We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Spearfish Canyon Lodge
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Lead
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
288 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Good stay”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We were hiking with a group and stayed at the lodge. While check in was a chore, we had a nice stay. The rooms were adequate and the service good. We stayed 2nights and enjoyed the environs with a fire in the great room. Nice, but not luxurious rooms. Great scenery

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank remery1513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    113
    41
    17
    22
See reviews for
99
196
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hockessin, De
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Spearfish Canyon was special complemented by 2 nights at Spearfish Lodge room was very pleasant and the setting made it all come together! Restaurant across street adequate, but found Bayleaf Cafe back in Spearfish city worth 12mile ride.

Room Tip: My handicapped room lacked any semblance of handicapped bath. We did get first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Momof7_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McPherson, Kansas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

We stopped to shoot some photos of Spearfish Falls and ended up making reservations at the lodge. It was an excellent value that included a comedy show and dinner at the Latchstring Restaurant across the street. Dinner was excellent and the show was fun! Our room was very comfortable, so glad we stayed. Roughlock Falls are just up the road and something you shouldn't miss. We were impressed!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 2KStravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopkins
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Very nice hotel! Staff had great advice for good restaurants & the rooms were very nice!!!!! It was very well priced also! From now on I will look for the roadway inn to stay at! We couldn't have had better service

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

We all loved staying here. Great time great location wonderful people. Would definitely recommend to anyone. Can't wait to return. Did I mention wonderful location? Great art show on Friday was a surprise.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue195152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colorado
Level Contributor
223 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Ok, arrived at check in and some guy had a dog barking out in the car, could hear inside, asked what that was about and no one responded, annoying, then I checked into my room and no less than 3 rooms with dogs in, now there are no designated dog rooms and yes, I itched and can only think it was from dogs on the furniture and bedspread and rug, ugh, oh yes, one dog heard during the night and once is too much, I even asked about dogs prior to reserving and they told me it is very infrequent and rooms are set aside so that shouldn't be a problem for someone who like their room minus the pleasures of dogs previously in it and the dogs butt on the furniture.

The staff is fine, room came with a breakfast from restaurant across the road and that was very good, parking is plentiful, room was clean except as mentioned above, beautiful location in the canyon

If you don't mind sharing your hotel with dogs this would be fine, for me it is something I want to avoid and the problems and uncleanliness that come with dogs: please leave your dogs home, they don't enjoy the trip or being in the room and not everyone likes your dog

Room Tip: My tip, bring milk bone dog biscuits and bond with the dogs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stanley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

4 years in a row we have stayed at the Lodge for a Marriage Retreat sponsored by our church. We have never been disappointed! The rooms are very clean and beautifully decorated. The front desk staff are polite and well-trained. The gift shop is phenomenal! The Latchstring Restaurant has exceptional food, every dish tastes great! The restaurant manager, Jamie, is world class!! The Lodge will not disappoint! Do yourself a favor...reserve a room soon!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank barrytanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lead
7.5 mi away
Blackstone Lodge and Suites
8.2 mi away
Town Hall Inn
Town Hall Inn
#1 of 8 in Lead
5.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
11.1 mi away
The Lodge at Deadwood
The Lodge at Deadwood
#7 of 24 in Deadwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
10.1 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
8.0 mi away
Dakota Spur Hotel
Dakota Spur Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spearfish Canyon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spearfish Canyon Lodge

Property: Spearfish Canyon Lodge
Address: 10169 Roughlock Falls Road, Lead, SD 57783
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Lead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Lead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spearfish Canyon Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Spearfish Canyon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spearfish Canyon Hotel Lead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing