We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, clean, great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Hill City
Certificate of Excellence
Mammoth Lakes, California
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great location, clean, great staff”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed in the Golden Spike for the Sturgis/Black Hills rally.

Good points: Love Hill City, great jumping off location for all the rally & Black Hills attractions.

The house is well maintained and clean. They even provided cleaning rags and stations for (heaven forbid), dirty bikes.

Great staff. Had an important UPS overnight delivery which was handled well by Logan at the front desk.
An issue with the Bill was handled efficiently and promptly.

Breakfasts are hot and tasty, the dinner menu in the house restaurant is fairly generic.

The only problem I had was a whining compressor in the fridge. Hit the off button to solve said problem.

Would definitely return.

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank gary w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe W, General Manager at Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during the Sturgis Motorcycle Rally. We appreciate you business and are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We strive to make your stay as comfortable as possible and it is great to hear that you found the hotel to be a clean and convenient place to stay. Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again next year for the 75th.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    375
    250
    80
    21
    22
See reviews for
360
256
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I was at the Golden Spike during the Sturgis rally. The hotel was amazingly quiet considering all of the motorcycles that were there for the event. I would recommend this hotel to anyone planning to visit the Hill City area. The employees were very helpful, polite, and professional.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank gregd36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe W, General Manager at Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for providing feedback regarding your recent stay with us. It is wonderful to hear that you found the hotel to be a quiet, comfortable place to stay. Thank you for your comments regarding the staff a the Best Western Golden Spike. It is great to hear that they were helpful and accommodation during your stay. Please come and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsborough, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We were impressed when we arrived at the hotel property. The large log cabin-like front structure was beautiful! The room was comfortable and clean with a few nice amenities, loved the granite counter-top. We would stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Deborah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe W, General Manager at Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your thoughts regarding your recent stay. We appreciate the feedback as it helps us to continue to improve. It is great to hear that you found the hotel to be a comfortable, clean place to stay on your vacation. Please come and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rivers, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The suite we stayed in was a room with the beds separated from a kitchenette by bi-fold doors. It has the bathroom sink in the sleeping area and the toliet and tub are the only things behind the restroom door. I never understand why hotels anticipate 4 people in a room and provide only one towel bar to hang up towels and one small hook in the bathroom. The louvered bi-fold doors do not stop sound from transferring from the bed area but at least reduce the light. It does stop the air however so if you leave those doors shut for a long time the kitchenette gets quite warm. It worked for us and we stayed a week.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Sharlette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe W, General Manager at Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your thoughts regarding your recent stay at the Best Western Golden Spike. We appreciate your feedback, as it helps us to continually improve the hotel. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This is our second time staying at this hotel, and when we come back, we will stay here again. We stay in Bldg A in a King suite. The rooms are very spacious and clean, and the bed is extremely comfortable. The bathroom area is huge with a double vanity located outside the shower/tub/toilet area. Also, there is a full size closet. My sons slept on the sofa bed with no complaints. My kids thought the pool was too cold to even swim in though. All of the kids seemed to think so since all of them wanted to sit in the hot tub instead. The breakfast was good and there was plenty of seating.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ritzglitz99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe W, General Manager at Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for providing feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We appreciate your continued business and are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your note regarding the pool temperature, we are looking into this issue. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshkosh
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

I read all the TA reviews on this place before booking for 4 nights in a recent Black Hills trip. I recognized the price was high (we paid $160-$180/night) but as TA reviews said, the location, the amenities and the full breakfast were outstanding. We were able to upgrade to a kitchen suite that really enhanced our stay, and made our visits with friends from CO a real treat. The pools were great and the staff were amazing. I still remember when one of the staff held a door open for me as I came out one morning- it's those little touches that make the impact. Great hotel- well worth the $. Kudos to the management- they are clearly training their staff well. One word of advice- as for the building A (newer) and a first floor room- makes a huge difference moving in/out. Also- get to breakfast early- a little congested at times. Wish they could consider a new food line the breakfast- it seems a bit chaotic. All in all however- we would highly recommend.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank PackAttack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe W, General Manager at Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us during your recent vacation in the Black Hills. We appreciate your business and are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We've come to this area for the third year in a row. Each year we've decided to stay here in Hill City. The location is very central within the Black Hills and we really enjoy it here serving as our overnight base. It is a very comfortable and pleasant hotel. There isn't anything that we did not like about it.

Room Tip: We liked the Jacuzzi room, King Bed right beside the pool. There was no noise staying that close to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Troy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe W, General Manager at Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for providing feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We appreciate your business and are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Please come and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hill City
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 12 in Hill City
95 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 12 in Hill City
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
7.8 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
7.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt Rushmore / Keystone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
Address: 601 Main St, P.O. Box 555, Hill City, SD 57745-2002
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hill City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hill City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Golden Spike Inn And Suites
Best Western Golden Spike Hotel Hill City
Best Western Hill City
Hill City Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing