We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unbeatable place to stay on Pine Ridge Reservation”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Odd Duck Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kyle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Odd Duck Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Kyle B&B and Inns
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Unbeatable place to stay on Pine Ridge Reservation”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Came across this inn purely by chance and turned out to be the highlight of our trip to the States. Mark and Tilda could not have been more helpful; arriving late, hot and tired, with no food for the evening, Tilda was a life-saver, driving us into Kyle for shopping before the store closed. Mark was a wealth of information about the area and we spent a couple of fascinating evenings talking together. We were visiting principally to make a pilgrimage to Wounded Knee, but he also suggested many other interesting places to visit as well as how to approach the memorial to gain the most from the experience. The accommodation was spacious, clean and comfortable with all we needed for self-catering. It was extremely good value - far too cheap in fact, so get there soon before the owners see sense and put up the prices!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
5
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mount Kisco, New York
1 review
Reviewed 5 July 2013

I just returned from my stay at the Odd Duck Inn and highly recommend it. As a high school U.S. History teacher I relished the chance to spend time with Mark and Tilda and learned a great deal about the history and culture of Pine Ridge and the Lakota.
Mark helped me plan a number of fascinating day trips around the area and I also spent an incredible day with him, visiting many sites on the reservation. Having him as a guide was particularly enlightening as I experienced many aspects of the region that would have remained unseen had I gone in on my own. Mark and Tilda also shared their extensive knowledge and insights of the Lakota through entertaining stories and conversations in the evening. A talented writer and documentary filmmaker, Mark is a fascinating conversationalist who brings authenticity, passion and great knowledge to discussions.
The accomodations were comfortable and clean and Mark and Tilda bent over backwards to help in any way possible. I recommend the Odd Duck Inn and Mark and Tilda to anyone who is looking for an experience of the region that goes beyond simply visiting the tourist attractions.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
150 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Odd Duck owners Mark and Tilda were put on this earth to make it better. Set in the heart of the Pine Ridge reservation, the Odd Duck Inn is a launching pad for travels through a land rich in history, where the subtleties of its landscape and people come alive through Mark's storytelling. More than anything, what Mark conveys is that the people of the Pine Ridge have lives that are rich in their own ways. Yes, there is poverty and the statistics and history can be overwhelming. But these are the People, this is their home, and we are their guests. If you are open to it, an all-day tour with Mark will open your eyes and change your life. Take a chance!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Odd Duck Inn offers a comfortable stay just outside Kyle and owners Mark and Tilda really know how to entertain and educate. The setting is beautiful and the homes are clean, neat, and well cared for. Mark and Tilda can offer years of knowledge about Pine Ridge and the history of the Lakota as well as other Native American tribes. If you're interested in a tour, artwork, photography, or just meeting people, the Odd Duck Inn is the first place to start your journey. No matter what you're looking to do, Mark and Tilda will know where to send you. If you want a quiet and private stay, they offer that as well. The area is very peaceful and easily accessible from Rapid City Airport. I had such a good experience that I plan on going back in the near future.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caleb F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpine, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2012

My wife and I are very fortunate to have found the Odd Duck Inn. Hosts Tilda Long Soldier and Mark St. Pierre made us feel like friends and they have a terrific get away for travelers to stay at. We learned valuable information about the area and the folks of Pine Ridge. You could not get a better narrative on any tour of any place you will visit. The lodging was very comfortable, very restful and very nice. Took a liking to Queenie and the pups or visa versa and we have every intention of returning. The area has a unique beauty and the people have much to be proud of. I am looking forward to reading Tilda's and Mark's writings. We absolutely recommend the Odd Duck Inn and wish the best for the place.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

The Odd Duck Inn has personality. If you want a motel room like every other room you've stayed in, well, this is not the place.

But if you want simple, comfortable accommodations in an amazing landscape, surrounded by amazing people, and hosted by two of the most fascinating characters you'll ever meet, look no further.

Mark and Tilda are warm and kind and passionate about this land and the people. I've brought a group to stay here several times, and we've always been impressed by their kindness and their willingness to share stories and insights with us. They have been so giving, so accommodating, and their collective wisdom is remarkable. This is a chance not just to stay in a very culturally rich part of the world, it's a chance to stay in the company of two people who know it well, who are willing to help you understand it better. Mark is quite a storyteller, and Tilda's warmth and kindess is remarkable. I can't imagine a better way to get to know this part of the world than to stay at the Odd Duck Inn.

The inn itself is simple, but it's charming and comfortable, and it's got a great living area where you can cook a meal and hang out. Parts of it can be a bit funky, but it's tough to run a business in this part of the world, and it's important to remember the context. When I am surrounded by such beauty, such history, such culture, I can easily overlook the fact that the bed might be more comfortable (though the beds are fine!) or other such small matters. Sit back, relax, and look at the big picture. If you do, you'll find that this place is a gem and that you are lucky to be here.

Room Tip: Talk to Mark and Tilda; let them know what you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mancos
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2012

This is a wonderful place, with wonderful people and a unique setting, and I plan to visit again. The owners/operators are unfailingly kind and willing to do anything to help their guests and anyone else. It is clean, neat, a cool refuge in the heat of the Great Plains. It reminds me of little places in Germany and the Netherlands and Belgium where it is as much the people as the accommodations offered that make it enjoyable. I don't know where "Dr S" comes off; I know several other people who have stayed there and none of us found anything like Dr S writes about.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoSoldier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Odd Duck Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Odd Duck Inn

Property: Odd Duck Inn
Address: Box 542, Kyle, SD 57752-0542
Region: United States > South Dakota > Kyle
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kyle
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing