We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and location for an OK hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Spearfish Canyon Lodge
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Lead
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2014

The good: friendly people, location, views from the room, beautiful lobby, pet friendly, comfortable beds
the bad: lack of amenities, dated hotel, not the cleanest, knowledge of staff is hit or miss, overpriced, the only available restaurant is not great and also overpriced

Overall we concluded we would not stay here again. It's not worth the cost although our experience wasn't horrible. We could stay at the Days Inn for half the price and the same room. You have to really be intent on staying in the canyon for this to be worth it.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Allison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (431)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

288 - 294 of 431 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Custer Suite for one night -- what a beautiful property! The lobby has an abundance of seating in front of a gorgeous fireplace; the lobby and the hallways both are lined with beautiful pictures and paintings of South Dakota scenes. The Custer Suite also had an electric fireplace right there in the room, a beyond comfortable bed, and large bathroom. The view of Spearfish Canyon is unmatched, as you can see the scenery right out the bedroom window. Though it was winter, the roads were well-plowed.

Room Tip: For a quieter stay, ask to be away from the laundry room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ASmithers13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLinda, Manager at Spearfish Canyon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2013

Thank you for your review! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the Custer Suite. I also appreciate your tip about the laundry room creating some noise inn that area and we will be taking steps to avoid that in the future. Again, thank you so much and we look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Nice hotel in a beautiful canyon. The rooms were nice and in keeping with the rustic decor and setting. My only complaint was not enough light to read by. All the staff were very friendly. No cell service but free wifi. Nice Hikes in the surrounding area.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Carolyn91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

This lodge was built in 1995 and has all the modern conveniences including free wifi, which is good since there is no cell service. The lodge and adjacent restaurant are beautiful, rooms are comfortable with nice beds, free coffee, in room and in lobby. The staff is very friendly, the wait staff at the restaurant was excellent, especially Danielle.
The location is great, with server all excellent trails, plus many non established trails to explore. I would recommend at least to nights to properly enjoy the surroundings, more nights would be even better.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank CKTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed at the lodge for 1 night and were wishing we were staying longer! What a beautiful place and the scenery is amazing! The rooms were decorated so nicely and so clean! We walked to the nearby falls which was so pretty. The restaurant across the street was delicious too! The staff was so nice in the lodge and in the restaurant. Such a great place to relax, enjoy the stream and all the surroundings! Definately recommend!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PattyJo324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We stayed here for two nights at the end of July. We enjoyed the scenery, room and hotel across the street. We hiked to the falls and enjoyed watching the American Dippers. The week of Rally, the restaurant changes the menu, which is a little bit disappointing (the rally menu is good, but not as varied). The rooms have a nice, lodge feel to them. The gift shop inside is fun, too.

Room Tip: all rooms looked nice. Avoid Rally, unless you are on a motorcycle!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights and had a fantastic experience. Room was excellent, clean, comfortable bedding, with a fireplace and comfy robes!!!! Restaurant was yummy, yummy, yummy....breakfasts were awesome! Lot's of good choices for dinner and lunch! Great overall lodge with friendly staff and interesting décor...I can't recommend this lodge enough!!!!!

This is the perfect quiet place to get away too!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jumpinoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lead
8.2 mi away
Town Hall Inn
Town Hall Inn
#1 of 8 in Lead
226 reviews
10.1 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
11.1 mi away
The Lodge at Deadwood
The Lodge at Deadwood
#3 of 25 in Deadwood
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Best Western Black Hills Lodge
7.5 mi away
Blackstone Lodge and Suites
10.7 mi away
Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spearfish Canyon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spearfish Canyon Lodge

Address: 10169 Roughlock Falls Road, Lead, SD 57783
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Lead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Lead
Price Range: £55 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spearfish Canyon Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Spearfish Canyon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spearfish Canyon Hotel Lead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing