We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in a perfect spot!”
Review of Pine Rest Cabins

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hill City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pine Rest Cabins
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Hill City
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We decided to go to the black hills for the first time in 20 years, and we picked the most perfect spot in Hill City. The cabin was fabulous, clean, quiet and easily affordable. The pine
Rest cabins are in a perfect spot for ease to get everywhere, which we did. The bathhouse with the hot tub was wonderful as well, as we went a little early t
His year and it was a little chilly at nights, but having a fireplace I the cabin was wonderful

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoveOurCabins, Owner at Pine Rest Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Wow, how great is that! Thanks so much for your encouraging words! You were last in the Black Hills about the time we began our turn here at Pine Rest Cabins and we still think it's the perfect spot too! Glad you enjoyed the cabin and yes, our spring has been cool, so the fireplaces are nice to have. Have passed your positive comments on to our staff - we couldn't do it without them. Hope you get to come back in less than 20 years and remember, as long as we own the place you will always get the best discount rate of the season as our Returning Guests. Warm Regards, Johnson family and staff of Pine Rest Cabins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

My husband and I took a "creative retreat" during the off-season at Pine Rest Cabins. We had a great experience -- the cabins are clean, cozy, and stocked with everything you might need, from towels to coffee pots to dish soap. The scenery is beautiful year-round, and we had a peaceful, productive long weekend. The owners are friendly, great people. There's lots to do in the Black Hills, but you may be reluctant to leave your sweet little cabin. It's just right for a vacation home-away-from-home.

Room Tip: Cabins come in various sizes. A small cabin has two double beds and is big enough for a family of fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lacey V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoveOurCabins, Owner at Pine Rest Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

What wonderful things can happen when you take the 'road less traveled by " ...... so glad you could get away this winter and enjoy the beauty & solitude of January in the Black Hills. Thank you for the thoughtful review, we are so glad to hear the cabin met your needs for a productive , creative retreat. You have inspired us to take more 'working vacations" as well. Now spring is in the air and we look forward to seeing you again soon - work or play , we are tickeled to be your place to stay! Jan & Steve of Pine Rest Cabins , in the Beautiful Black Hills of South Dakota.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

In early Sept. we dropped off our son at college in Idaho. On our way home we went through the Tetons and ended up going through the Black Hills. We need a room for the night and call Pine Rest Cabins. The gal on the phone was so nice. She said that Cabin 5 was available so we booked it. She told us there was a storm head her way so, if we were on bikes to get our rain gear on. When we arrived, she met us and took us to cabin 5. A very old rustic cabin, that we fell in love with immediately. Nothing fancy, just very comfortable. We ended up staying 2 days, and had a wonderful time. We bar-b-qued on the grill they provided, picked up some wine at couple of the local wineries and had a relaxing nite on the front porch. The location was great. close to Mt. Rushmore, and Custard state park. We were able to site-see and go back "home" for a relaxing evening. the cabin was clean, and had everything we need. The owners we so nice, and we are planning to return!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoveOurCabins, Owner at Pine Rest Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

How kind of you to take the time to post a review of your last minute stay at Pine Rest. So glad you enjoyed our oldest and most unique cabin - cabin #5 is nicknamed the "Miners Cabin " because it was around during the Tin Mining days ..... many good times have been had in that cabin and we're glad you enjoyed it's simple rustic ambiance. We are delighted to pass your positive comments on to our employee's as well - drop in anytime or make a reservation and plan to stay awhile. Lot's to see and do in the heart of the Black Hills. Our Best Personal Regards, Jan & the Pine Rest Cabins crew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Thanks to WerePoky for writing almost to the word what my husband and I experienced while staying at the Pine Rest Cabins during the blizzard. I had booked the Birch cabin because I was registered to run the Crazy Horse Marathon October 3rd. So...course alteration when the blizzard hit and the marathon was cancelled.
What a cozy, beautiful couple of days with excellent people. I won't repeat all that the above reviews have stated but sometimes a change of plans turns into something wonderful. (I will admit that the first hot shower after leaving was glorious!) See you next year...we'll try it again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacksonville_FLKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoveOurCabins, Owner at Pine Rest Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

We'd be delighted to host you next fall ~ looking forward to Crazy Horse Marathon 2014! Autumn is still my favorite time of year here in the Black Hills. Winter , as you witnessed, has it's own special beauty, and is our play time . We do keep your cabin - the Birch- and 4 others open all winter - it's a good idea to call ahead, as we may be hanging out with friends and family, playing broomball on the local ice pond, cross country skiing or taking in some great live entertainment in Hill City . Thanks so much for your kindness and inspiration. Life's little changes do give us cause to appreciate the beauty that surrounds us, and go with the flow ~ you did an excellend job of both. Great photos- thanks for sharing - especially like the boots on the dog in front of the fireplace....ahhhh, life's good,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We loved the little cabin. We were in Cabin #2 at first, which has a nice kitchenette and a futon and comfy bed and electric heat. Cabins are nice sized, clean, and there are fresh towels and more toilet paper etc. to be had on request. The cabins are extremely conveniently located to Hill City which has some nice restaurants, and I think (probably) has excellent shopping. At least, main street looked to have excellent shopping. We got snowed in after the biggest freak snowstorm since 1984, according to Steve, and that shut everything down, including the interstate . They could not have been more kind thru all the annoyances to come. The power went out, which took out the heat, light, and the water pump. Jan and Steve couldn't have been more patient, they moved everyone to gas heated cabins or the guest room that had gas heat. Jan even cooked up chili and potato bean soup in the main building. They patiently served snacks and managed to find buckets of water for toilet flushing. Steve must of been out 8 times with the tractor pushing snow from the drives. They were taking in friends. They didn't have to do any of that! We would definitely, definitely return. The blizzard was a freak event and they handled the snow and irritated, stranded guests with aplomb and courtesy. And Uver the dog was a great companion. The highway noise didn't bother us at all. Sure I could hear trucks but I can hear them inside my home as well, big deal. God bless the owners and their staff.

Room Tip: Cabins that have names are farther back from the road and presumably with less road noise, if that b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WerePoky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoveOurCabins, Owner at Pine Rest Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Apomb? I looked it up - I must say our guests ( at one point 17 ) all deserve the title "Grace under Pressure" as well. Everyone helped out in every way possible, and without complaint, and still managed to enjoy the time here. Thank you for staying with us throughout the storm and taking the time to write such a beautiful review.... it is so well written I am saving a copy for our scrap book. We just got the power back last night, 5 days without "juice", but at no time were we "powerless" , as we had our higher power, a great collection of guests, friends, family and staff working together to make the best of "Pioneer Days at Pine Rest Cabins " ..... What with Pine Rest being over 100 years old, I am now humbly aware of how good we have it these days .... this wasn't the first time that Pine Rest innkeepers have provided great service without electricity..... Glad you liked both Cabin #2 and Cottage Suite #10 , with Mountain Ambiance and Modern Comforts!! Many Happy Returns ! Jan & our hero on the Backhoe - Steve P.S. Great photo! - thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We found the accolades expressed by other reviewers to be true and accurate. The cabin was clean and contained everything that you would need during your stay. We originally booked a 3-day stay, but had to leave 2 days early because we wanted to avoid a once-in-a-decade, early October blizzard (as I write this, Rapid City had almost 4 feet of snow dumped on it today). The owners graciously refunded our money for the days that we did not stay. We appreciate their act of kindness, and would definitely stay at Pine Rest in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rich L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoveOurCabins, Owner at Pine Rest Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Your kind affirmation is worth a million! You have aptly described the unusual premature timing of the snow. Your review made our day, as power has just been restored, it's nice outside and we are grateful to be getting the cabins ready for todays arrivals. Glad to hear you made it home safely -we thank you for staying with us - sorry you had to cut it short. We do hope you get the chance to visit again and experience all the Black Hills of South Dakota has to offer. Warm Regards - Jan, Steve & Staff of PIne Rest Cabins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Pine rest. The cabin was recently remodeled, very clean, and had some nice touches like lots of extra hangers for towels and a well thought out kitchen. Its location works very well for the Black Hills, too. Yes, it is on the highway, but if you are like us and tend to spend time out and about and don't return until after dinner it works out well. The highway sounds drop off quite a bit after 8, and as a result we had no trouble sleeping (and we tend not to sleep well away from home). Would definitely return if we ever make our way back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HeatherLynnB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoveOurCabins, Owner at Pine Rest Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

So glad you found the location and the cabin comfortable for your visit to South Dakota in July. Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to send a kind review to Trip Advisor......it really helps people find just the right place to be while visiting our neck of the woods. We love nothing more than to have happy guests in our midst - your comments made our day ! Thanks and Many Happy Returns. Jan, Steve, Family, Staff & "Uver" of Pine Rest Cabins.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hill City hotels
2.6 mi away
Mount Rushmore Lodge at Palmer Gulch
4.2 mi away
High Country Guest Ranch
High Country Guest Ranch
#10 of 12 in Hill City
131 reviews
4.2 mi away
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 12 in Hill City
129 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Rest Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Rest Cabins

Address: Hwy 16-385, 1 Mile South on Hwy 16-385, PO Box 377, Hill City, SD
Region: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Hill City
Price Range: £52 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect location for day trips anywhere in the Black Hills. Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Custer State Park all less than 20 minutes from your furnished cabin. Mickelson trail less than one mile. The ambiance of history with plenty of modern comforts makes Pine Rest Cabins your perfect cabin getaway. Hot Tub, Sauna, Cable TV, Wi-Fi . Just one mile south of the friendly mountain town of Hill City. Welcoming guests to the Black Hillsof South Dakota since 1911. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pine Rest Cabins Hotel Hill City
Pine Rest Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing