We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best RV Camping Trip”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hill City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mount Rushmore / Hill City KOA
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best RV Camping Trip”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

You will not find a better campground with family activities. We stayed for a week, and never ran out of things to do. This place has 2 pools, water slide, horses, hay ride, pancake breakfast, coffee shop, ice cream shop, free movies, the list goes on and on. I would like to come back every summer.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonWV1775RV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    94
    56
    38
    29
See reviews for
246
49
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cochrane, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
365 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We have stayed at this KOA and Resort on two occasions and have to say that it is one of the best KOAs in the system. You would not have to leave the resort because there is so much to do here, but the resort is so close to all of the area's attractions, Mount Rushmore, Custer Memorial, Hill City, Keystone, Rapid City and all of its attractions etc. etc. etc. Great restaurant and separate pub on site, with fantastic pizza! Two pools to choose from, horseback trail rides, four-wheeler rentals, mineral panning, tye-die shirt making, a great ice cream shop, fantastic well-stocked camp store...the amenities are endless! The service which we have received at this KOA is nothing short of outstanding! I would highly recommend this resort to families travelling to the Black Hills or as a stop over to/from Yellowstone National Park!

Room Tip: Good and dependable WiFi we found to exist only in the "front" area of the campground betw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dickinson, North Dakota, USA
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

What a great place to feel great about the United States of America! Seeing the faces up close is like seeing them in 3D. Every flag of every state is on display as well as when every state joined our great nation. They have a small theater to watch a film on the history of Gutzon Borglum and mount Rushmore. As well every night the have a ceremony lighting up the faces. The whole family enjoyed this experience!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Garett W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

You can't go too far wrong with this very large corporate owned KOA. It has many sites, a restaurant, shops, every facility you can name. It is also pricey and lacks the personal touch of family owned KOAs. Enter the front office and you are in a lobby that would be suitable for a high end hotel front desk/gift shop. I found myself standing at the wrong counter for several minutes while staff wandered by ignoring me. I finally moved to the registration counter and again was ignored for about 10 minutes while staff dealt with other issues (not other customers) If you want the familiarity of a typical KOA and don't mind doing without the personal touch and paying more for it...stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jlknkd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
914 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

This KOA is in a great setting in the shadows of Mount Rushmore. Large campsites, we took a campsite on the edge of the campground, situated under the pine trees, site 226. Large clean restrooms, with welcome heaters on cold mornings. Great camp store which is open until 10pm. Restaurant on site, the Ponderosa, which was also very good. Six miles to the Mount Rushmore Monument and about 12 miles to Crazy Horse monument.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank ZumaDawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BOZEMAN
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This Koa has everything. The staff was pleasant, the prices fair, the scenery great. My child did not want to leave to go see the sights! We took advantage of the horse rides and the helicopter trip. the location is perfect for accessing all kinds of ameneties.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CARRIE G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Worth the deive to it. It is a ways out in the hills but the scenery is great. Would stay again. Close to Mt. Rushmore and about 20 miles to Rapid City. Lots of activities at campground for kids. Tent sites are up on high ground so water not an issue.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hill City
0.1 mi away
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
#11 of 12 in Hill City
183 reviews
2.7 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
2.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 12 in Hill City
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 12 in Hill City
95 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Rushmore / Hill City KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Rushmore / Hill City KOA

Property: Mount Rushmore / Hill City KOA
Address: 12620 Highway 244, Hill City, SD 57745-8902
Region: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Hill City
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the convenience of KOA kamping kabins and deluxe, big-rig friendly RV campsites to secluded tent sites along a creek, the Mount Rushmore / Hill City KOA campground offers campers an exiting outdoor experience complete with picturesque granite mountain views and Ponderosa pine panoramas. Choose from:+ Kamping kabins+ RV campsites+ Tent sites ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mount Rushmore / Hill City Koa Hotel Hill City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing