We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Budget Host Sundowner
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Kadoka
Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

This place was a very pleasant surprise! The room was clean, comfortable and even sized for our family of five... They upsized our room with an extra bed. The most important part of any hotel, the bathroom! Sparkly clean! (See pic). We enjoyed our stay there and would stop again on our way through.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drive24x7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2013

Took a 3 day trip with the kids and wanted a hub to crash and close enough to zip in to see sights without being in the middle of the madness. Other than the road construction, it was perfect. Nice staff, clean rooms ( even for my OCD son) and perfect to get into the hills and especially the Badlands.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mr-Bugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013 via mobile

I booked this based in the reviews here and was happy with what I found. Though not a fancy place, it is well-kept and has friendly staff.
They have some family rooms that sleep 5 easily.. A huge plus.

The modest breakfast included bread, bagels, hard boiled eggs, oatmeal, and sugary cereal. I thought it reasonable, though I would have preferred some fruit.

I would stay again when passing through.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelsWith3Kidz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

It is certainly true that you can't judge a book by its cover. If you could you perhaps would not consider staying overnight at the Budget Host Sundowner in Kadoka. The outside of the building is old, the sign is broken, and your first impression is to go on down the road in either direction and find someplace else to stay. Well, if you did you would miss a great buy; inexpensive price and a motel that is well cared for on the inside. Had it not been for the recommendations on Trip Advisor we would have driven right on by, but so may people were so complimentary of what the rooms were like we decided to give it a try.

It turned out to be a great buy; clean neat rooms, well cared for, and a staff that was very helpful. Good choice for an overnight stay. Don't let the book be judged by its cover.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are great. You are facing outside, not inside the building. There is no inside ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DSStephens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krazybrat, Manager at Budget Host Sundowner, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2012

Dear Valued Customer,
I am so pleased that you didn't go down the road and you found your accomodations to be clean and comfortable.The staff and I take great pride in providing you with a clean and comfortable stay.Thank you so much for the compliments.Weather permitting we are making improvements to the outside and are waiting the arrival of our new sign.Again Thank You for staying at our Motel.We hope the rest of your trip is enjoyable!! And if you travel out this way we hope we can accomodate you!!

Best Wishes!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

As we continued our cross country adventure we stopped here. It was very late at night having travelled the entire day. All we wanted was a bed and a shower and to see the Badlands during in the morning. The receptionist was pleasant. The room was clean, plenty of towels, non smoking room on ground floor. Dinner was a challenge as we arrived very late. We did pizza from the gas station across the street which was ok. Breakfast in the morning was mediocre. But, actually, for the price and a great nights sleep it was all good.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adawosdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We could see this hotel from the interstate so we decided this might be a decent place to crash (stay) after a long day of driving (we were heading home from Montana). The desk clerk was personable and friendly. We were assigned a ground floor non-smoking room. Unloading the car was easy as we could park right in front of our room. We found the room to be quite comfortable and clean. The bathroom, while small, was fine for us. Larger customers might have some issues. We didn't watch tv (too tired) and we had no use for the phone. Soon after we settled into our room, very loud sirens sounded. Apparently there is a siren VERY close to the hotel . . . and we're guessing it was summoning a volunteer fire department. Of course the siren is not the fault of the hotel. Overall, a good experience other than the breakfast. The continental breakfast was worthless, and, we hated all the signs taped to the "breakfast room" walls . . .i.e. "don't do this. . .", "don't fill your thermos", etc. (very child-like and unwelcoming). How about "We hope you enjoyed your stay!"?
Note: photos taken by my husband.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank midwestnature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Pulled off the road just east of Badlands- we wanted a shower, quiet clean room, and comfortable bed. Although an older motel, well kept with lots of flowers and even a grassy picnic area (and small pool). It was basic, but just what we needed. ((Note: American Inn, also reviewed was an option we considered- but it was right next to I-90).

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gdonnab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kadoka
0.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
24 mi away
Badlands Interior Motel and Campground
0.1 mi away
Dakota Inn Kadoka
Dakota Inn Kadoka
#3 of 3 in Kadoka
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budget Host Sundowner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Host Sundowner

Address: 510 SD Hwy 73, Kadoka, SD 57543
Region: United States > South Dakota > Kadoka
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Kadoka
Price Range: £23 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Budget Host Sundowner 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Budget Host Sundowner in beautiful Kadoka, South Dakota. Our Inn features 40 well-appointed guest rooms located just minutes from top South Dakota attractions. Come and experience hometown pride and hospitality at its best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Budget Host Sundowner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Host Sundowner Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing