We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay in a suite” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Hill City
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, Nebraska, Usa
1 review
“Great Stay in a suite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

Overall very pleased with stay. Hot breakfast buffet a little crowded at times. Would help to pull buffet out so line could form on 2 sides. Meal offered nice variety. Suite has bifold door for minimal privacy from living room. Sofa bed fair for comfort. Problem when doors shut the LR had no a/c. Strongly suggest ceiling fans be installed in LRs for circulation. Pool & hot tub nice. Enjoyed having microwave & small frig in space. Parking adequate.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 23 June 2013
Thank you for taking time to share your thoughts about the Best Western Golden Spike. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in the suite, as well as the other ammenities. We would also like to thank you for your suggestions. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    338
    233
    72
    15
    20
See reviews for
320
235
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lithia, Florida
Level Contributor
99 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

Loved the breakfast, plenty of food and hot as well, we did not like the syrup, or what appeared to be instant or reconstituted eggs, or the watery gravy for the biscuits, was tasteless, but the crumb cake was great and the price was great! Thanks for a great value!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bobjohnson2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 23 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete this survery regarding your stay at the Best Western Golden Spike. We are glad that you enjoyed the breakfast, as well as your stay here. We also would like to thank you for your suggestions, as we are always looking to improve. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

My husband and I are traveling across country for 8 weeks with our dog. This BW was dog friendly. It is not in town but it is a short drive. It is ideally situated between Mt Rushmore and the Crazy Horse Monument. The rooms are a nice size with a microwave and fridge. The grounds are immaculate. The breakfast was very good. Hill City is a nice quiet town with a number of things to see and do. If you are looking for a city with lots of tourists and tacky souvenir shops stay in Keystone.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sherlock621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to fill out this survey regarding your stay at the Best Western Golden Spike. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel as well as the surrounding area. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasson, Minnesota
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights on the way home from Yellowstone. Hotel room was very clean and mostly updated. Room was a good size and had all of the ameneties. The breakfast was good and we loved having laundry facilities right downstairs from our room. This hotel was easy to find and Hill City is very close to the Black Hills. Great family hotel. Did not have time to visit the pool but it looked decent.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyCamper444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Best Western Golden Spike. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast and laundry facilities on property. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Ridge, Tennessee
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

Frequent BW user.
Stayed at Hill City 6/4/13 room 215 stunk of chemicals, apparently was cleaned and then closed up, or old dirty carpet, not sure of the source. OPened window at 5P and at 9 smell was still there till 2A when the cold air flooded the room and blew the odors out.

Dirty bath towel, looked as if someone wiped their crotch with it and folded it back up. They looked used, wrinkled, folded unevenly so i checked them over before use.

Carpet in room NASTY., sticky. Breakfast bar looked about the same as other BWs but food was awful, tasteless, most of it went in the trash.

Nice touch to have the run down trailer park out the window, noisy till 10P

shallow apology at checkout. Never again.

Great location, lousy hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 22 June 2013
Wow! I am shocked by your impression of our motel. The Golden Spike prides itself on cleanliness. In fact, we are a 3 diamond AAA property and we are in the top 20% of all Best Westerns with our quality assurance scores. I also am surprised that you did not enjoy our breakfast since we provide a free hot deluxe breakfast which includes: scrambled eggs, sausage or ham, biscuits and gravy, oatmeal, french toast sticks or rosemary potatoes, yogurt, waffles, cereal, toast, muffins, and two different types of fresh fruit.Our goal is to provide a comfortable, clean and enjoyable accommodation for our guests during their stay in the Black Hills. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013 via mobile

Clean, quiet, friendly place to stay! David at the front desk was very helpful! Would recommend to all friends and family heading to the Hills to stay at this Best Western! Central location for all sights!

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 9 June 2013
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Best Western Golden Spike. Thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013 via mobile

We are on a 3 week road trip and this Best Western has been the best place we have stayed. It is centrally located in the black hills and within walking distance to town. The rooms are clean, big, and very comfortable beds. We are traveling with our small dog and there is a nice grassy dog exercise area. There is also a nice deck off the breakfast room with tables and chairs so we could enjoy breakfast outdoors with our dog beside us. Speaking of the breakfast, they do an excellent job. They have either ham or sausage everyday, eggs, and either hash browns or biscuits and gravy along with all the cold breakfasts choices. The hotel staff is very friendly. There is a restaurant on site and also a small coffe shop that has ice cream. I wish I lived closer to visit this area more often and stay here.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lvrile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 8 June 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to complete the survey about your stay at the Best Western Golden Spike. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel as well as the amenities provided. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hill City
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
2.7 mi away
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 12 in Hill City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 12 in Hill City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
7.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone
2.7 mi away
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
#11 of 12 in Hill City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites
Address: 601 E Main Street, P.O. Box 555, Hill City, SD 57745
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hill City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hill City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Golden Spike Hotel Hill City
Best Western Golden Spike Inn And Suites
Best Western Hill City
Hill City Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing