We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfiest beds we've ever slept in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kadoka
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

We booked with expedia only to find they had no knowledge of our reservation. No problem they found us a room and agreed to the price we had been quoted with expedia. The room was huge and so comfortable we could have stayed several nights. The breakfast was one of the best we'd had at similar priced hotels during our trip in America. Would definitely recommend for anyone visiting the badlands.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Darbo1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary A, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Thank you for taking time to write your review. I am glad you were happy with our breakfast. It is very important to start the day off right with good meal. Hopefully we will be able to accommodate you on your next trip to the Badlands.

Safe Travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2013

Ended up getting "stuck" here on a trip to Rapid City during the 40 inches of snow in early October, 2013. Mary, at the front desk, was very accommodating and super sweet. So glad they had free Wi-Fi while we were stuck and the rooms/beds were clean and actually rather large for an economy motel. They had a desk with a little coffee maker in between our too double beds.
Decent breakfast in the morning too. Definitely recommend this place as a good place to stop if on your way West - especially with family.
Eat at Club 27 steak house - great service and very good steak and salad bar.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sybilsinmaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary A, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review. We were very happy to accommodate you and your friends. We know can be difficult to get "stuck" due to the weather. We just always try to ensure we make the best of the situation. Hopefully next time you are through the area we can have nice weather to be able to enjoy all the natural beauty the badlands has to offer.

Safe travels!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Very clean and friendly and a great value. We come through here every year and until the last two times traveled with children and camped.Beds are very comfortable. Would recommend this place to friends and family

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary A, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking time to write your review. We are glad to be able to accommodate you for a second time. Hope to see you on your next trip through the area.

Safe Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

This motel is better than the outside looks. It was very reasonably priced. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The bathroom was a little small and not much counter space to put things out. The beds were comfortable. The staff were very friendly. The breakfast was just basic. It was easy to get to off I-90. It is just a basic motel but good for a place to sleep while on the road.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jettyann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary A, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking time to write your review. Our housekeeping staff works very hard to ensure we have clean and comfortable rooms. We pride ourselves in having very friendly staff. We are constantly doing upgrades to property and will keep in mind the counter space in bathrooms. Thank you so much for the suggestion.

Safe Travels!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We stayed for 2 weeks as we were working in the area. The owners Matt and Mary were kind, gracious and made us feel right at home.
The rooms aren't fancy but very confortable and clean with cleaning staff that was consistent and dependable.
Definitely would recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JLABurke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary A, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Dear Valued Guest,


Thank you for taking time to write your review. Matt and I were so happy to be able to welcome you and your group. We pride ourselves in having clean rooms and having a great housekeeping staff to ensure consistent and dependable service to rooms. We look forward to seeing you next time you are in the area.

Safe Travels!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

The motel was average in every way except price. Location is the east end of the Badlands loop so it catches all of the Midwesterners who want to start the drive early in the morning.
I have to suggest bypassing this town to stay in Wall, SD and double back. It was so much cheaper and you can stop at Wall Drug early to miss the crowd before you do the Badlands Loop.
Arriving in Kadoka at dusk was like starring in a bad horror film. Pretty much all services besides a gas/convenient mart were shut down (not sure if for the season or lack of business over the years?). A very depressing little town with an over priced motel

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank STLtravel35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary A, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking time to write your review. We are very sorry our small town atmosphere wasn't what you were looking for out here on the prairie. Our small town does offer a variety of services. We have the usual small town offerings such as a grocery store, bank, post office. There is also a couple locally owned diners as well as a club/restaurant that offers bar and grill type atmosphere. All of these things are within a few blocks of our hotel. As for the prices we charge, they are competitive with other motels in the area. We are truly sorry you were dissatisfied with our offerings and hope you might try us again next time thru the area.

Safe Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

The location was perfect if going to the Badlands from the East. The room and bathroom were very clean. It looked like the paint was new. There is a small refrigerator and coffee maker in the room. The bed was comfortable, but the pillows compacted very firm during the night. The walls are paper thin, could easily hear voices next door and someone running a vacuum at 6:15 am. I was glad of the noise app on my phone to drown out neighboring noises allowing me to sleep well. Free wi-fi had a strong connection. There was a six plug outlet next to the bed so plenty of outlets for charging electronics. There is no pool or elevator at this motel. The "hot breakfast" consisted of biscuits and gravy as well as instant oatmeal. Cold offerings were cereal and fresh fruit. I would recommend it for an overnight based on location and room cleanliness.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 59travelmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary A, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking time to write your review. We are glad that everything was up to expectation that allowed you to get a good nights sleep. We are continually working on updating the motel to keep it modern and looking fresh. We hope to see you on your next trip to the Badlands.

Safe Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kadoka
0.3 mi away
Budget Host Sundowner
Budget Host Sundowner
#2 of 6 in Kadoka
68 reviews
23.7 mi away
Badlands Interior Motel and Campground
0.3 mi away
Dakota Inn Kadoka
Dakota Inn Kadoka
#3 of 3 in Kadoka
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 401 South Dakota Hwy, Jct I-90 and Hwy 73, Kadoka, SD 57543
Region: United States > South Dakota > Kadoka
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kadoka
Price Range: £47 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Americas Best Value Inn is centrally located in Kadoka, South Dakota. Our facility offers spacious Guest Rooms. All our Guest Rooms are furnished with High-Speed Internet Access, Cable TV, Complimentary Local Calls, and Wakeup Service. We also provide a fresh Complimentary Continental Breakfast. For business travelers we offer Fax and Copy service. We have a Dining Room which can be converted to a Meeting Room. Our courteous and experienced Front Desk staff is here to assist you 24/7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing