We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quails crossing was great!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Black Hills Cabins and Motel at Quail's Crossing
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Hill City
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado springs
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quails crossing was great!!!!”
Reviewed 30 July 2008

We stayed at Quails crossing for about a week, George had everything we needed . It was the perfect place for families. The kids loved the animals that stayed around there. They loved the park that was there as well. The greatest thing that was there was in the cabins there was a full kitchen, that means we did not have to haul around coolers and ice all the time, and we did not have to eat out all the time. So it gave us more money to do what we wanted to. The cabins were like home away from home. George was great he gave us the things that we didn't have. He was also friendly and chit chated with us it felt like a great community to stay you felf welcome and known, unlike a hotel were there are so many people they forget you names. George also had a pool and a hot tub that was nice not many cabins have those things. It was wonderful there and it was really hard to pack up and come home. I do believe this has been one of the greatest places that we have stayed in.
George thanks for a great time.

  • Liked — George and the animals
  • Disliked — Nothing it was great
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DreamAngel0384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    35
    5
    4
    22
See reviews for
98
26
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Twin Cities, MN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2008

Our family was looking for something a little off the beaten path in the Black Hills - no chains, please. We were very satisfied with our stay at Quail's Cossing. It's not fancy, so if you want fancy go somewhere else. From our motel room, we had a great view of the creek and hills behind the property. We loved the large deck and availability of a grill. We ate most of our meals out there - very enjoyable. George does a decent job keeping the place running and clean. We had no problems, and really appreciated all the stuff he had available for us to use for a small fee.

  • Liked — relaxed, beautiful view
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dsponheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rgunsolus
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2008

My family and I really appreciated the accomodations at Quails Crossing - the views are quite simply the best. The room was very clean and rustic. We really appreciated the grill right on the deck outside our room overlooking the beautiful brook and meadow. The owner was very kind, and generously gave us tips on panning for gold & garnet in the stream! There is a great maintained trail that goes right by the ranch for walking or biking (bikes were even provided :) I will stay at quails crossing EVERY time I am in the Black Hills, there is nothing comparable in my humble opinion.

Ron G
Duluth, MN

  • Liked — The Amazing View
  • Disliked — I really enjoyed it all :)
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank rgunsolus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2008

In as few words as possible, this was a frightening experience for me and my children. As I was trying to apologize and defend myself after an innocent misunderstanding of the check-out time, (I was 2 hours late...misread the sign in the room) I was belittled and chased off the property, in front of my children, by the host. Please look for other accomodations when visiting the beautiful Black Hills in Hill City, S.D.

  • Liked — Black Hills
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
12 Thank truroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quailscr, owner at Black Hills Cabins and Motel at Quail's Crossing, responded to this review, 27 July 2008
This person was just trying to scam to get out of paying for late checkout. Claim that she did not know the ckeck out time. That was on her reservation, that she was verbally informed and posted very clearly in the office and in the room. After telling her to just hurry up and leave, she came to the office and started to threaten to ruin me and my business, because she did not want to be wrong for her criminal behavior, making a big scene. I was then forced to demand for her to leave the premises.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2008

This was suppose to be a family vacation getaway to the beautiful Black Hills. Instead it was awful. The cabins were tacky and spartan at best. We found flea infestation in the couches and bugs in the bedsheets. Old food splatter on the refrigerator. An unkept horse was shackeled to a tether some 30' from the front door of the cabins and the area was covered with horse droppings. The property is littered with old, rusted, unsightly equipment. Not a safe place for children to play

Ironically we also had a similar experience with the unfriendly owner/operator. At checkout, we swept, vacummed, cleaned and wiped all surfaces, and dishes, and placed all linens in the provided hamper. Unable to locate the host, we left the keys and later called to confirm he had received them, only to find he had a list of reasons why were would not get our deposit back either.

The guidelines and rules posted throughout the cabin are unreasonable and overbearing. Much is open to interpretation and subject to the host's whim.

On a positive note-Hill City is a great in-between location for access to the many area attractions. Definitley stay in Hill City......but definitley not here.

  • Liked — close to Hill City
  • Disliked — not a relaxing or pleasant stay
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank UStraveler27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quailscr, owner at Black Hills Cabins and Motel at Quail's Crossing, responded to this review, 27 July 2008
These people had a great time and no complaints, until they thought they should not have to clean up. The clean up details are listed in my advertising, thier reservation confirmation and given a list when they check-in. They act like they was uninform but that is not true. These are just false slanderous statement because they think they are above everyone else and should not have to abide by the conditions of the reservation they made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2007

Fairly decent cabins. Nice kitchenette. Very convenient to Mickelson Bike Trail, which is why we stayed here. No basic amenities - had to provide our own soap/shampoo/etc. Towels were provided. We didn't use pool or hot tub so can't comment on those.

Manager charged $50 cleaning deposit on credit card and won't credit back until he inspects how you leave it --- so it felt like an apartment rental and meant we were pretty stressed about getting our money back. Seems like the guests are the only cleaning staff here! Annoying.

While convenient to trail they're right by the highway and close to town so these are not a quiet cabin getaway.

  • Liked — Right on the bike trail
  • Disliked — no amenities, shower cramped
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank mo270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quailscr, owner at Black Hills Cabins and Motel at Quail's Crossing, responded to this review, 27 July 2008
The cleaning deposit, emenities, descriptions of the cabins and agreements are clearly advertised, and customers are well informed of it prior to reservation as well as that I do not provide personal hygene products. To complain about it after the fact is just slanderous. If this customer failed to listen or read the ads as informed to, that is not the failure of the business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hill City hotels
4.1 mi away
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
2.6 mi away
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
#11 of 12 in Hill City
183 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 12 in Hill City
244 reviews
4.3 mi away
High Country Guest Ranch
High Country Guest Ranch
#10 of 12 in Hill City
129 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Hills Cabins and Motel at Quail's Crossing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Hills Cabins and Motel at Quail's Crossing

Property: Black Hills Cabins and Motel at Quail's Crossing
Address: 24060 Highway 385, Hill City, SD 57745-6513
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Hill City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Black Hills Cabins and Motel at Quail's Crossing 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodations Available: 8 - Cabins w/550 actual sq. Ft. W/2 private bedrooms, hide-a-bed in livingroom, full kitchen & dining area, bathroom w/shower. 1 - Motel Suite w/1000 actual sq. Ft., W/3 private bedrooms, 3 hide-a-beds in living room & dining to seat 14, 2 bathrooms w/shower: 1 - Motel Suite w/560 sq. ft., 2 private bedrooms, hide-a-bed in living room, 2 bathrooms w/showers: 6 - Motel Rooms w/1 king bed or 1 queen & 1 double bed, kitchenette & full bath. All accommodations have lawn chairs, picnic table & charcoal grill (charcoal provided). Large in ground pool w/pavilion, hot tub (14+ yrs. only ), playground areas & more, 2 campfire areas w/free wood, Spring Creek w/free gold & garnet panning & Mickelson Trail access w/free bicycle use. On Premise Laundromat!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Black Hills Cabins and Motel at Quail's Crossing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quails Crossing Hill City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing