We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Inn & Suites(Hill City)(Great Value!)
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$142
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$137
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$167
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Hill City)(Great Value!)
US$219
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$148
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (830)
Filter reviews
830 results
Traveller rating
422
273
90
23
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
422
273
90
23
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsindoor and outdoor poolsblack hillsfree breakfastroom was cleancrazy horsegift shopgreat place to stayhot breakfastgreat roomwould stay here againoff seasonhot tubmount rushmorepleasant staycuster state parkenjoyed our stayoatmeal
Filter
Updating list...
738 - 743 of 830 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Hotel was clean & room was nice. Liked the pool however I was staying in Best Western hotel chains because they offer free breakfasts. This one didn't & we found the breakfast at the hotel overpriced for what you got. We wouldn't stay here again.
I also had problems with wireless internet & ended up being charged roaming charges when I got back to Canada. Add another $50.00 onto our bill.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bitzy2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We booked this hotel as the first leg of a two week trip which, in my opinion, we planned too late in the summer season. After hours of searching and asking family members who had made the same trip 3 summers prior my sister-in-law found availability here and suggested we check it out. With no other alternatives we booked our room and our stay kicked off one of the most amazing trips I have been on. We had a suite on the first floor that was located in a brick building. I had called several times to ensure that we were not in a pet friendly room and was assured that these particular rooms did not allow pets. I was very pleased to find that when booking the staff took our needs seriously and not only noted but met our request since we were traveling with an asthmatic tween. The suite was quite large with a sofa, granite bar eating area, mini-frig, sink and microwave. There was also a desk where we could set up our computer for the duration of the trip. The sleeping area was also quite large and tastefully decorated. The vanity area was huge and allowed for us to spread out our belongings. There was plenty of hot water each evening and out of 4 hotels on our 2 week trip it is the place I got the best night's sleep. The location could not have been better and was covenient to the Rapid City Airport, Mount Rushmore, Custer State Park and the Badlands. I even felt safe enough to go jogging along the main area one morning. If you are looking for an excellent base camp I would highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pab34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Stayed here prior to the Sturgis Rally. Super location for all the Black Hills attractions. Staff was super helpful and concerned. Did not eat at the restaruant, but had take out from it. Food was decent, nothing fancy. The coffee 7 cheesecake bar was utilized several times during our stay. The lobby PC for internet is a laptop in the corner. It was adequate for our use. Housekeeping went above and beyond to keep our room clean with fresh towels every day. Did not use the pool. Laundry is same as any other place.
Will go back next year.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor if possible.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bikewrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Large rooms. We had a suite with kitchen, sofabed and 2 double beds. Very clean, quiet environment. Interior and small exterior swimming pool.
Above all, very good location to visit the area: close the the centre of Hill City, to Mount Rushmore and Keystone, to Custer State Park and 1 1/2 hour driving for the Badlands NP.
Avoid the breakfast (not included).

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We did not know about this area but finally decided to stay in Hill City while visiting the area. The things we planned to see in our two days were close by. The Best Western was very nice. We had refrigerator, microwave and table in our nice room. Beds were very comfortable. The one drawback was they do not include breakfast which they were the only place on our 16 day trip that did not have breakfast. They have a restaurant that is nice but it seemed that our wait for food was too long and they were understaffed.
The food we did eat there was very good and the personnel were very accommodating.
Our 2nd and last night in Hill City we found where everyone was eating. The Alpine Cafe. We had to wait an hour to get in but it is a very nice, very reasonable place to enjoy a steak. We understood the hour wait after we ate, and also we did not show up until 7pm so our fault for the timing. We drove to Keystone and also Custer City and we all decided we definitely made the right choice in Hill City . And the Best Western was a good choice.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valleygirl20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews