We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summer vacation”
Review of Pine Rest Cabins

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hill City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pine Rest Cabins
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Hill City
Reviewed 16 August 2014

The cabin was very clean and just enough for all of us. Two adults, 3 children. The bath towels were big and thick, very nice! We stayed during sturgis week and while during the day, the highway noise was constant as you should expect, at night, very quiet! We had our windows open and was just fine. Jan and Steve were very helpful as we ended up with a dental emergency and they were able to find us a dentist close by. Pine Rest cabins is wonderfully located in the middle of all of the exciting places to see, Mt Rushmore, Crazy Horse, etc. We couldn't ask for a better location!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank canneplus4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoveOurCabins, Owner at Pine Rest Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay in the "Heart of the Black Hills" - thank you for the vote of confidence about our location . Crazy Horse and Mt. Rushmore are very close -nearly equal distance from us at about 9 miles and hopefullly you got over to Custer State Park as well. Glad we could help out with the dental referral - we feel very fortunate in having great dentists in nearbye Custer and Rapid City . So glad the cabin was as expected for you - have passed your kind remarks on to our employees . Many Happy Returns, Jan & Steve of PIne Rest Cabins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

Pine Rest is a wonderful place to stay. I enjoyed the hot tub and wooded atmosphere. Also the hosts are great people. Would recomend Pine Rest to friends and family. I felt it was very comfortable and peaceful. Will definitly stay again!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoveOurCabins, Owner at Pine Rest Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

So glad you had the chance to spend some time away from the hustle and bustle of daily life. When you can find heaven on earth through life's simple pleasures, you have opened a door to endless possibilities. You've helped us realize that . Glad to share our little spot in the woods with you - we'll keep the hot tub ready and waiting for your next get away close to home! Thank you very much for taking the time to to post a review. We have shared your comments with our staff and family. We'd be delighted to host you any time. Fond Regards, Jan & Steve of Pine Rest Cabins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

For the 9th consecutive year we stayed with Jan & Steve at the Pine Rest Cabins in Hill City SD. And as always our stay was FANTASTIC! Their facilities and location is just perfect for Rally Day Trips through the glorious Black Hills of SD. We honestly couldn't ask for a better place to stay and with 29 consecutive years of Rally attendance we've learned a thing or two about doing it right! We would strongly recommend a stay with them during the 2015 75th Anniversary Sturgis Rally, you just can't have Cabin #8 because we've already booked it for another outstanding 10 day stay! (Thanks so much for the huge new smoker grill out front!)

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David_Marilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoveOurCabins, Owner at Pine Rest Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

On the wall of your Cabin #8 hangs an old sampler which reads "Let me Live in a House by the Side of the Road and be a Friend to Man". You've done just that over the past 9 years and we are glad you have. Thanks again for the kind review, for your genuine appreciation for what we do to keep Pine Rest Cabins going, and for sharing in a bit of our lives here in the Black Hills of South Dakota along the side of the road to Hill City, Custer and yes, Sturgis too! We couldn't do it without the help of our staff and we've passed your compliments on to them. I recently came accross the old poem from which that sampler's sentiment was taken ; " The House by the Side of the Road " written by Sam Walter Foss ( 1858-1911) . I found it a wonderful coincidence he died the year Pine Rest Cabins was established and his philosophy has somehow become our own over the years. (there I go, getting all philosphical on you again - Uver knows better!! ) 'Til next year, I leave you with one of Foss's verses: "I see from my house by the side of the road, By the side of the highway of life, The men who press with the ardor of hope, the men who are faint with strife, But I turn not away from their smiles, nor their tears, Both parts of an infinite plan; Let me live in my house by the side of the road, and be a friend to man. " MANY HAPPY RETURNS! from Jan & Steve & family , including Uver & Staff of Pine Rest Cabins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Let's be clear - by 8pm and until about 7am, the main highway is pretty quiet.

However, the cabins are literally about 75 feet from the highway with trucks downshifting to make it into Hill City. It's not the "rustic cabin in the woods" environment you'd expect. It's loud at times - so loud that you had to shout at each other from the very nice picnic table on the front porch.

Lots of people like to ride their motorcycles to get out to Rushmore, and you hear those as well. Heck, you can even read the license plates.

Having said all that, the cabins themselves are VERY nice. Very clean, working appliances, and all the stuff you'd need to make it be a non-campers paradise. The Wi-Fi is strong, and the beds are very comfortable. The bathrooms and showers are nice, too.

I'd say that if you were planning on being away all day - even into the night - this would be ideal. You'd not have any problem with this property at all. However, if you plan to have a quiet, rustic, off the beaten path environment, then this is not for you. We wish they would have told us that to begin with.

Room Tip: Ask for the cabins that are furthest from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoveOurCabins, Owner at Pine Rest Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Glad you liked the cabin and gave favorable mention to the good wi -fi, nice showers, comfortable beds and quiet nights. Being situated in the center of the Black Hills National Forest on the road to Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse and Custer State Park for over 100 years has earned Pine Rest Cabins the description: "the perfect location for day trips anywhere in the Black Hills ". We've your many compliments with our our staff- we are very fortunate to have excellent and loyal employees helping us clean cabins and take reservations. Nothing makes a family business & the staff happier than having satisfied customers in their midst. Sorry you missed some the information on our website when you booked your reservation last February - we have nothing to hide and South Dakota still has some very secluded spots - we invite you to return to the Black Hills again and sincerely hope you are able to find your very own idea of the perfect location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Our week long stay at Pine Rest was fantastic. My parents, myself, my husband and our 2 kids stayed in cabin 5, which had plenty of room and privacy for everyone. We cooked several tasty meals and grilled out on the high - quality grill. The playground was right next door, so even in lulls between visiting the many parks, caves, and monuments, the kids were always entertained. The staff was so helpful, and we fell in love with the resident pooch, Uver. The only slight criticism we had was the towels were a bit musty. I could've stayed forever!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoveOurCabins, Owner at Pine Rest Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

It is so nice to see families traveling together, and good old Historic Cabin #5 is great for a multi -generation family vacation - so glad you enjoyed it. It is true that life's simple pleasures are the best. You must have made it to Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Wind or Jewel Cave and Custer State Park.....it's wonderful that you had a full week to immerse yourselves in the Black Hills and still have some down time at the Cabin. Thank's for mentioning the towels....ooops, we're on it! We have also passed your compliments on to our staff and Uver is still wagging his tail from all the attention you gave him ! Come visit often, stay long. Jan & Steve & Staff along with "Uver of Pine Rest Cabins".....see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We went to South Dakota for the Crazy Horse Volksmarch held the first weekend of June. Since we had stayed at the Pine Rest cabins before, we booked our stay with them again. Again, we were not disappointed.

We stayed in the Dakota cabin and were very pleased. You do your own cooking, but if you don't want to, there are nice restaurants in Hill City for your dining pleasure.

We will be staying at the Pine Rest cabins on our next trip to South Dakota.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Connie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoveOurCabins, Owner at Pine Rest Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

So glad you stayed with us again for your trip out for the annual Crazy Horse Volksmarch - that is a big weekend and admission is waived to the Memorial for hikers donating cash or three cans of food per person to the KOTA Care & Share Food Drive. Hikers are welcome to visit the large Crazy Horse visitor complex without charge. We hope to get to some of the Thursday evening summer lecture series with interesting topics on traditional music, dance, art and so forth. Glad you enjoyed cooking in the Dakota Cabin as well as taking advantage of the great restaurants in Hill City. We'll be glad to see you again any time of the year. Many Happy Retursn! The Family & Staff of Pine Rest Cabins.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We decided to go to the black hills for the first time in 20 years, and we picked the most perfect spot in Hill City. The cabin was fabulous, clean, quiet and easily affordable. The pine
Rest cabins are in a perfect spot for ease to get everywhere, which we did. The bathhouse with the hot tub was wonderful as well, as we went a little early t
His year and it was a little chilly at nights, but having a fireplace I the cabin was wonderful

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoveOurCabins, Owner at Pine Rest Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Wow, how great is that! Thanks so much for your encouraging words! You were last in the Black Hills about the time we began our turn here at Pine Rest Cabins and we still think it's the perfect spot too! Glad you enjoyed the cabin and yes, our spring has been cool, so the fireplaces are nice to have. Have passed your positive comments on to our staff - we couldn't do it without them. Hope you get to come back in less than 20 years and remember, as long as we own the place you will always get the best discount rate of the season as our Returning Guests. Warm Regards, Johnson family and staff of Pine Rest Cabins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hill City hotels
4.2 mi away
High Country Guest Ranch
High Country Guest Ranch
#10 of 12 in Hill City
131 reviews
2.6 mi away
Mount Rushmore Lodge at Palmer Gulch
4.2 mi away
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 12 in Hill City
260 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 12 in Hill City
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Rest Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Rest Cabins

Address: Hwy 16-385, 1 Mile South on Hwy 16-385, PO Box 377, Hill City, SD
Region: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Hill City
Price Range: £52 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect location for day trips anywhere in the Black Hills. Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Custer State Park all less than 20 minutes from your furnished cabin. Mickelson trail less than one mile. The ambiance of history with plenty of modern comforts makes Pine Rest Cabins your perfect cabin getaway. Hot Tub, Sauna, Cable TV, Wi-Fi . Just one mile south of the friendly mountain town of Hill City. Welcoming guests to the Black Hillsof South Dakota since 1911. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pine Rest Cabins Hotel Hill City
Pine Rest Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing