We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in the heart of the Black Hills”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Hill City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Stayed here for two nights while visiting the local attractions. Clean, tidy and sizeable family room with the added bonus of indoor and outdoors pools plus a jacuzzi inside. Just a short walk to the charming town of Hill City and to the 1880 Railroad to Keystone. They had problems with Wi-Fi while we were there but I think this was due to a technical fault beyond their control. If you stay in Hill City don't miss Mount Rushmore & Bear Country (just a few miles away on the way to Rapid City).

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank jasowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe W, General Manager at Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Best Western Golden Spike during your vacation. We appreciate your business and take your comments very seriously. We were having a technical difficulty with the WIFI during your stay and we greatly appreciate your patience and understanding. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the rest of your stay as well as Hill City. Please come and stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (823)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

536 - 542 of 823 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014

Accommodations were great. Bed and pillows were very comfortable. I have trouble sleeping while away from home, not here. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Food is okay an comparable to all free breakfast buffets included with accommodations.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Lynn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe W, General Manager at Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay with us. We value your feedback and use it to continually improve the Best Western Golden Spike. It is wonderful to hear that you got a good night sleep and enjoyed the accommodations. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We styaed here for one night on our trip to Mt Rushmore. This hotel has a newer section and an older section. We got the older section. The room had an aroma which wasn't bad, but reminded me of the room smells when I was traveling with my parents in the 60's. The bed room was clean and comfortable. We had a refrigerator and microwave. The internet was good. They have an indoor and an outdoor pool. We had an upstairs room but there were no elevators. We are on a two week roadtrip, so we ahd to lug everything up a flight of stairs. Not horrible, but an elevator would have been more convienient. The service from all of the employees was friendly, effecient and helpful. The restaurant is open for lunch adn dinner. The food was average, not bad, basic food. The free breakfast buffet was typical Best Western fare. Some hot items, some cold items and bad coffee. the presentation was nice and there were a couple of emplyoees hovering around making sure that everything was filled up and cleaning tables. They also have a coffee bar there with typical "Starbucks" types of itiems. That seemed to be popular. They do sell beer and wine on the premiss ant very reasonable prices too. We would most likely stay here again if we ever visit the area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe W, General Manager at Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for providing feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We appreciate your comments and use them to improve the hotel. I apologize for the smell in your room, we will certainly look into this issue. It is good to hear that you enjoyed the other amenities at the hotel. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Chose this location because of proximity to Mt. Rushmore and price. The hotel is very nice looking and our room was clean and bright. Breakfast was fresh and plentiful selection of the usual free breakfast items. The staff kept it stocked and the dining room was full but we never had to wait. The King Bed was comfy and great pillows. TV and internet were fully functional and we experienced no issues. The hotel is a short walk to downtown Hill City if you prefer to get out and about. We highly recommend the Alpine Inn for dinner but bring cash - no cards accepted.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe W, General Manager at Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Best Western Golden Spike during your vacation in the Black Hills. We appreciate your comments. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay as well as the amenities of the hotel. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Confidently located. Stayed in a suite which, although clean, was way over-priced! We arrived late and ended up eating at the restaurant at the hotel. It was good and service was fast and efficient. Breakfast was good.

Room Tip: Bldg A, accessible room, lower level suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GrandmaLinda32080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe W, General Manager at Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay at the Best Western Golden Spike. We appreciate your feedback and use it to continually improve. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the restaurant. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We had a wonderful 7 night stay at this hotel! It's nice to have an indoor and outdoor pool for the different weather. They have a good breakfast that's included, a little different selection each day would be nice, but hey, it's free so not that big of a deal. David from the front desk went out of his way several times to help us -- he's a big asset to the hotel. Overall a very pleasant stay at a nice hotel that has a great location in the Black Hills. We will be back for sure!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Wade A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe W, General Manager at Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for providing feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We value your opinion and use it to continually improve. David is a wonderful employee and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed meeting him. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Spent the night here while finally visiting Mount Rushmore. Perfect location. Close to downtown activities, yet not immediately in all the hustle and bustle. Quick 15 minute drive to Mount Rushmore. Staff was friendly and helpful. Room was spacious and clean. Breakfast was nice. Restaurant and gift shop on- site.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SrGrammyLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe W, General Manager at Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay with us. We are glad that you found our hotel to be a convenient location for your vacation in the Black Hills. We value your feedback and appreciate your business. Please come and stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hill City
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 12 in Hill City
128 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 12 in Hill City
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
7.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt Rushmore / Keystone
2.7 mi away
Mount Rushmore Lodge at Palmer Gulch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites

Address: 601 Main St, P.O. Box 555, Hill City, SD 57745-2002
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hill City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hill City
Price Range: £62 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Golden Spike Inn And Suites
Best Western Golden Spike Hotel Hill City
Best Western Hill City
Hill City Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing