We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I hope to go back there soon!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kyle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lakota Prairie Ranch Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kyle
Reno, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I hope to go back there soon!”
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We stayed in our RV and I didn't use any of the motel facilities, but we were impressed by the welcoming staff. I had a great conversation with the lady (maybe the Manager?) who registered us (as I had with any other resident on the reservation). Visiting Pine Ridge is a great learning experience, if you think of the Indians as fellow Americans and not museum exibits, and this resort is a good place to start.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Location
Helpful?
5 Thank Vincent D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    15
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
7
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hornell, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

I do not know how anyone could be dissatified by hospitality at this indispensable place on the reservation. Viny and Shannon and all the girls provide great, friendly service. The restaurant is also a wonderful setting. I enjoyed 3 weeks there immensely. Across the highway is Oglala Lakota College which is also a great asset for people on the reservation, destined to be a distinquished institution.

Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
6 Thank drjohnohunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

I mean it. Pine Ridge Reservation is a very poor place and this business initiative deserves to be supported. Moreover, it is in a beautiful and haunting area, pristine and rugged. It is also the closest place to Wounded Knee. I got what I expected, a place that is a bit worn, a bit rough, but genuine and honest, at honest prices. The lady at the front desk doubled as waitress both for dinner and breakfast. She seemed indefatigable.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fkolingen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Ok, I say the only place to stay facetiously because it's indeed the only place to stay on the reservation that isn't too far out. ( there's also the Prairie Wind which I'm told is nicer, but more out of the way). I stayed in about 3 different rooms, they were decently clean, had hot water very nice cleaning ladies who were very accommodating, rates seemed go from 49 to 70 ish a night. The AC worked well in every room. Room 49 was especially nice because of a little balcony where you could sit out and look at the stars. The Prairie ranch restaurant is also the Only place to eat "out" I mean aside form Pizza hut and Subway, it's familial and the deep fried pickles are a MUST! Plus you'll see & meet a lot of very fun colorful local characters jus hanging out there. Rusty is the owner and he is SO nice!! His daughters are all lovely too! There is free wifi and it's a decent speed. I've stayed at much nicer hotels as you can see from my reviews in the past, but none have ever had perfect wifi like this one! When in Kyle, don't hesitate! Cheers!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThePerfecti0nist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2011

The hotel was more than i expected it to be but was discouraged by non working shower and not very friendly staff.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roawhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caledonia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2010

We were working on a local church and had this as our only option. We had a broken sleeper sofa and needed it based on the number in our group. Finally, late that evening the staff did change out the sofa sleeper after 4 phone calls and pleading to not having to put my kids on the floor to sleep. After a rough start and an exhausting day of work, it all worked out.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ptsbelias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 February 2010

The first time we stayed we came upon it by accident . The staff was friendly and courteous, the food was excellent. The room was just what we needed. After several days on the road the bed felt like heaven. The room was clean and the towels were soft. There was a TV and a microwave and all the other things we had come to expect from the Best Westerns we had been staying in. The cost was compatable with the other places we stayed.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grannysprouts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Lakota Prairie Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakota Prairie Ranch Resort

Property: Lakota Prairie Ranch Resort
Address: 7958 Lakota Prairie Dr, Pine Ridge Indian Reservation, Kyle, SD 57752-3075
Region: United States > South Dakota > Kyle
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kyle
Number of rooms: 29
Also Known As:
Lakota Prairie Ranch Hotel Kyle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing