We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming little inn but a bit noisy...”
Review of Harney Peak Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Harney Peak Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Hill City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
114 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Charming little inn but a bit noisy...”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Loved the hosts, loved the remodel of this old 50's style road motel. Beds were comfy and location is right in the heart of Hill City. Very convenient for us as we came off a day of biking on the Michelson Trail. Unfortunately, also fairly noisy and bright with little sleep to be had for our weary group.

Outside gathering area is lovely and a real plus!

Room Tip: Away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newmoondoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
32
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Dan and Mary's hospitality were warm and welcoming! HPI in my opinion the best place to stay for the bike rally as it is about an hour ride (if you want to get away)from the hustle and bustle of Sturgis, and very near the great Black Hills rides! They got a tent garage that they set up just for guest's bike (very thoughtful). And they make sure they sent you off when you set off (check out)!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank HarleyDavidsonST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upstate Ny
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We couldn't ask for a better place to stay and enjoy the Sturgis Motorcycle rally. The Harney Peak Inn is centrally located for all there is to experience of the Black Hill's of SD. Dan and Mary go out of their way to make one feel at home and comfortable with their gracious hospitality. Clean, comfortable rooms . Secure parking for both motorcycles and cars. Walking distance to many restaurants and shops. Cocktails on the patio if one choose's and a warm fire....what else could one ask for

Room Tip: choose the Harney Peak Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keekUpstateNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux City, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Stayed at Harney Peak Inn and loved it. The rooms are beautiful, outside gathering area, extremely clean and the hospitality was awesome! Conveniently located in the Black Hills. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We loved our stay at Harney Peak Inn! It's a throwback to the motel era -- yet with a fresh and hip cabin feel and the warmth of a bed and breakfast inn (with impeccably clean rooms)! Topping it all off is the welcoming feeling when meeting Mary and Dan each evening on the patio where there is sure to be music, conversation and as much wine as you want! The inn is well situated in Hill City and it's perfect location for day trips all over the Black Hills. My children loved it as much as I did. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kknc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenfield, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My family drove from Wisconsin and loved Hill City. We decided to stay a day longer and called Harney Peak Inn last minute. Never did I expect such a great place at a great price! Dan and Mary really took pride in their Inn. They made my 6 year old son feel right at home as soon as we got there. Asked if we would like a drink as soon as we checked in, had a nice selection for breakfast as well. Just made us feel so welcome. And with their advice we ate at the place next to them and had the best meal of our vacation.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2014

My wife and I stayed but one night, Sunday, July 13, 2014. Of all the hotels/motels we have stayed at, Harney Peak Inn has the lowest prices, cleanest rooms and best location in Hill City.
Dan and Mary (owners/operators) treat you like a member of the family. When in Hill City, the place to stay is "Harney Peak Inn ". Dan and Mary will make you feel right at home. Boy, I wish we were back at Harney Park Inn. Thank you, Dan and Mary, for your hospitality.

Room Tip: Talk to Dan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rlmile619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hill City hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 12 in Hill City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 12 in Hill City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
#11 of 12 in Hill City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harney Peak Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harney Peak Inn

Property: Harney Peak Inn
Address: 125 Main St, Hill City, SD 57745-5106
Region: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Hill City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Harney Peak Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The six rooms of the Harney Peak Inn offer guests a quiet place to rest after a day of adventure in the Black Hills. The evening reception is held on the patio and lets guests mix and mingle with fellow travelers and enjoy the beautiful Hill City weather. As a biker-friendly property, the Inn's central location makes it easy to enjoy a ride in a different direction every day with private parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your Harney Peak Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing