We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out in the middle of nowhere...a good thing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Spearfish Canyon Lodge
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Lead
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
285 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Out in the middle of nowhere...a good thing!”
Reviewed 2 June 2013

My fiancée and I spent two nights here at the end of May. Despite a driving rainstorm that resulted in us getting in at 1 am, the lady at the front desk was very pleasant...as was all those that worked at SCL. The lobby is beautiful and it's a warm and inviting place to enjoy a free cup of coffee or a cold beer from the bar.

Rooms look to be a little dated but they are certainly comfortable. Only complaint I would have is that the walls are thin, but again, you shouldn't be expecting the 4 seasons out here. Our trip to South Dakota over 5 nights was wonderful and we were more than happy to spend 2 of them here. And at roughly $90 a night, in some of the most scenic country in the USA, it's a bargain.

Room Tip: Just bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    117
    43
    18
    24
See reviews for
108
202
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed here June of 2012 with a Groupon and we were very happy! The room was a bit smaller than I expected for a suite, but it was fine. My biggest complaint was the AC unit didn't work almost the whole time we were there, and the maintenance staff looked at it several times with no adjustments made or apologies or discounts given. Other than that, the hot tub on the deck was nice for some late-night relaxation, wish there was a pool. The restaurant across the street was okay, nothing horrible or amazing. Staff was not very friendly, but I'm not in the morning either. :-) I would definitely stay here again, although it was a little bit of a drive to other Black Hills towns and attractions. Walking trails nearby hotel were great scenic areas with the Spearfish Falls nearby as well.

Room Tip: Be prepared to have no AC based on other reviews I've seen as well as my experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SD_girl_2486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Little Rock, Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We stopped here on our way to Mt Rushmore. It was an elegant hotel, but a bit pricey especially since there was no pool and breakfast was not included. The rooms were nice and there was a restaurant across the street. There was a creek outside and rocking chairs on the porch. We drove up the road and looked at the waterfalls. It was a very pretty area to explore, but we didn't have much time.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013 via mobile

Nice view on the creek from our room, great lobby and overall decor, hot tub on deck was nice, robes were provided, good soap and shampoo in bathroom, nice staff, has bar in hotel, souvenir shop, walking trails, great price for the toom we had, comfy beds, fridge and microwave in room. Airconditioning went out for a while at night but fixed it ourselves.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Union Center, South Dakota
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Have been here quite a few times before. Always try to spend a get-away nite before my critters start calving in March. When my kids visit, I bring them up for snowmobiling. Staff is excellent and that ambience thing is there. Only thing I noticed this time is carpet (although clean and in good shape) is starting to show it's age. Starting to roll in the rooms. Not too many folks there this time of year, which is great. Especially no motorcycles! Nice to be able to walk across the road to the Latch String for eats. One cook and one waitress this time, but it's not crowded ;-) Best to order something fresh for supper like a buffalo burger. Bkfst there is so-so. Think they used to have a buffet at one time in the past, which was great, but no more.

Room Tip: Really, all of them are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bearclaw6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We've stayed in SCL a few times now, and we will probably stay again some day.
It's nestled in a great location in Spearfish Canyon.
We've rented their snowmobiles and snowshoes, and we've eaten in the restaurant across the road numerous times. Note: You'll have to drive to Spearfish or Lead to find any other food.
If you're going in Winter, access to the Black Hills snowmobile trails is only a couple minute sled ride up the hill.
There are only two reasons I can't give it 5 stars:
--As another reviewer wrote, the rooms are clean, but a little "ordinary" for the price
--Don't ask to break the rules and check in early. Just follow all the rules and the front desk will be fine with your visit.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronsfsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Stayed for one night. Staff were extremely friendly and accommodating, and the room was big and comfortable. The location is fantastic and there are trails to explore on foot or skis or snowmobiles in the winter. Highlight is the hexagonal lobby.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoaringBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lead
8.2 mi away
Town Hall Inn
Town Hall Inn
#1 of 8 in Lead
218 reviews
7.5 mi away
Blackstone Lodge and Suites
11.1 mi away
The Lodge at Deadwood
The Lodge at Deadwood
#3 of 24 in Deadwood
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
10.5 mi away
Best Western Black Hills Lodge
8.0 mi away
Dakota Spur Hotel
Dakota Spur Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lead
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spearfish Canyon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spearfish Canyon Lodge

Property: Spearfish Canyon Lodge
Address: 10169 Roughlock Falls Road, Lead, SD 57783
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Lead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Lead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spearfish Canyon Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Spearfish Canyon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spearfish Canyon Hotel Lead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing