We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
High Country Guest Ranch
Nearby Hotels
Quality Inn(Hill City)(Great Value!)
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn & Suites(Hill City)(Great Value!)
US$153
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$137
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites(Hill City)(Great Value!)
US$156
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$191
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$167
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harney Peak Inn(Hill City)(Great Value!)
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Spring Creek Inn(Hill City)(Great Value!)
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lantern Inn(Hill City)(Great Value!)
US$116
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Restmore Inn(Hill City)(Great Value!)
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (133)
Filter reviews
134 results
Traveller rating
68
28
16
13
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
68
28
16
13
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsowners johnlog homesgorgeous propertyblack hillsmillion starsopen windowsjacuzzi tubfull kitchengas fireplacefamily gatheringeach morningrapid citytwo storykids enjoyed the poolmickelson trailcrazy horsesouth dakota
Filter
Updating list...
99 - 104 of 134 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2011

This place was horrible. My family and I stayed in a cabin at High Country Guest Ranch. The cabin was not very clean, there was hair in the shower like it wasnt even cleaned at all. We did not enjoy the "trail" ride either, which we made a small loop and followed the same trail back. It was also cut 15 minutes short. The horses did not look like they were cared for very well. my sons horse continually coughed the whole time and some other horses there had horrible saddle sores. Not to mention, our guide did not do a very good job, he was rude. I would not reccommend this place to anyone unless you like wasting money on crappy service.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank mary r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

This was our third trip back to High Country, and we have thoroughly enjoyed every visit. We stayed in the Sunflower cabin, and loved the cabin. We especially loved the nightly fire and smores right beside the bubbling creek. We also loved the breakfast in the morning, and sat outside with the view of the ranch. It is a beautiful setting.
We took the 1 1/2 hour trail ride while we were there. Since we are from the Chicago area, we loved the scenery on the trail ride. Between the smell of pines and some scenic overlooks, the ride was memorable. It is also an advantage to have the Mickelson Trail right outside your door. I took a few early AM walks, and enjoyed not only the trail but the sights of deer and an elk.
The ranch is also a great base for exploring the Black Hills. We found ourselves 15 minutes from Custer State Park, and were lucky to see the whole herd of buffalo right by the road. We also loved Hill City and its quaint downtown. Hopefully, we will have the opportunity to come back again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doug W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We were originally going to stay in the Holiday Inn express in Hill City South Dakota, until we saw this gem. The cabin had two bunk beds with queen size beds on the bottom. The cabin also had a full bath, mini fridge and microwave, and air conditioner. There is a heated outdoor pool and the
grounds are clean.

They have a pancake breakfast for 99cents or an extra 2.00 for eggs. We paid approximately $172 for 2 nights and are taking advantage of the horseback riding here as well.

I would highly recommend a stay here if you are visiting the area. It is approximately 15 miles from Mount Rushmore and the Crazy Horse monument.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emmagrace08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Took our two grandchildren here for the 1 1/2 hour ride for our grandaughter's 12th Birthday..
Upon arrival we overheard our assigned wrangler loudly complain that she had to go out on another ride....she continued to complain in front of the cashier who had just happily taken my money (which by the way was just about the only smile we encountered)..
Horses were tired and unhappy and our son-in-law was assigned a farm work horse!..All this helped spoil a long anticipated Birthday celebration...which was cut short by 15 minutes...Unfortunately, we would NOT recommend this place.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Elkrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

We stayed in the Mountain View Cabin & oh what a view. Spacious cabin with awesome views, lots of room in the cabin. Two story cabin & neat layout with a secret room for the kids to play in. Jacuzzi in the master bedroom was nice. Liked having a full kitchen inside & huge firepit outside. We all swam in a nice warm pool not too far from the cabin. Horses & pony rides for the horse enthusiasts. We just pet them this time but will probably take advantage of them & ride next time. Looks like they go through a really pretty forested area. I also liked the 99cent pancakes & 99 cent sausages. They were tasty. I thought the staff was truly nice and felt that they really cared about us & our needs. I would recommend the spot to anyone who doesn't want to "tent it" anymore but wants to enjoy the beautiful black hills in comfort.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank n2rox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews