We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Kids LOVED This Place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mount Rushmore / Hill City KOA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hill City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mount Rushmore / Hill City KOA
Lakewood, Colorado
Level Contributor
129 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Our Kids LOVED This Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

We overnighted here as a stop-over to see Mt. Rushmore and the kids ended up begging us to stay another night (or 5!!)

The place is huge and has something for everyone. We were in an RV and got a full hookup slot that was close to the pools and play area. Check in was smooth and friendly with three folks on hand to check people in. They then had someone in a golf cart lead you to your site which, give the size of the place, is a great idea.

The kids had a blast in the pool and play area and there seemed to be a ton of stuff for them to do had we had more time to stay.

They have a few restaurants and small stores at the entrance and we spent a good 45 minutes in the wine\internet bar. The gentleman working there was making home-made fudge and chatted us up when we ordered a couple of glasses of wine to drink while we looked around the store. The store had some cool trinkets and local wines we ended up buying more than we should have :-)

The only down side of the place was the lack of Internet access. Instead of advertising wi-fi and delivering a service that a) you're unlikely to be able to connect to and b) if you do connect it is too slow to be useful, they should just say they don't have it.

We will be heading back here as it's location makes it a nice base to see Devil's Tower, Bad Lands, Wind Cave, etc.

Room Tip: Stay away from the sites near the dumpsters and bathrooms. They are noisy and bright.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FlyingSux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    89
    53
    36
    29
See reviews for
232
46
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn Park, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We have stayed at this KOA 5 or 6 times over the years, and this was our first trip back since 2008. A lot of things about the KOA are great - the onsite amenities and shops, the location and proximity to attractions, etc. However, we stayed in a cabin this time, and were very taken aback when we found dirty socks and used water bottles in/under the beds and a floor that turned our socks black upon our arrival. We watched the staff "clean" our neighbor's cabin after their departure, and they were in and out in under a minute and took their leftover wood and trash. The main lodge was very clean and well kept, but the bathroom facilities for our area of the camp were not. The bathrooms themselves were fairly clean, however they were often out of soap. The showers were the main issue as there were 12 showers, but only 5 open. We found out after reporting this to a staff member that they were repairing them one-by-one from storm damage in Oct 2013, and we encouraged them to put signage up explain this so that people didn't keep thinking they were just closing them because it wasn't yet peak season.
The campground advertises a lot of entertainment options, but most of them weren't open while we were there, and each family pays $10/night "resort fee" to have access to the pools, waterslide, boats, mini golf, movies, etc. The Adult Swim pool only listed 2 hours of operation and had extremely green water. The WiFi was completely inaccessible from our own devices, and the business center was always occupied by KOA staff members. When asked about getting onto WiFi, one staff member laughed at us and said "good luck". This same staff member was running the coffee shop and commented on how "gross" a drink was that we ordered before making it; when he did make it, it wasn't hot and had no flavor. The daytime lady was fabulous at making drinks! The KOA shop is well-stocked and the horses are great fun, even just to pet. The Ponderosa Restaurant onsite should be avoided at all costs - nothing had flavor and you could tell everything had come out of a box or prepackaged container. Overall, we were able to make a fun long weekend out of it, but we wish it had been a better experience like previous stays there have been.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lilkelster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

We switched to this location from the Interior, SD, one after finding out everything is closer to this location. (We were at the Badlands and then did things closer to Hill City) We arrived the week before Memorial Day. We were going to stay in a tent but decided to upgrade to a cabin for the first night. The staff was very friendly and gave us a cabin close to the office. When we arrived in the cabin it seemed like no one had checked it out first. There were bugs all over the window sills and tables. There weren't any curtains in the windows. Luckily we had a little broom and dust pan to sweep up the bugs and used towels and sheets for curtains. When we decided to stay in the cabin a second night (still our first night there), I went to the office to let them know. I told them about the bugs and curtains and they were surprised and said they were very sorry. They ended up giving us a discount on the second night and said they would let housekeeping know about the curtains the next day. They called the next day about the curtains and put them up for us while we were gone. That night we figured out we could get a heater for the cabin (it was about 40 at night) and they gave us that for free as well for our trouble.

Overall, it was a good experience due to the staff and I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank msu_gurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Valley City, Utah
Level Contributor
144 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

You could literally not ever leave camp. Especially for the kids sake. They had so many activities and amenities for the kids, here's the list...a lake that you could fish, kayak, paddle boat, etc.and had all the equipment just of its dock. Bikes, trikes and the trails for them, 2 pools, a waterpark, a place called Fiddlesticks where they had nightly movies and could rent movies during the day. A giant bounce type house but without the walls. Horseback rides. A pizza/ice cream parlor, internet, wine and coffee house. Restaurant, convinence store/ gift shop with camping supplies, food, etc., nice landro-mats and hot showers. All you can eat pancakes for $2.50. You can rent cars, golf carts and other modes of transportation too. We camped in a tent 2 nights(with a fire pit and table) but had enough of the rain so we went for a basic cabin which was basically 2 bunkbeds w/ the bottom of one being a double with the standard pit and table and a porch swing and bench, well worth the $79 being our last night. I'm giving it the highest rating for potential....the internet was shotty at times, the staff was nice but for many it was their 1st week on the job, but I wasn't needy and I liked being unplugged, my wife, not so much. we will be doing this again if we get up there and will be bringing the grandkids.

Room Tip: Tents only tents w/ water and electric basic bunk cabins cabin with small kitchen and goes up f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank princespoison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rapid City, South Dakota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Have stayed at Rushmore KOA each year for the past 3-4. Staff is always friendly, facilities are clean. Wouldn't have stayed there this weekend (Memorial Day) had we known the pool was closed though ... no refund of the add-on $10 resort fee. Without the pool, our kids got bored fairly quick. Disappointing this time. Should have called ahead.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mtl1015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

We were underwhelmed at the park. Besides the mountain there is little else to do and it's a long ways from the city . The drive to there is gorgeous though. We did it cause we were in the area but I would have been disappointed if we had to drive for it.
Ok if you see it, ok if you don't.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sdewani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

You will not find a better campground with family activities. We stayed for a week, and never ran out of things to do. This place has 2 pools, water slide, horses, hay ride, pancake breakfast, coffee shop, ice cream shop, free movies, the list goes on and on. I would like to come back every summer.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonWV1775RV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hill City
0.1 mi away
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
#11 of 12 in Hill City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites
3.4 mi away
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 12 in Hill City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
5.6 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 14 in Keystone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Rushmore / Hill City KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Rushmore / Hill City KOA

Property: Mount Rushmore / Hill City KOA
Address: 12620 Highway 244, Hill City, SD 57745-8902
Region: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Hill City
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the convenience of KOA kamping kabins and deluxe, big-rig friendly RV campsites to secluded tent sites along a creek, the Mount Rushmore / Hill City KOA campground offers campers an exiting outdoor experience complete with picturesque granite mountain views and Ponderosa pine panoramas. Choose from:+ Kamping kabins+ RV campsites+ Tent sites ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mount Rushmore / Hill City Koa Hotel Hill City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing