few bottles to enjoy later during the week. We will definitely return to the Naked Winery on future visit to Sturgis and South Dakota.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank GlobalTraveller4Life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert L, Manager at Naked Winery South Dakota, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
I am glad you enjoyed the 1/2 pound burger along with the beer and wine. Next Time in you may want to check out our Stone Baked Pizza. If you need wine do not hesitate give us a call or go online we ship cases for free to people who visit us in the tasting room. See you next time till then thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    30
    27
    11
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Platte, Nebraska
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What do you have?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

We stopped for wine tasting, was charged $3 and then they did not have three of the six wines we chose. "Oh, we don't have that one. Try this." We asked for a suggestion on a beer and the clerk knew just which one we wanted. "Oh, we don't have that." I was disappointed and thought, "Oh, maybe we shouldn't have been charged." Also, their wine is not South Dakota wine.
Total bust. Will not go back or buy wine from there.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Myrna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert L, Manager at Naked Winery South Dakota, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Myma- First I want to thank you for stopping. We do have over 40 wines however we only taste 8 sweet 8 semi sweet to dry and 8 dry everyday. As for the beers we have over 100 different beers on the beer wall for purchase and 28 on tap everyday for tasting and 6-12 of what we brew here on site. We do purchase all of our grapes from Washington, Oregon and Northern California for we cannot grow the grapes that we use in South Dakota. I hope you give us anther try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun place and great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

We stopped by this place on the way back to our hotel in Hill City and we are glad we did. While we did a wine and beer tasting, the staff had our kids do an ice cream tasting and even put the Disney Chanel on for them. This allowed us to learn about their wines and beers without having to worry about the kids.

The "naked" part may describe their wine, but not the atmosphere. Didn't feel uncomfortable at all with kids there. Staff was great and even recommended a great restaurant in Hill City (Alpine Inn).

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert L, Manager at Naked Winery South Dakota, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to stop in and check us out I am glad you and the kids had a good time. Hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owatonna, Minnesota
Level Contributor
435 reviews
104 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“No Free Samples Here”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

This place charges a fee for wine samples. The bartender/sample pourer was not a talkative person. Did not seem to know the wine as good as people at other wineries. We prefer wineries that give free samples. They are usually more helpful and knowledgeable, which in turn we buy more wine from those wineries.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert L, Manager at Naked Winery South Dakota, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Appreciate the feed back. I hope you had a good time. We do charge for our tasting you get 6 wines for 3$ this is equal to a glass of wine most of our wine is $7 a glass. The wine we make is traditional style wine which is from grapes only not other fruits and takes much longer to make.and cost more than fruit wines. I hope you enjoyed the wine. All of the Staff at Naked is trained to know the wines I am surprised that they were not explained to your liking > I am not sure which tasting room you were at or who the server was but I will bring it up to all. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Level Contributor
300 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Okay Wine, No-like the sexual innuendos”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

INTERSTINGLY, the tasting hosts do your tasting different then I have ever had (uncountable winery visits). Instead of just indicating which wines you want to try, the host asks you what your taste buds like and then chooses the tasting for you. My host did it very well and I bought the dry rose and a white. What I did not like and why I would not return is the sexual innuendos of EVERYTHING there.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank nJOYing_Lif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert L, Manager at Naked Winery South Dakota, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
I am glad to hear that was a different wine tasting then most and that your host did a good job picking out your taste along with you liked the wines. We spend a lot of time training to give you the best experience possible. We at "Naked " strive on having a good relaxed time and remove the persnickety from your average tasting room. I know that you will enjoy the wine and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Naked Winery South Dakota also viewed

 

Been to Naked Winery South Dakota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing