We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay for People with Pets”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Hill City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Everything from checking in to checking out was fast and easy. The staff were overwhelmingly pleasant, attentive and knowledgeable. The accommodations for a pet-friendly room exceeded our expectations and the pet walk area was a nice addition. We were also able to eat on the patio with our furry family members which made it a lot easier. The food for both breakfast and dinner was very good and tasty and it was a very good location for most of the surrounding attractions. I would definitely go back....thanks!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Christina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe W, General Manager at Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay. It is wonderful to hear that the staff was helpful and accommodating for you. We are glad that you enjoyed the pet area as well as the restaurant. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (811)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

565 - 571 of 811 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

Nice hotel, centrally located for the major South Dakota attractions. Hill City is a cute little town, so quiet and peaceful. The staff, especially David, was so helpful and pleasant to work with. In today's environment, his professionalism and attention to customer needs are a breath of fresh air. The complimentary breakfast was wonderful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank c j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe W, General Manager at Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for providing feedback regarding your recent stay at the Best Western Golden Spike. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the central location. David is a wonderful employee and it is great to hear that he was helpful to you. Please come and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed 7 nights and this was a very clean and well maintained hotel centrally located to all Black Hills attractions. It had a good restaurant attached to the hotel and the complimentary breakfast was fantastic. The staff was courteous and helpful. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank F4863UZroberth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe W, General Manager at Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for sharing your thoughts regarding your recent stay at the Best Western Golden Spike. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the restaurant and complimentary breakfast. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We just got back from our stay at the golden spike. The property was clean and well maintained. The first room they gave us had entry through the main lobby. We asked for an outside entry room and they accommodated us with no hesitation. The room had a microwave and small fridge it was spotless. They offer an excellent free breakfast that has a lot of variety. We also at the restaurant for dinner. The prices are reasonable and the food was good. I had a Rubin sandwich and my wife had ribs. The staff was very friendly and helpful. One last thing the property is pet friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe W, General Manager at Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay at the Best Western Golden Spike. We appreciate your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the restaurant as well as the complimentary breakfast. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Location was great for all they attractions. Staff was friendly and smiled. Took a vacation from NY to CA was on the road for 19 nights and would rate this Best Western as excellent in every way. Would stay here again and again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Annie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe W, General Manager at Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the central location and the friendly staff. We appreciate your kind comments and hope that you will come and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed in Hill City as our "base" for the Memorial Day weekend and were surprised it was so quiet, considering the hotel was full on Sunday evening. Even full, the hallways were quiet, we had no problems with checking in or getting breakfast the next morning. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Sandy And Gary Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe W, General Manager at Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Best Western Golden Spike in Hill City, SD. We use your feedback to continue to improve and provide the best possible experience for our guests. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Please come and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The stay was very nice but the menu was very limited. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Soda machines didnt work for price advertised which was 1.50 for a canned soda which is way to expensive.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snoopyinwyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe W, General Manager at Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for providing feedback regarding your recent stay. We strive to provide a positive experience for all guests. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the breakfast. Please come and stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hill City
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 12 in Hill City
119 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 12 in Hill City
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
2.7 mi away
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
#11 of 12 in Hill City
191 reviews
7.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt Rushmore / Keystone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites

Address: 601 Main St, P.O. Box 555, Hill City, SD 57745-2002
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hill City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hill City
Price Range: £67 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Golden Spike Inn And Suites
Best Western Golden Spike Hotel Hill City
Best Western Hill City
Hill City Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing