We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Hill City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2014

If you are visiting the Black Hills, this is a good choice. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and had two sinks outside the shower/toilet closet - good when traveling with wife and two daughters.

Breakfast was excellent, with a good variety of egg and meat types. Coffee was good.

Two issues. My daughters came back from the indoor pool after 10 minutes because the chlorine was too strong. The wifi was extremely unreliable and my iPad couldn't find it most of the time. Forget about streaming video of any kind, and just logging on to get a weather forecast was spotty. It may be better in a different area, but our first floor, back of the lot rooms were in a bad zone.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Nathan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe W, General Manager at Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Thank you for providing feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am currently looking into both the pool and WIFI issues that you encountered during your stay. It is great to hear that you had a good stay and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (823)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

488 - 494 of 823 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights while on vacation to South Dakota. It was very clean, the bed was wonderful as were the pillows. The staff were absolutely awesome especially in the restaurant although I have to admit we talked to them more then we did the front desk. The pool area was really nice and again very clean, but the hot tub was quite small. They also had a garden area where they had a nice table to sit at for us smokers. The great thing about this hotel is that it seems to be central for many of the attractions for that area including Deadwood, Sturgis, Crazy horse, Mount Rushmore and many others.

Room Tip: I'm sure all rooms will be quite good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe W, General Manager at Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay at the Best Western Golden Spike. We greatly appreciate your business and are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We were very happy with our choice of this location because it was close to all four places we visited for Sight Seeing -- Mt. Rushmore, The Needles Highway, Crazy Horse, Custer State Park and Custer, SD. Great value for the money; Hot breakfast with great variety.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe W, General Manager at Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Thank you for sharing your thoughts regarding your recent stay at the Best Western Golden Spike. It is wonderful to hear that you found Hill City to be a central location for your vacation. It is also great to hear that you enjoyed the full, hot breakfast provided at the hotel. We hope to see you again soon. Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Service was hit or miss at the front desk but mostly good. Housekeeping was very friendly and did a great job cleaning our room. There is only one luggage rack per building which seems limited. Our room was quiet; we were on the third floor so we didn't have people walking/running above us. The pool area is really a nice setting. They have an indoor pool and hot tub with a small outdoor pool just outside the indoor pool area. Our kids complained that the outdoor pool was salty but it was chilly while we were there so we didn't use it much. The setting is very beautiful and a very convenient location for Crazy Horse and Mount Rushmore. The fitness equipment is quite outdated but did operate. Also the fitness center was off of the pool area which seemed to make the room hotter. The standout worst thing about this hotel is the RESTAURANT. Breakfast is tolerable but the staff is constantly hovering over you to replenish dishes...literally every time you are trying to get something there will be a staff anxiously waiting for you to move. Yet none of them seem to wipe tables down as they empty. But the menu for the rest of the day is the WORST food we've had anywhere. McDonald's has this place beat for food if that puts it in perspective. It appears to be all brought in frozen and heated up; no freshly prepared foods. I had reserved a kitchenette in hopes of cooking my own food but it only included a mini fridge, microwave, and sink. There were cupboards but no plates or utensils.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Kathleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe W, General Manager at Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

We greatly appreciate you staying with us during your recent vacation to the Black Hills. We value your feedback. It is great to hear that housekeeping was helpful during your stay. I sincerely apologize that you had a disappointing experience in our restaurant. We are always looking to improve it. Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

This hotel was easy to find and on the main road into the town. It is a good looking structure and was equally nice inside. Our main fun was that they had a Seattle Coffee House station inside so we could get a specialty coffee each evening!

Room Tip: We always get the suite and love having the kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jam597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe W, General Manager at Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Best Western Golden Spike. We appreciate your business and are glad that you enjoyed your stay. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the Seattle's Best Coffee Shop in the lobby. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We stayed at the Best Western in Hill City for 5 days. The hotel was clean and the staff was friendly. We stayed in the newer part of the hotel and we were pleased with it. The breakfast was adequate. We would stay here again.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Carrie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe W, General Manager at Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

We greatly appreciate you staying with us during your recent trip to the Black Hills. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your time and found the hotel to be clean and accommodating. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

This Best Western isn't as nice as the one in Cody, WY (Ivy Inn) but it's clean, they make a enormous breakfast every morning, it's included with your hotel rate. We stayed here for 5 days. The staff are wonderful and polite. My husband and I asked them if we could leave our bikes with them while we headed to Cody,WI for 2 days and then we were to check back in at the Golden Spike INN for another night- they accommodated our request without any hassle. They kept our bikes indoor at our request.

Room Tip: if your staying on the first floor, I must warn you that you will hear people running up and down th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rambow64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe W, General Manager at Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and use it to continually improve the hotel. It is wonderful to hear that you found the Best Western Golden Spike to be accommodating. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hill City
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 12 in Hill City
128 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 12 in Hill City
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
7.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt Rushmore / Keystone
2.7 mi away
Mount Rushmore Lodge at Palmer Gulch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites

Address: 601 Main St, P.O. Box 555, Hill City, SD 57745-2002
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hill City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hill City
Price Range: £62 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Golden Spike Hotel Hill City
Best Western Golden Spike Inn And Suites
Best Western Hill City
Hill City Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing