We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location is best thing about this place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Spearfish Canyon Lodge
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Lead
Certificate of Excellence
Bethesda, MD
Level Contributor
111 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Location is best thing about this place”
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We stayed at the Spearfish Canyon Lodge for two nights on a recent trip. We picked it because of its location at the head of Spearfish Canyon. The "lodge" is really a motel; the rooms were clean and functional but the place lacked personality. The overall rating of "3" given by other travelers is consistent with our experience. We also ate at the affiliated restaurant across the highway - the Latchstring - and had the worst meal of our trip. I ordered one of their specialties, sauteed Walleye, and it came out dry and tasteless, a bit like eating a soft plastic. The server was absolutely uninterested and her job and complained the entire meal. Our meals were supposed to come with house made biscuits and when we asked where they were she said, "We ran out." and did not offer to substitute any; she finally brought us day-old biscuits.
The next morning we had breakfast there again (the lodge is thirteen miles from Spearfish) and the oatmeal we ordered was good but the coffee was weak. That evening we ate in Spearfish at Roma's - a good, traditional Italian place in Spearfish and the next morning had coffee and a bagel at Common Ground in Spearfish. That is a very good coffee house.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GTfromDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    114
    41
    17
    22
See reviews for
99
197
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belle Fourche
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We drive up to the lodge frequently, alone and with guests to enjoy a cocktail and scenery, but today was our worst experience ever. Almost always we have to find someone (usually they just have one person working to do everything) and today was no different. She (dont know her name) was in the office working, my husband got her attention, she didn't say a word. I said "excuse me" twice and finally she sharply said she would be with me in a few minutes. At the bar, she never smiled or said thank you. No tip for her, and we left.

It's so sad they can't get this lodge trained with some decent staff. It's such a nice place to go, but there is always some issue when we go there. We stayed there for our anniversay last year and that was a disappointment too.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank None424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Good (only) place to stay in the Canyon. Nice staff, clean rooms, dependable year after year.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ortin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suamico, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
187 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We spent two nights here with four of us in the Roosevelt suite. This is a great suite, bed, sofabed, balcony and kitchen. The only problem with the room us that the balcony is above the outdoor pub where people smoke. Naturally the smoke was a problem when people were there. The other issue was we got there thirty minutes early and they would not let us into the room until after three PM.
The trails are great, the views terrific. Loved the canyon!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petersonge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

After reading numerous reviews about this lodge and speaking to a few locals, I still thought there may be a chance things might be different.
My fiancee and I are planning to elope and wanted to book with the lodge. Upon hearing that photography WAS NOT allowed within the lodge ( beautiful lobby area), I didn't want to believe this.
On holidays this August we stopped in, to make our reservations for the fall, and asked about the photography. A female, I believe was the assistant manager, advised it was not allowed. I inquired, "even if we book and stay with you?" She advised this was true. I am saddened. Again I spoke to a local and was informed this hotel requires new owners or management. Many do not speak highly of this place and it is truly unfortunate as it is in one of the most beautiful areas. We will not give them our business. We also checked out the Latchstring restaurant across the road, overpriced, overrated. Many other fine areas of dining if you want steak/seafood in the Black Hills.
I am so thankful for trip advisor, Believe the reviews, guests can never be wrong!

Room Tip: not accomodating, overrated. Believe the negative reviews, guests can't be wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank T N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

I am so sad to write this review. My family and I have stayed here for years. We haven't been here in awhile and were sadly disappointed. First, I do have to say that the room was clean. I do specifically ask that the room be cleaned extra every time I stay anywhere so I don't know if they always are or not. But beyond that it wasn't much. The toilet was a very, very low one. About the size you would find in an elementary school. (I am serious! My 16 year old didn't like it at all.) If you are a bigger person or if it is hard for you to get up, you won't like it. The doors and hallway are very outdated and you can hear everything. Above you and out in the hall. The bathroom door didn't even latch. You can't get cell phone service which is understandable there so if you are a "phonie" I would reconsider. They only have about 13 channels on the TV. All of which are sports or news. We also ate at the Latchstring which used to be wonderful. The food was horrible and I will never eat there again! The service was good, however the servers had dirty aprons, and the tray they used to serve your food had dirty napkins on them. I only hope that someone out there can afford to buy the place and update it. This place needs work! It's beautiful in the canyon. However, I would recommend one of the new lodges in Deadwood and just visit the canyon. I love the outdoors but this place is more for the very earthy, no kids kind of people who don't want too many luxuries! For the price you pay, it's not worth it!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dkrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

On their web site they have a link for online registration. What they don't tell you is it costs $80 more to register online. When I called to ask about this I was told to leave a message for the general manager which I did. Almost a week later I have not heard from her.

Room Tip: Loved our suite. Cannot comment on standard rooms. Internet service was horrible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mrayttsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lead
7.5 mi away
Blackstone Lodge and Suites
8.2 mi away
Town Hall Inn
Town Hall Inn
#1 of 8 in Lead
5.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
11.1 mi away
The Lodge at Deadwood
The Lodge at Deadwood
#6 of 24 in Deadwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
10.1 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
8.0 mi away
Dakota Spur Hotel
Dakota Spur Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spearfish Canyon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spearfish Canyon Lodge

Property: Spearfish Canyon Lodge
Address: 10169 Roughlock Falls Road, Lead, SD 57783
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Lead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Lead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spearfish Canyon Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HRS, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Spearfish Canyon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spearfish Canyon Hotel Lead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing