We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best breakfast ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Hill City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed two nights while we were visiting all the wonders of the Black Hills. The room was a standard room but was quiet, clean and we could open the window to let cool air in whole we,slept. There is a cute little shop in the hotel lobby, Jackets and Jewels, and we couldn't resist a few very reasonably priced purchases.

But the best part of our stay was the staff; everyone was helpful, friendly and accommodating...made our stay! Breakfast was great....waffles, eggs, sausage or bacon, fresh fruit, oatmeal etc. with real dishes and silverware. A night later we stayed at another Best Western in Wyoming...breakfast was limited and served on paper plates with plastic silverware.

If you like red wine, try the "Avalon" sold at the restaurant for $14...a great buy! Our only complaint was that the pillows were way too high and firm and flatter pillows were not available.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jage44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
April M, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us, taking full advantage of some of the amenities that we have to offer. Thank you for writing us this nice review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (806)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

590 - 596 of 806 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We loved this motel, their restaurant was very reasonably priced and great food. Complimentry breakfast was great, hot tub and pool wonderful. We thought the beds were very very hard and uncomfortable for us but the overall motel was so great, we overlooked the bed! Had a nice boutique in lobby as well as ice cream and pies. It was very enjoyable!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
April M, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

We are sorry to hear that the beds were not quite up to your standards. Most of the mattresses were replaced last year and we have the rest scheduled for this winter. We do hope you'll visit us again and give us another chance to give you that restful nights sleep. Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I don't think we could have picked a more convenient location for our trip to the Black Hills. Hill City has a nice little downtown, multiple restaurants, and several nearby wineries. The hotel itself is nicer than average in the area. We stayed in the new building (I requested a pet free room due to allergy issues). The hotel was clean, rooms had updated washable duvet cover bedspreads, and flat screen TVs. Nothing fancy (3 star by city standards), but I thought the fridge and microwave was a nice touch. The AC was loud and seemed to stay on all night, but we didn't pursue this with management. The pool area was large, much moreso than other hotels we considered. We used the small outdoor pool once, also clean with several lounge chairs. Breakfast was both the best and the worst part. The variety was great- loved the coffee cake, the make-your-own waffles, and the varied hot meat entrees (bacon, ham, sausage). The eggs however were atrocious. I suspect they were powdered. The fruit items (grapefruit, melons, oranges) were coated in a syrup that had a chemical aftertaste- also inedible. Lines do form around 8AM, but in general there were enough tables and the staff was working hard to keep food plentiful. The only complaint I heard about the older building (with motel style rooms) is that some tourists smoke outside their room entrances, so the smoke odor can drift into other rooms. The front desk workers were typically friendly, but similar to at other summer destinations, some were international help who were not very familiar with the area. They could answer only basic questions (e.g. how to get to Custer, but not which routes to take to maximize the park experience). Nonetheless, there are plenty of tourist offices for that. I would stay here again. We did not expect a luxury experience and I think compared with most hotels in the area, this one felt very hospitable and reasonably up to date.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MNBBadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
April M, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your thoughts on the hotel. Our staff works hard to try and meet every need and demand of our guests. We are currently looking into alternatives to some items on our breakfast menu and would love to see you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

It was very nice. The room was very clean whick i like. We met some very nice people. The food in the dining area was good. We did meet someone with the same last name. When we went to Mount Rushmore and Crazy Horse Mtn and other places we ran into alot of people that were staying in the same hotel as we were.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Carl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
April M, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

What are the odds of possibly finding long lost family from the same area as you, while you're across the country? We loved getting to discuss the possibilities with us, and hope you'll keep us informed of these developments on your next trip through the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

When you stay at Best Western, you take a chance. None IMHO none are very, very good and none are really, really bad. I would rate the Best Western Golden Spike Inn as being in the middle, nob but not good. It is one of those BW's that has been renewed many times and shows it. The rooms were shabby and not really clean. The free breakfast left a lot to be desired and when the use fake eggs for their scrambled eggs, the quality goes down in my opinion.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hawkeye1736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
April M, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. On behalf of our entire staff, we would like to apologize for not meeting your expectations. We hope you'll give us another chance in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Homewood Suites prior to staying here. Price for a suite and just a room at this Best Western were the same. In comparison, Homewood is so much nicer, but they were nice to upgrade us to a suite when I complained of too much noise from people next door. The suite was very nice. We were very pleased with it and appreciate them doing this. A night light would be a nice addition, very dark room.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
April M, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. While I have never stayed at the Homewood estates (we don't venture into Hilton Hotels often), it sounds like a fine location. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

EXCELLENT!! Wonderful staff!! Helped us be able to stay 2 more nights. This motel is a great base for all Black Hills attractions. The best breakfast of ANY motel we have ever stayed in. Extremely clean facility. The hot tub and pool were well maintained. For a near fully booked motel while we ere the the staff remained pleasant and very helpful

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Fran O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
April M, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

We are very lucky to have such wonderful staff that enjoys our guests as much as our owners do. From your wonderful personalities to all the thrilling discoveries that are made in the area, we love hearing our guests' stories. Thank you so much for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hill City
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 12 in Hill City
118 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 12 in Hill City
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
2.7 mi away
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
#11 of 12 in Hill City
191 reviews
7.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt Rushmore / Keystone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites

Address: 601 Main St, P.O. Box 555, Hill City, SD 57745-2002
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hill City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hill City
Price Range: £67 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Golden Spike Inn And Suites
Best Western Golden Spike Hotel Hill City
Best Western Hill City
Hill City Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing