We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful SD vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Spearfish Canyon Lodge
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Lead
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderful SD vacation”
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

We all loved staying here. Great time great location wonderful people. Would definitely recommend to anyone. Can't wait to return. Did I mention wonderful location? Great art show on Friday was a surprise.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue195152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    118
    44
    20
    24
See reviews for
110
207
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
colorado
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Ok, arrived at check in and some guy had a dog barking out in the car, could hear inside, asked what that was about and no one responded, annoying, then I checked into my room and no less than 3 rooms with dogs in, now there are no designated dog rooms and yes, I itched and can only think it was from dogs on the furniture and bedspread and rug, ugh, oh yes, one dog heard during the night and once is too much, I even asked about dogs prior to reserving and they told me it is very infrequent and rooms are set aside so that shouldn't be a problem for someone who like their room minus the pleasures of dogs previously in it and the dogs butt on the furniture.

The staff is fine, room came with a breakfast from restaurant across the road and that was very good, parking is plentiful, room was clean except as mentioned above, beautiful location in the canyon

If you don't mind sharing your hotel with dogs this would be fine, for me it is something I want to avoid and the problems and uncleanliness that come with dogs: please leave your dogs home, they don't enjoy the trip or being in the room and not everyone likes your dog

Room Tip: My tip, bring milk bone dog biscuits and bond with the dogs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stanley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

4 years in a row we have stayed at the Lodge for a Marriage Retreat sponsored by our church. We have never been disappointed! The rooms are very clean and beautifully decorated. The front desk staff are polite and well-trained. The gift shop is phenomenal! The Latchstring Restaurant has exceptional food, every dish tastes great! The restaurant manager, Jamie, is world class!! The Lodge will not disappoint! Do yourself a favor...reserve a room soon!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank barrytanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bismarck, North Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

If you want a weekend get away to snowmobile couldn't ask for a better place. The lodge was nice and very friendly, helpful staff. We rented snowmobiles and the staff there were awesome and patient with us. The restaurants food, wow, can't say enough about it. It was delicious and the amount on the plate was very generous, definitely worth the price. For a two night stay and a one day snowmobile rental for two sleds, plus what we ate and drank couldn't ask for a more reasonable price. No cell service what so ever. Which sometimes wasn't a bad thing. Just used the hotel phone to check on the kids at home. Definitely will go again and take family along.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Arleen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hill City, South Dakota
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

The good: friendly people, location, views from the room, beautiful lobby, pet friendly, comfortable beds
the bad: lack of amenities, dated hotel, not the cleanest, knowledge of staff is hit or miss, overpriced, the only available restaurant is not great and also overpriced

Overall we concluded we would not stay here again. It's not worth the cost although our experience wasn't horrible. We could stay at the Days Inn for half the price and the same room. You have to really be intent on staying in the canyon for this to be worth it.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spearfish, South Dakota
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 December 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Custer Suite for one night -- what a beautiful property! The lobby has an abundance of seating in front of a gorgeous fireplace; the lobby and the hallways both are lined with beautiful pictures and paintings of South Dakota scenes. The Custer Suite also had an electric fireplace right there in the room, a beyond comfortable bed, and large bathroom. The view of Spearfish Canyon is unmatched, as you can see the scenery right out the bedroom window. Though it was winter, the roads were well-plowed.

Room Tip: For a quieter stay, ask to be away from the laundry room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ASmithers13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLinda, Manager at Spearfish Canyon Lodge, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Thank you for your review! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the Custer Suite. I also appreciate your tip about the laundry room creating some noise inn that area and we will be taking steps to avoid that in the future. Again, thank you so much and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, CA
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel in a beautiful canyon. The rooms were nice and in keeping with the rustic decor and setting. My only complaint was not enough light to read by. All the staff were very friendly. No cell service but free wifi. Nice Hikes in the surrounding area.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lead
8.2 mi away
Town Hall Inn
Town Hall Inn
#1 of 8 in Lead
224 reviews
10.1 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
10.5 mi away
Best Western Black Hills Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
The Lodge at Deadwood
The Lodge at Deadwood
#3 of 24 in Deadwood
542 reviews
8.0 mi away
Dakota Spur Hotel
Dakota Spur Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lead
60 reviews
10.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spearfish Canyon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spearfish Canyon Lodge

Property: Spearfish Canyon Lodge
Address: 10169 Roughlock Falls Road, Lead, SD 57783
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Lead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Lead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spearfish Canyon Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Spearfish Canyon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spearfish Canyon Hotel Lead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing