We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended”
Review of Pine Rest Cabins

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hill City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pine Rest Cabins
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Hill City
Gillette, Wyoming
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We had a wonderful time at the Pine Rest Cabins.
We stayed in the birch cabin and had our own homey private area or a romantic getaway.
The place is beautiful and is surrounded by the great black hills forest.
I suggest this place to anyone and would absolutely love to go back.
We barbecued stakes on the grill provided, and made breakfast in an electric skillet provided.
The place was furnished with everything you need to cook a nice meal, even a bottle opener for your wine.

They have a wonderful hot tub and sauna!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smiley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoveOurCabins, Owner at Pine Rest Cabins, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
We've had such a beautiful March here in the Black Hills - so glad you were able to get away to enjoy it. We love Hill City, sure appreciate your taking the time to share your comments , and would be happy to host you again sometime. There are a couple of fun things coming up yet this month - tomorrow night is the last "Open Stage" for the winter - upstairs in the Chute Rooster (Barn) restaurant - it's free and we're looking forward to another evening of excellent entertainment. Then, the last Saturday of the month is the locally famous "BIG BAND DANCE" right downtown Hill City in the big school gym with beautiful hardwood dance floor! ( yes, it doubles as a basketball court in the winter time , but once the decorations are complete you'd never know it - they do a fantastic job and people come from all over to enjoy the dinner and dance with live big band music ) . Plenty of fun coming up in April, and in May there's the Black Hills Film Festival , Worldfest, Arts Extravaganza .......keep us in mind for your next getaway to Hill City! Happy Spring from Pine Rest Cabins.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    21
    12
    1
    7
See reviews for
58
35
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Carroll, Iowa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

The cabin #2 was everything it said it was on the internet. Very comfortable and the small kitchen had everything you could want. The owners were more than helpful, and had great information on the town and surrounding attractions. The weather was perfect, and my sister and myself had the best vacation ever.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank penny w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoveOurCabins, Owner at Pine Rest Cabins, responded to this review, 3 November 2011
We are delighted that you and your sister enjoyed your stay in small Cabin #2 and had a great vacation. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Autumn is quite wonderful in the Black Hills and we're glad you got some of the best weather of the year while you were here in October ! Today the ground is white and we see a glimpse of the winter wonderland we look forward to each year. Soon we'll be playing broomball on the local pond and enjoying roasted chestnuts on the porch of the Alpine Inn as Hill City celebrates an Olde Tyme Hill City Christmas beginning the day after Thankgiving. May your Black Hills cabin memories return often and bring you back to Pine Rest Cabins - we'd be happy to see you again. Warm Regards from South Dakota - Jan & Steve of Pine Rest Cabins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

We stayed in Cabin 1. It was so comfy and homelike we hated to leave at the end of our 3 days. . The management was great! Management couldn't do enough to make us feel at home. Met lots of nice people, some staying like us and some living in Hill City. Everyone was so nice. Upon leaving Jan recommended a ride through Spearfish Canyon Scenic Byway and several beautiful stops. The fall weather was just perfect. Pine Rest Cabins is a perfect base for seeing the wonderful places in the Black Hills. Would definitely return and recommend to others.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoveOurCabins, Owner at Pine Rest Cabins, responded to this review, 13 October 2011
You know, some folks just look for the best in every place they go and everyone they meet - I think you must be one of those people. Thank you for opening your heart and your home to us should we ever get to Michigan - in the meantime we will remember you by the positive attitude and sweet little Dutch Shoes you left for our Christmas tree. I am pleased to pass this review on to our staff , they deserve all of the credit for the clean cabins and good service. Bless your Heart s .... until we meet again. Jan of Pine Rest Cabins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookings, South Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We always enjoy our stay at Pine Rest Cabins! I enjoy visiting with Jan and Steve, owners, who are very welcoming. Our stay was really relaxing and refreshing. Love the rustic cabins!! The hot tub was marvelous! Both my husband and I agreed that it was the best hot tub we had every used!!

Room Tip: If you aren't sure of the right cabin to choose let Jan help you. Just let her know your needs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sandy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoveOurCabins, Owner at Pine Rest Cabins, responded to this review, 13 October 2011
So glad you enjoyed the hot tub ..... a little relaxation can go a long way to sooth the soul and revive the spirit. Thanks so much for taking the time to write a kind review - we too are so glad to have you return often and you can count on us to be here for many years to come. I'm excited about the possbility of colaberating on a futue Quilt weekend at Pine Rest Cabins - what better way to preserve a bit of history than with one of your memory quilts. Our Fondest Regards until we meet again - Jan, Steve & Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

I give this property an average rating only because we got upgraded to a newer cabin. I would have rated the older cabins less than average. Our heat was provided from an automatic fireplace, which was very nice. The cabin was very roomy, with refrigerator and microwave. No stove, but an electric skillet was provided. We enjoyed the stay, but the bed was kind of hard and the road out front is pretty busy / noisy. Here again, the newer cabins are helpful because of the double pane windows. The owner was nice, but we didn't really have any contact with her once we checked in. I would guess the second bedroom might work for young kids, as the bunks were not very soft or large.

Room Tip: poor location is due to road noise. Otherwise, location is convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dianasroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoveOurCabins, Owner at Pine Rest Cabins, responded to this review, 13 October 2011
I'm not sure exactly how to respond to this one .... I sort of wish you'd taken me up on the offer to refund your money and help you find another place- we are familiar with most of the lodging in our area and may have found the perfect match for you and your husband. I do thank you for making some positive remarks and hope that a few fond memories of your visit to our beautiful Black Hills will surface when you need them most. I know that I will remember you for quite some time. I was happy to offer the upgrade as consolation for keeping you waiting as I tended to our newborn grandson, but I will make no apologies for our older cabins as they are some of the best loved by so many of our return guests. Should you pass this way again, consider giving us another try - we are steadily making improvements, and who knows? we may become the best of friends. Grace & Peace to you. "Grandma Jan" of Pine Rest Cabins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakdale, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We arrived in Mt. Rushmore very early after a very long out of state drive and after doing some sight seeing we were ready to take some rest and nap. Check in time was 2 p.m. but the owners allowed us in early. They were very kind and accomodating. The cabins were well stocked with everything that we needed to make our stay comfortable. I have a bad back and I was a bit worried about the beds but they were nothing but comfortable and clean. The kids bonded with the owner's yellow lab dog which they called Spotty..real name "Uver". Every evening Spotty would come and lay near our cabin and the boys would go out there to pet him and talk to him. They really enjoyed his company. We will for sure stay at Pinerest cabins again. They are close to everything....

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Xee X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoveOurCabins, Owner at Pine Rest Cabins, responded to this review, 13 October 2011
It is so wonderful to see families enjoying one another and there is nothing sweeter than a couple of kids and a dog on the porch of a cabin. Thank you for sharing your story - we look forward to seeing you again and "Uver -AKA " Spotty" is wagging his tail at this one! Thump, thump, thump. Look forward to seeing you again soon. The Johnson Family of Pine Rest Cabins.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

After staying at a less than desirable place, it was a pleasant surprise to come to Pine Rest Cabins. The cottage we stayed in was clean and so cozy. We all enjoyed a good night sleep and meals on the porch. We also enjoyed spending time with Spotty, the spotless wonder. :) The owners were very pleasant and helpful in suggesting things to do in the Black Hills area. Two days was not enough...Thank you for such a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lizziehildebrandt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoveOurCabins, Owner at Pine Rest Cabins, responded to this review, 25 August 2011
So glad you enjoyed your stay here in the heart of the black hills. Your paper plate & kind review made our day .......we do have a confession to make..... "Uver of Pine Rest Cabins" is the real name of our big yellow lab - he's such a great camp dog and we're sure he enjoyed you as much as you enjoyed him. "Spotty the Spottless Wonder" , his predecessor, was our beloved friend and greeter for 13 years. Thanks for the gentle reminder to update our information inside the cabins. We'd be happy to host you should you pass this way again, and you can expect "Uver" ( rhymes with Hoover) to greet you on your porch. Many Happy Returns - from all of your four legged and two legged friends at PIne Rest Cabins.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hill City hotels
4.2 mi away
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
2.6 mi away
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
#11 of 12 in Hill City
188 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
High Country Guest Ranch
High Country Guest Ranch
#10 of 12 in Hill City
128 reviews
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 12 in Hill City
98 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 12 in Hill City
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Rest Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Rest Cabins

Property: Pine Rest Cabins
Address: Hwy 16-385, 1 Mile South on Hwy 16-385, PO Box 377, Hill City, SD
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Hill City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect location for day trips anywhere in the Black Hills. Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Custer State Park all less than 20 minutes from your furnished cabin. Mickelson trail less than one mile. The ambiance of history with plenty of modern comforts makes Pine Rest Cabins your perfect cabin getaway. Hot Tub, Sauna, Cable TV, Wi-Fi . Just one mile south of the friendly mountain town of Hill City. Welcoming guests to the Black Hillsof South Dakota since 1911. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pine Rest Cabins Hotel Hill City
Pine Rest Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing