We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Spearfish Canyon Lodge
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Lead
Certificate of Excellence
Massillon, Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed at the lodge for 1 night and were wishing we were staying longer! What a beautiful place and the scenery is amazing! The rooms were decorated so nicely and so clean! We walked to the nearby falls which was so pretty. The restaurant across the street was delicious too! The staff was so nice in the lodge and in the restaurant. Such a great place to relax, enjoy the stream and all the surroundings! Definately recommend!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PattyJo324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    113
    41
    17
    22
See reviews for
99
196
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mountain Home, Arkansas
Level Contributor
139 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We stayed here for two nights at the end of July. We enjoyed the scenery, room and hotel across the street. We hiked to the falls and enjoyed watching the American Dippers. The week of Rally, the restaurant changes the menu, which is a little bit disappointing (the rally menu is good, but not as varied). The rooms have a nice, lodge feel to them. The gift shop inside is fun, too.

Room Tip: all rooms looked nice. Avoid Rally, unless you are on a motorcycle!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights and had a fantastic experience. Room was excellent, clean, comfortable bedding, with a fireplace and comfy robes!!!! Restaurant was yummy, yummy, yummy....breakfasts were awesome! Lot's of good choices for dinner and lunch! Great overall lodge with friendly staff and interesting décor...I can't recommend this lodge enough!!!!!

This is the perfect quiet place to get away too!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jumpinoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Beach, New York, USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

Spearfish canyon is a real jewel in the black hills and the spearfish canyon lodge is a great place to take it in. The rooms are comfortable and nicely-appointed. The lobby is spectacular, with a soaring ceiling, huge stone hearth and rustic accents. The hills surrounding the lodge are unforgettable. Be sure to check out the waterfall behind the lodge grounds. Near lead and deadwood. You will not get a phone signal but there is wifi.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita
Level Contributor
72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

I cannot say enough about this lodge! The great room is gorgeous. The rooms were beautiful. We stayed in the Muir Suite. The smell in the room was wonderful! The beds and pillows were extremely comfortable! The room has robes for the hot tub. Which, by the way, it has the most beautiful hot tub area overlooking the walls of the canyon on the second floor of the lodge that I have ever seen. We never missed a night out there!
The restaurant across the street is the only slight disappointment. This was mostly due to slow service, or distracted servers. Their attitudes were pleasant enough, however.
The staff at the Lodge were very accommodating. I would definitely stay again.
My son stayed in the Berry Patch cabin. It is more rustic, but it has an outside grill, a kithchen, and you can sit out on your own deck. However it is off the main road across the street from the lodge which sees some traffic. Still, it was just a short walk for them to come enjoy the hot tub at night. It has two bedrooms, but the doors to each room is not very private, because they are half doors that swing open. I don't think they liked that. It was not as clean as the Lodge suites, the windows, floors, etc. Maybe it is put to harder use by families!

Room Tip: Get a suite. They are fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaggieWichita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billings, Montana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We spent two nights here in May for our 20th anniversary. We mentioned it was our anniversary when we checked in and were upgraded to the Bridal Veil Suite. The suite was amazing. Very well furnished and decorated. Views from the room were gorgeous, including those towards the historic Latchstring restaurant across the road. Staff were all very personable also. The lodge was hosting a wedding but there was never excessive noise. Very well run organization. We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bunnarabbit66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Jay, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

My husband and I stayed one night on our way to Yellowstone, and we were glad we did! Beautiful lodge, incredible scenery, and plenty of parking for our SUV and trailer. Our room was clean and comfortable with a view of a lovely trout filled stream. On the bed, a stuffed bear and some big fluffy robes awaited us (both of which can be purchased in the gift shop, so the card said.) There is a small bar in the lodge, but I did not see anyone working at it during the few minutes we were checking in. There are two maybe 6 person hot tubs on an outside balcony. It was very nice slipping into our suits and grabbing those fluffy robes to go soak in the tub with a cold beverage. They seemed clean, and we saw a maintenance man cleaning them in the morning. Just behind the lodge is an easy 3/4 mile trail that leads up to Roughlock Falls. Beautiful. The restaurant is just across the street, and you can charge your meals to your room. We had a Friday Night Special email coupon, and so received the room and two breakfasts of our choice (I had blackened trout and eggs! Yum!) for $158 including tax. I would definitely go back. I think this would also be an excellent choice for bike week, though I'm sure the rates are much higher.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brandy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lead
7.5 mi away
Blackstone Lodge and Suites
8.2 mi away
Town Hall Inn
Town Hall Inn
#1 of 8 in Lead
5.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
11.1 mi away
The Lodge at Deadwood
The Lodge at Deadwood
#6 of 24 in Deadwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
10.1 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
8.0 mi away
Dakota Spur Hotel
Dakota Spur Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spearfish Canyon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spearfish Canyon Lodge

Property: Spearfish Canyon Lodge
Address: 10169 Roughlock Falls Road, Lead, SD 57783
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Lead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Lead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spearfish Canyon Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HRS, getaroom.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Spearfish Canyon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spearfish Canyon Hotel Lead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing