We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place to stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holly House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hill City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Holly House
Ranked #4 of 8 Hill City B&B and Inns
Columbus, Nebraska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stayed in the Christmas Cabin, it was very cozy and comfortable. The full kitchen was an added plus! We were able to cook several meals and saved a ton of money! The cabin is in perfect location, close to most attractions.A beautiful little creek ran right next to the cabin. We saw deer and geese right out next to the Deck in the back of the cabin! David and Dawna were wonderful hosts. Both were very friendly, When we arrived, there was a plate of homemade cookies waiting for us! What a welcome treat after a long days drive! It was a nice place to call "home" after each full day of activities. We highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 119karana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    5
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
6
24
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adrian, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

I had never stayed in a bed and breakfast before. It was awesome the room I stayed in was very clean. The breakfast was out of this world. The inn keeper was very pleasant and had plenty of info for the area. Would recommend this to everyone I know.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amyhicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indian Hills, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

We were so enchanted with our 3 day stay at Holly House. Absolutely the best B&B we've booked through out our travels. Dawna is an exceptional Innkeeper. She is tireless at keeping the rooms straightened & fresh plus exquisite gourmet breakfasts prepared table side every morning. Loved the special detail of fresh goodies in our room; bar none the best coconut cream pie ever! Our own private entrance to the 'Victorian Room' was super nice. Looking forward to future visits to Holly House B&B.

Room Tip: We especially liked the private entrance to the 'Victorian Room'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jody5459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Best breakfast! Dawna is sooo friendly and knowledgeable. We highly recommend. We stayed in the wilderness /Native American room and the USA room the USA room has a huge bathtub / shower. The rooms are adorable!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BUgirl98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

My wife and I stayed in the Christmas Cabin at the Holly House for a week. We chose the Holly House based on the reviews in Trip Advisor and on its location near most of the attractions that we wanted to see. I must say that I have to give this B&B a mixed review. The bed was comfortable, the unit seemed clean and it was nice to have a kitchen and sitting area. On the downside, the whole B&B is looking a little worn and in need of freshening. The innkeepers' hearts seemed to be in the right place, but I felt that they were having trouble keeping up with everything.
Breakfast did not come with our cabin, but Dawna was nice enough to invite us to breakfast one morning during our stay. The breakfast was delicious, so the guests staying in the main house have something to look forward to each morning.
Overall, the cabin served our needs and the location was certainly convenient. However, work is needed on the facility and grounds.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SCMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

Dawna and Dave provided a friendly and welcoming atmosphere. Our GPS did not provide accurate instructions, so Dawna graciously gave us instructions over the phone and even stood outside to wave us in. We had just ridden over 500 miles on a motorcycle and were in no mood for a tempramental GPS. We stayed in the Bridal Suite, which has a jacuzzi tub. It was exactly what my body needed that night. The weather was so perfect, that we were able to sleep comfortably with the window open. We never had to turn on the AC, which is a big deal when you are from Southern Georgia and it is the end of June. We were welcomed every morning with Dawna's hearty breakfasts. She is quite the cook and we always had a filling meat dish ranging from homemade biscuits with eggs and sausage to breakfast casserole to Canadian bacon and eggs cooked in a muffin tin, with hash browns on the side. On top of that, she also provided a "dessert". This ranged from Blueberry Crisp (?), to Bananas Foster (minus the alcohol), and fresh fruit. Dawna and Dave were always accessible and ready to chat and provide information, but not invasive or pushy. Should we find ourselves in this area again, we will not hesitate to stay here.

Room Tip: The Bridal Suite was worth the extra money for the jacuzzi tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 168slp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

Pictures on this site are not representative of what it is....there in no front yard and the house is outdated and old. The rooms had everything we needed, but the water pressure was awful, barely a trickle. It did appear to be clean.There is hardly any parking and the house is 50 ft away from Sick Vic's Motorcycle shop. The stream in the yard is pretty. The deck is in need of repair and one of our guests fell out of one of her broken chairs while eating his breakfast. Dawna didn't ask if he was ok, instead she commented about her broken chair! Her cooking is wonderful... although we were not made to feel very welcome. We were greeted upon arrival with "I could have rented your rooms 15 times". If you are allergic to cats, don't stay here, two indoor cats live here. Kind of creepy that the Dawna's husband seems to stay up all night in the shed right next to the house. Our party rented three of her four rooms in the house for three nights. The Holly House is very close to Hill City, which was nice for sight seeing.

Room Tip: Choose the cabin out back or stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ncstatefansteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hill City
0.8 mi away
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 12 in Hill City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
7.3 mi away
Coyote Blues Village B&B
Coyote Blues Village B&B
#6 of 12 in Hill City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
1.1 mi away
Whispering Winds Cottages
Whispering Winds Cottages
#3 of 19 in Rapid City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holly House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holly House

Property: Holly House
Address: 23852 Highway 385, Hill City, SD 57745-6517
Region: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Hill City
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing