We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful location, horrendous service” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spearfish Canyon Lodge

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Spearfish Canyon Lodge
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Lead
Certificate of Excellence
Rock Island, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, horrendous service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

The Spearfish Canyon Lodge is located in beautiful Spearfish Canyon, a location we had never visited before in our trips to South Dakota. We purchased a three night stay through Living Social which include breakfast and dinner. When we arrived, I presented my two vouchers and was told there was a balance of 60.00 for taxes and other things. I took out the first credit card I saw and paid it. The next morning my husband and I went across the street, showed the hostess the coupon the hotel gave us and she seated us. As three other couples were seated, greeted and their orders taken, I finally got up asked who our waitress might be. When she arrived, she seemed not to know our table was in her area. When we went to pay, coupon in hand with the bill, the hostess we just showed the coupon to less than 40 mins earlier ran the bill through, then looked at the coupon and then did not know how to get the sale off the register. Manger has to come out and do it. 45 minutes of sheer frustration for two scrambled eggs and toast. Dinner was not much better. They have complimentary coffee in the lobby, but waited 25 mins. one night as some decided who should make it. Three weeks later, I received my Am Ex bill with a 20.00 charge from Spreafish. When I called to find out what the charge was for, I was told it was because I put the balance (60.00) on a different card than the one I made the purchase with. If someone would have told me, I had my Am Ex with me. I was told the charge would be taken off, but today the statement arrived and no credit. I just called the lodge to speak to the manager or someone who could address this issue and I was told they were both in a meeting, but they would be available in an hour if I want to call back. I have worked with customers for years and this is terrible customer service. One of them should have stepped out of the meeting and address the problem. I would tell you to enjoy the beautiful scenery, but avoid the hotel at all costs. I should have know I was in trouble when both women at the desk were on the phone apologizing to customers

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank julies1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    110
    41
    17
    21
See reviews for
97
190
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

We stayed two nights here on our vacation and enjoyed the lodge very much. My only comment is that having the private deck with views was a major reason we picked this particular room. The views are actually overlooking the Latchstring Inn across the road and the canyon views are not special from this as compared to other rooms. My hopes as I am a photographer to have a private deck to shoot awesome shots from and it was not what I was hoping for.
The room itself and the appointments were wonderful and the service was excellent. Had I not wanted the deck for photography shots I would have been completely happy with the room. The staff was great and for military folks, ask for the discount. We received 10% off for my husband being a veteran. Show the card and get your discount at checkout. :>)

Room Tip: The regular rooms are very nice and the suites are large and nicely appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sdcotton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Charles, Missouri
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

Set in a beautiful canyon through which the Spearfish River flows, the lodge gives the rustic feel of an old-time lodge. Yet, it's comfortable and up-to-date, and the visitor never gets the feeling that they are "roughing it". We arrived at the lodge at 7:00 p.m. after a long day at Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse, and Jewel Cave, and were made to feel right at home by the very warm and helpful staff. The room was nicely appointed, and the great room of the lodge is beautiful and inviting.
We spent two days hiking and exploring in the area - with some time relaxing in the hot tub in between. The restaurant was first-rate, both for breakfast and dinner. I was sad to leave after only two days, and our days there were the high point of our ten-day trip to the Dakotas and Minnesota. Do yourself a favor and spend at least a night or two here - you won't regret it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VT
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

This lodge is impeccably clean, rooms are spacious w/ everything you could need. Large lobby/common room with fire place, many comfortable seats, games to play. A very calm, peaceful atmosphere! Staff are extremely helpful and knowledgable!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SLHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

Spent 2 days here on a Living Social deal. The surrounding area is BEAUTIFUL. The staff is friendly. If you are sight seeing to the area (Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse etc.) it is a LOOOONG drive. The wireless internet access was spotty at best. Cell phone coverage about the same. Despite that, It is a WONDERFUL getaway.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
285 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

My fiancée and I spent two nights here at the end of May. Despite a driving rainstorm that resulted in us getting in at 1 am, the lady at the front desk was very pleasant...as was all those that worked at SCL. The lobby is beautiful and it's a warm and inviting place to enjoy a free cup of coffee or a cold beer from the bar.

Rooms look to be a little dated but they are certainly comfortable. Only complaint I would have is that the walls are thin, but again, you shouldn't be expecting the 4 seasons out here. Our trip to South Dakota over 5 nights was wonderful and we were more than happy to spend 2 of them here. And at roughly $90 a night, in some of the most scenic country in the USA, it's a bargain.

Room Tip: Just bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed here June of 2012 with a Groupon and we were very happy! The room was a bit smaller than I expected for a suite, but it was fine. My biggest complaint was the AC unit didn't work almost the whole time we were there, and the maintenance staff looked at it several times with no adjustments made or apologies or discounts given. Other than that, the hot tub on the deck was nice for some late-night relaxation, wish there was a pool. The restaurant across the street was okay, nothing horrible or amazing. Staff was not very friendly, but I'm not in the morning either. :-) I would definitely stay here again, although it was a little bit of a drive to other Black Hills towns and attractions. Walking trails nearby hotel were great scenic areas with the Spearfish Falls nearby as well.

Room Tip: Be prepared to have no AC based on other reviews I've seen as well as my experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SD_girl_2486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lead
7.5 mi away
Blackstone Lodge and Suites
11.1 mi away
The Lodge at Deadwood
The Lodge at Deadwood
#5 of 24 in Deadwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
8.2 mi away
Town Hall Inn
Town Hall Inn
#1 of 8 in Lead
5.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
10.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
8.0 mi away
Dakota Spur Hotel
Dakota Spur Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spearfish Canyon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spearfish Canyon Lodge

Property: Spearfish Canyon Lodge
Address: 10169 Roughlock Falls Road, Lead, SD 57783
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Lead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Lead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spearfish Canyon Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Spearfish Canyon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spearfish Canyon Hotel Lead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing