We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Spearfish Canyon Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Town Hall Inn(Lead)(Great Value!)
US$154
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ponderosa Pines(Lead)(Great Value!)
US$124
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blackstone Lodge and Suites(Lead)(Great Value!)
US$86
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dakota Spur Hotel(Lead)(Great Value!)
US$84
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$32
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (448)
Filter reviews
448 results
Traveller rating
228
128
47
20
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
228
128
47
20
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsacross the streetspearfish canyonhiking trailsbeautiful locationblack hillsgreat roomnext morninggift shopstuffed bearno cell phone serviceroosevelt suitestandard roombridal veil fallsstaff was very friendlyno elevatorhuge fireplacebreakfast and dinner
Filter
Updating list...
302 - 307 of 448 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

4 years in a row we have stayed at the Lodge for a Marriage Retreat sponsored by our church. We have never been disappointed! The rooms are very clean and beautifully decorated. The front desk staff are polite and well-trained. The gift shop is phenomenal! The Latchstring Restaurant has exceptional food, every dish tastes great! The restaurant manager, Jamie, is world class!! The Lodge will not disappoint! Do yourself a favor...reserve a room soon!!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank barrytanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

If you want a weekend get away to snowmobile couldn't ask for a better place. The lodge was nice and very friendly, helpful staff. We rented snowmobiles and the staff there were awesome and patient with us. The restaurants food, wow, can't say enough about it. It was delicious and the amount on the plate was very generous, definitely worth the price. For a two night stay and a one day snowmobile rental for two sleds, plus what we ate and drank couldn't ask for a more reasonable price. No cell service what so ever. Which sometimes wasn't a bad thing. Just used the hotel phone to check on the kids at home. Definitely will go again and take family along.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Arleen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

The good: friendly people, location, views from the room, beautiful lobby, pet friendly, comfortable beds
the bad: lack of amenities, dated hotel, not the cleanest, knowledge of staff is hit or miss, overpriced, the only available restaurant is not great and also overpriced

Overall we concluded we would not stay here again. It's not worth the cost although our experience wasn't horrible. We could stay at the Days Inn for half the price and the same room. You have to really be intent on staying in the canyon for this to be worth it.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Allison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Custer Suite for one night -- what a beautiful property! The lobby has an abundance of seating in front of a gorgeous fireplace; the lobby and the hallways both are lined with beautiful pictures and paintings of South Dakota scenes. The Custer Suite also had an electric fireplace right there in the room, a beyond comfortable bed, and large bathroom. The view of Spearfish Canyon is unmatched, as you can see the scenery right out the bedroom window. Though it was winter, the roads were well-plowed.

Room Tip: For a quieter stay, ask to be away from the laundry room.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ASmithers13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLinda, Manager at Spearfish Canyon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2013

Thank you for your review! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the Custer Suite. I also appreciate your tip about the laundry room creating some noise inn that area and we will be taking steps to avoid that in the future. Again, thank you so much and we look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Nice hotel in a beautiful canyon. The rooms were nice and in keeping with the rustic decor and setting. My only complaint was not enough light to read by. All the staff were very friendly. No cell service but free wifi. Nice Hikes in the surrounding area.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Carolyn91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews