We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Hill City
Certificate of Excellence
Burlington, IA
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Top notch”
Reviewed 1 July 2011

We spent 3 days here on a recent trip to the Black Hills. Great staff, super customer service, nice clean spacious rooms. HOWEVER, no complimentary breakfast is offered at this time, not even a basic continental...inexcusable at this price and given that nearly every other hotel offers this. I did complain about this and the desk manager did provide an "acceptable alternative" to resolve this. The onsight Seattle's Best coffee shop provided a complimentary cup of excellent coffee, too. The beds are excellent- extremely comfortable. Hill City is a very nice place; more relaxed than Keystone and it suited us just fine, and even though the room rates were still high they are slightly less than Keystone.

Room Tip: Ask for a queiter room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank readittoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    388
    254
    83
    21
    22
See reviews for
375
258
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2011

Stayed in a type A suite which had 2 queen beds and a king bed in a separate room. The room was very nice and clean, as was the pool area. Be advised, while they so have an outdoor pool, it is very small with few chairs. Not to mention this is a pet friendly hotel, so barking dogs are a possibility. Finally, there is no complimentary breakfast which has become the norm at most hotels. However, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flip_wilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

Room was nice. Bed was good. Pool is great. Food poor.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brianhaffey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greeley, CO
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2011

Spent over a week in a spacious room with myself, my husband, 9 year old daughter, and our black lab. The staff were friendly and accommodating. The lobby has a very cute (and rather expensive) boutique as well as a Seattle's Best coffee counter. We did not eat at the hotel restaurant because I tend to steer clear of those, so cannot comment on its offerings. The decor was updated and the room was very clean. We found the room to be spacious and quiet--we never heard our neighbors but must admit we were visiting a little bit before the big tourist rush. If you are hoping for a beautiful view, you will likely be disappointed--our room faced the neighborhood behind us. We didn't care because we are mostly looking for a comfy place to land at the end of the day. Our room definitely fit the bill. The indoor pool was quite nice (although a bit chilly for my taste) as was the hot tub. We really loved having a small fridge and microwave to keep our leftovers ready for lunch the next day. The free Wifi in our room was a plus, but a little slow at times. I would absolutely recommend this hotel and would gladly return myself the next time I am lucky enough to visit the beautiful Black Hills.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjoneill_2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2010

This hotel was in the middle of all of our sightseeings in the area. We were here 3 nights and felt everything was at a short distance. The staff was very friendly and accomodating to our various request. We were 7 and we all stayed at the 2 bedroom unit and it was perfect. The rooms were clean, the kitchen was well stocked and very spacious. The restaurant had great breakfast and their take out pizza was perfect for a late night. They had various wine selections for purchase by the bottle and we were able to enjoy our meal and wine in the comfort of our own room, this is heaven after a full day of sightseeing and walking. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rcritz7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbury, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 5 November 2010

We stayed here for 4 nights in mid-August and were very pleased with our accommodations and the location of the hotel. We were in the newer building and our room was very clean, roomy, and well-maintained. (Pets are not allowed in the new building, which I love because we have some allergies in our family.) I have high expectations for the cleanliness of hotel rooms and I was NOT disappointed here. Our kids enjoyed both pools. The outdoor pool is kind of small, but they were able to be outside, which was more important to us than the size. the staff was very friendly and helpful if we needed anything. We walked into Hill City a couple times for dinner (The Alpine Inn!) and to look around at the shops. The hotel is conveniently located to many of the Black Hills attractions without being in a busy, touristy area. We would definitely stay here again on a return visit to the Black Hills.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twins_fan65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2010

We traveled off-season and got a large suite for $4 more than a regular room would have cost at the Holiday Inn Express down the road. Everything seemed clean and new. The folding doors between the living room/kitchenette area and the bedroom allowed my husband to stay up late and watch TV while I crashed in the bedroom. Refrigerator and microwave in the kitchenette area. Not a great view out the window, but then we didn't care about that. We had a very good dinner at the hotel restaurant. The items were reasonably priced. I had a bowl of homemade chicken soup, and it was unexpectedly good. The restaurant and the coffee/snack shop offer cheesecake from the Cheesecake Factory. Sinful, I know, but after all the hiking I'd done during our week in the Badlands and Black Hills, I indulged with no regrets.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlarae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hill City
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 12 in Hill City
98 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 12 in Hill City
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
2.7 mi away
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
7.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt Rushmore / Keystone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
Address: 601 Main St, P.O. Box 555, Hill City, SD 57745-2002
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hill City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hill City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Golden Spike Inn And Suites
Best Western Golden Spike Hotel Hill City
Best Western Hill City
Hill City Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing