We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent steak, delicious desserts!”
Review of Alpine Inn

Alpine Inn
Ranked #2 of 28 Restaurants in Hill City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Minnesota
Level Contributor
214 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Excellent steak, delicious desserts!”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We've enjoyed the evening steak dinner at Alpine Inn many times and always look forward to going again when in the area. Our steaks have always been wonderful and cooked to our specifications. Our kids enjoy the meals from the kids' menu, which includes a hot dog, sloppy joe or spaetzle noodles with tomato sauce (german spaghetti *lol*). We always try to save room for dessert, because the dessert list is very long and filled with german specialties. The desserts are delicious!

If you arrive early for the dinner service you can wait in the bar and line up when it is close to 5pm, otherwise expect to wait an hour or more on busy summer evenings. Also, take along cash or your checkbook because they don't accept plastic. There is an ATM on site. The restaurant is closed on Sundays. If you're not interested in the limited menu in the evenings, they have a varied menu full of german dishes for lunch. We have never felt rushed at dinner, but it does get to be a very busy place.

We've recommended The Alpine Inn to many fellow travelers and are looking forward to going again soon!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gypsymamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    792
    347
    121
    42
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Level Contributor
281 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Bring Cash”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We have just returned from a Black Hills vacation. The Alpine Inn was recommended by the B&B we stayed at. We were advised they don't take credit cards. The menu is simple. Bacon wrapped fillets (6 oz. for $9 and 9 oz. for $12) or a vegetarian spaetzle dish they may sell one or two of during an evening. The dinner comes with a loaded baked potato, toast, and a surprisingly good wedge of lettuce in home made ranch dressing. The steaks were flawlessly prepared. Service was excellent. The atmosphere was excellent in an environment with antiques and stained glass. Deserts were outstanding. We went back a second time.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bxdiver65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lunch with a group”
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Although there were a lot of people, we got in relatively quickly. We had a large group, so it took a little while to get our food, but that is to be expected. I really enjoyed the jaeger schnitzel. The German potato salad was very tasty. (The sauerkraut was more American than German, but the red cabbage was also very good.) I enjoyed the experience very much. Very friendly waitress.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Krista D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, Ohio
Level Contributor
144 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Trip across America”
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Manager at HI Express suggested the hotel and also that they had a limited menu that they have had for years. It was good and the place was packed and for two days while I was in the area you would see people waiting outside for a seat!!! Try it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank sallieb321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
95 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Overhyped!”
Reviewed 27 May 2013

The Alpine Inn is the busiest dinner restaurant in Hill City. There are only a few items on the dinner menu which is fine, as it was the bacon-wrapped filet mignon that we came to enjoy. We had a 30 minute wait and had a glass of wine at the bar, served by a very friendly lady bartender. Once seated, our order was taken and served quickly but was disappointing. With filet as the specialty of the house, I had expected it to be extraordinary but was quite disappointed. The bacon was mostly a piece of bacon fat and the steak was overcooked and had very little taste. At least the blue cheese dressing on the lettuce wedge served before the steak was tasty.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank bob b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alpine Inn also viewed

 

Been to Alpine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing