We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Stay in the Black Hills” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coyote Blues Village B&B

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Coyote Blues Village B&B
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Hill City
Certificate of Excellence
Concord, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Stay in the Black Hills”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

We absolutely loved staying at Coyote Blues Village B&B and hope to make a return trip. We stayed six nights and were in the Lakota Room for 3 nights and the Turkish room for 3 nights. We loved the peacefulness of the property and the wonderful hospitality by the owners. The Lakota room had Lakota decor and an indoor bathtub for two. We enjoyed it, but were equally pleased with the Turkish room. The Turkish room was nicely decorated and had a hot tub on the patio, which we used in the evening. Breakfast was great and it was fun to meet other travelers. Christine & Hanspeter really have a wonderful place in the Black Hills.

Room Tip: Explore their website. They have pictures and descriptions of all their rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JennyBee2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    31
    11
    3
    4
See reviews for
31
116
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Itasca, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

This B&B is a nice place to stay with very friendly owners. The room we had was smaller than some in the house and without a/c. Not sure if they are all without a/c. You can certainly upgrade to a larger room with some having a private hot tub and balcony. If you are out and about during the day, not having a/c is ok. If you stay in the room during the day it could be an issue. The bed was comfortable and the room clean. Our shower was small but in good condition. There is no TV in the room which was actually, a nice change. Free internet is available anywhere in the house and easy to connect with.

There is a fun energy in the house when the owners and other guests up and about. Everyone looked to be in a good mood. Breakfast is not served all morning like at some locations so you need to be ready to eat at 8:30 AM. The upside is it was enjoyable to chat with our tablemates about where they were from and what their itineraries were for their stay. We picked up on some ideas of what to see and where to eat.

If you are allergic to cats there is one or two on site. If you like to keep your car clean this isn’t the place for you. Once off 385 which is the main road you need to drive about a mile or so on a gravel road to reach the B&B. On the upside, the gravel road is in incredible shape with nary a pothole to be found. Another upside to being off the beaten path is the quiet and scenery. No bus, trains, plane or car noise to think about. All you hear are birds, squirrels and the wind blowing through the trees and rustling grass. Ironically, we didn’t see or hear a coyote. Ahhh, quiet. It’s especially peaceful sitting on the expansive deck which overlooks a beautiful vista.

The B&B also has a large porch/deck, TV room and other areas you can sit and relax. The owners really want you to check in between 4 & 6:30 PM. No sooner, no later.

Getting to the site was not as easy as we would have hoped because the directions Google gave us were not entirely accurate. Taylor Ranch Road is off of 385 a bit further north of Hill City than the directions state. We weren’t able to hit everything in the area but Deadwood to the North, Mt. Rushmore and Crazy Horse to the South and Rapid City to the East are all within 30 minutes. The drive is idyllic in every direction.

The upside of this place easily outstrips the downside and if we could we would have extended an extra day.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ItascaMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aurora, co
Level Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

It can be difficult to review a B&B, because you wish your hosts much success and all the best. Because my husband is French and I grew up in France, I was looking forward to staying in a home kept by a Swiss couple. I couldn't wait to sample the "Swiss breakfast spread" and looked forward to what I thought would be a wonderful mini vacation in South Dakota. The setting of the Bed and Breakfast itself couldn't be more beautiful, and the home is spacious and lovely and superbly decorated with art and souvenirs from, I am sure, the hosts' travels around the world. Sadly, we never were really shown around, nor invited to sit and chat. I know that summer is an extremely busy tourist season, and on top of that they had friends/family visiting, which I'm sure took up much of their time and attention. I would have loved, however, a little treat or cookie or beverage on the patio in the evenings... There were drinks, (soft drinks, beer and water) chips, chocolate bars etc. (for sale) by the front door, but that seemed impersonal to me. We stayed in the "African" room for the first two nights, which was a little of a squeeze for the 3 of us. The last night we stayed in the "Mediterranean" room, which was bigger and had more light and which we liked a lot better (except for the water pressure in the shower). Breakfasts were exactly as described on the web site, but I found myself longing for something a little more decadent or sweet, and am not a big fan of cheese and meat in the mornings. We did have some type of egg dish all three days, but always savory. The friends we made there raved about the fruit cobbler they had been served on the morning before we arrived, but sadly we didn't get to taste any of Christine's sweeter cooking. My husband, who is a tea drinker, but never makes a fuss about anything, was not asked if he wanted anything else when he declined the coffee being passed around. I guess the bottom line was that our stay was nice, but we were not made to feel special or pampered.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with children, the Mediterranean room is a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patsyayite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeland, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We completed a two week vacation with three nights at this wonderful B&B. Hanspeter and Christine have created a wonderful oasis. We stayed in the Turkish room. Our room was beautifully decorated and furnished. The bed was very comfortable and we enjoyed ending each evening in our private hot tub in an ideal setting. Breakfast was delicious with more than enough food. The area attractions were easily located from this secluded spot, so it provided the best of all possibilities for our time here. We highly recommend including Coyote Blues Village B&B in your Black Hills experience.

Room Tip: Carefully read the various room descriptions and amenities. Each is unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida Panhandle, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We had booked and paid for three days. Theoretically a nice location, but no air conditioning in rooms and hope you are a late sleeper because no breakfast before 8:30am. Little privacy, no tv in room so had to watch CNN in the living room. Smallish rooms with no extras. Very European if thats what you're looking for. We left after one night and got $30 back... But we were still glad we didn't have to stay two more nights!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Khac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coyotebb, Owner at Coyote Blues Village B&B, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
I am sorry to learn about your experience so long after your stay with us. While we are happy to offer our guests 4 different room categories to accommodate different budgets, this has also created occasional problems for people who booked online with hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline etc. The only rooms available on those booking engines are the less luxurious, but more economical ones. When we rent them directly we make sure that people know exactly what to expect. We strongly encourage our future guests to read our website and to call or e-mail us with any questions they may have.
With the altitude we're at (just under 5,000 feet), dry air and almost always cool - even cold- nights we manage to get by with ceiling and other fans, opening windows in the evenings, and once in a while using the air conditioners in the common areas. We have only some days in July and August- occasionally in June- where that's necessary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fountain, Colorado
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

For the value, we absolutely can't complain. It was a clean, comfortable place to stay that had exactly what we needed. It wasn't luxurious, but we weren't going for that. The place is off the beaten path and tucked away in the woods, but absolutely gorgeous!! It was so nice to sit out on the swing on the deck and read. You could hear the wind sweeping through the trees and nature in its own setting. I was slightly underwhelmed with the "traditional Swiss breakfast", but it did the job. We especially loved that coffee, tea, and snacks (with suggested donation) were available around the clock.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amylovesred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
243 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed 3 nights at Coyote Blues Village B&B and really enjoyed ourselves. Our hosts were friendly and welcoming. We loved being away from it all, and upon driving in each night after a day filled with beautiful sights, we'd stop at the bottom of the hill and listen to the bullfrogs along the stream. Upon learning that there had been lots of fireflies in the area 2 nights before our arrival, we went out each evening and got to cross that off our bucket list (we're from out west and we don't have any such thing as fireflies out here!). We were so excited to see them, and saw quite a few the first night we went looking. Fewer the next night, but it was a little cooler and the moon was pretty bright. We stayed in one of the smaller rooms (Pine Room?) and it was great for the 2 of us. Clean, neat and ready for us when we arrived. The bed was wonderfully comfortable, and we loved being able to leave the window open at night with the ceiling fan on, enjoying that wonderful air and cool breeze. We had a beautiful thunder/lightening/rainstorm early one morning and the most magnificent orange sunrise. We had free run of the house but never even went into the TV room, although we DID avail ourselves of some of the interesting books lying around, and a comfy sofa. Breakfasts were served family style at several tables, and while the Husband and I aren't the most social of people, we enjoyed talking with our fellow travelers and hearing about what they'd seen and where they were going. Breakfasts were a nice mixed cereal/granola, fresh fruit, yoghurt, bread and butter with home-made jams, hard boiled eggs and sliced cheeses and meats, and a hot dish each day. First day was French Toast with a peach topping, second day was farm-fresh scrambled eggs, and last morning was a fresh from the oven cherry-custard......clafouti..... and it was very tasty! We had a great time during our stay and would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mgm530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hill City
7.0 mi away
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
8.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites
8.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 12 in Hill City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
10.3 mi away
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
#11 of 12 in Hill City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
10.6 mi away
K Bar S Lodge
K Bar S Lodge
#1 of 14 in Keystone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coyote Blues Village B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coyote Blues Village B&B

Property: Coyote Blues Village B&B
Address: 23165 Horseman's Ranch Road, Rapid City, SD 57702, PO Box 966, Hill City, Sd 57745, Hill City, SD 57702
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Hill City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hill City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Coyote Blues Village B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Coyote Blues Village B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coyote Blues Village Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing