We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Less than Expected”
Review of Harney Camp Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hill City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Harney Camp Cabins
Missouri
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Less than Expected”
Reviewed 9 July 2008

We stayed two nights in one of the renovated cabins. There are absentee owners for this site now, a young couple is managing the property. They are friendly and trying to make changes. The location on the way to Sylvan Lake was great for the access and a beautiful drive; however, the cabin was dirty and had no air conditioning...not good for people with allergies. No markers for the driveway at night and ended up going past it both nights. It is a value if you don't expect much.

  • Liked — The location.
  • Disliked — The lack of attention to the property and cabins.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KCCAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    8
    5
    5
    8
See reviews for
17
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 September 2007

How one feels about any cabin/camping experience is going to be based on one's expectations going in, so if the traveler is expecting The Ritz, he will be sorely disappointed here. But if the traveler is looking for a genuine cabin/camping experience in the Blacks Hills, this is the place to stay.

The cabins are on a beautiful property that is in close proximity to Hill City, Mt. Rushmore, Custer, Cray Horse, Deadwood, Needles Highway and other attractions.

The accommodations are simple, clean and very inexpensive. The hostess was helpful, informative and, most important, stayed out of our way.

We liked it so well that we are coming back next year.

  • Liked — Wonderful accommodating owners
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TETurpin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2007

We originally booked into the Harney camp cabins for 3 nights - and left after one. We would have left earlier but it was too late to find alternative accommodation and the kids were tired. I honestly don't know how to describe the place. Words like: dilapidated, dump, ancient, dated, rough, and tatty all come to mind. Think of somewhere that may have been popular in the 50s. Now imagine that neither the cabins, accessories, nor cook wear have been changed or maintained since then. That what it is like.

Paul, Dublin, Ireland.

  • Liked — I could leave after just one day
  • Disliked — I left after just one day
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank PauloDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sacramento
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2006

My wife booked this online and was sent material in the mail. The pictures did not look bad. When we arrived we were shocked at how bad the place really was. I could hear the duelling banjos playing. The cabin we had was the one on the picture with the small bridge. What the picture does not show is that the cabin is built into the hillside. The front is built on stilts over the creek. Most of the stilts were completely rotted away and not touching anything. The ones that were just had rocks wedged under them for support. Inside was an absolute disgrace. Dirty, worn out, dilapidated. No functional locks on the doors. Spiders and webs were in every corner, especially in the ceiling areas. We had booked it for 5 nights but stayed for about 30 minutes. We were forced to pay for one night. Fortunately we found much better lodging just down the road that could accomodate us during our stay.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — nothing to like
  • Tips/Secrets — Do not stay here
  • Stayed June 2002, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank sd1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2006

To start off with, it is a nice location. Hwy 87 some 10 miles from Sylvan lake on the same road. A creek runs by the cabins though it was dry even during early summer - Memorial Day weekend. The room was 50 bucks/per night with a small gas range, rusted utensils and a fridge.
There were 2 double beds and a single bed all with dirty comforters and blankets. The sheets were clean though and so were the pillowcases. But the worst part was the water. There was a smell of rust and there were black particles coming off the sink. We dared not drink the water at this place.

The shower area was so small that water dripped off the ceiling and these had to be the quickest baths I have taken, thanks to the smell of rust and incovenient shower area. The furniture was cheap and tacky and worse, very unclean. The thing is the price is comparable to standard economy motels in the area. The only reason i chose this was it was listed in the Insiders Gudie to South Dakota's Black Hills and Badlands and cabin sounded so romantic.

This is coming from a person who is pretty much satisfied with super 8, travelodge, and the like.

Helpful?
4 Thank lifeisbeautiful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hill City hotels
5.8 mi away
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
2.6 mi away
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
#11 of 12 in Hill City
179 reviews
3.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 12 in Hill City
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Trails End Cabins & Motel
Trails End Cabins & Motel
#3 of 12 in Hill City
76 reviews
0.7 mi away
Horse Thief Campground
Horse Thief Campground
#1 of 12 in Hill City
229 reviews
2.7 mi away
Black Hills Cabins and Motel at Quail's Crossing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harney Camp Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harney Camp Cabins

Property: Harney Camp Cabins
Address: 24345 SD Hwy 87, Hill City, SD 57745
Region: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Hill City
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership as of May 2012. We offer clean, quiet, affordable cabins in the heart of the Black Hills. Just far enough off the beaten path, but still close to all major attractions ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Harney Camp Cabins Hotel Hill City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing