We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific location, slightly above average rooms, iffy service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Spearfish Canyon Lodge
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Lead
Certificate of Excellence
Leawood, Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terrific location, slightly above average rooms, iffy service”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The main thing this Lodge has going for it is the location, which is lovely: beautiful views and close to several waterfalls. The Bridal Veil Falls Suite is a nice size, but the location of the room is not great. The private patio is directly above the public patio where smokers congregate. Service was not great. We had a confirmation for 4, but the room wasn't made up for 4 and at 9:15 p.m., we had to make the sofabed for our kids because only 1 staffer was on site. The trash had not been emptied, the screen on the door was ripped. We were charged the wrong rate (an extra $74) for 1 night, and when I called about it, the clerk wasn't sure why or if she could fix it without phoning her manager (even though I had a copy of the reservation confirmation that showed the rate). Ultimately it was fixed, but a guest shouldn't be hassled when a clerk makes a mistake, and certainly an apology is in order. Suzie is an exception to an otherwise average to below-average staff. For $275 / night, my expectations on service were higher, compared to other 3-star accommodations I have visited.

Room Tip: The Bridal Veil Falls Suite is a nice size with lovely views from the lounge area (note that the bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martha1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    117
    43
    18
    24
See reviews for
108
202
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Delaware
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Just spent a week at the lodge with wife. Place is very nice and extremely clean. The staff is very nice and goes out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. The Latchstring Restaurant across the street, is part of the Lodge. However , the food is average at best . Plenty of choices in nearby Deadwood and Spearfish, Beautiful hiking trails, great trout fishing. Breathtaking views.

Room Tip: 2nd floor with view of Canyon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itsallgoodDelaware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

It didn't start well. When we arrived, there seemed to be a plague of flying insects in the car park. (Apparently they are a problem for a few days each year. We chose the wrong days!). After checking in we went to our room. It had not been serviced from the previous night so we had to repair to the bar to wait for the room to be made ready.
Things improved after that. We walked the trail up the river to the waterfall, which was very picturesque. That relaxed us. We returned to the hotel and had a decent dinner in the restaurant, and a decent breakfast in the morning. We would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtraveller112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rapid City, South Dakota, United States
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Beautiful building, Beautiful Views, excellent service at the bar, comfortable bed, spacious rooms (well.... spacious enough..)...cheap construction. Rain on the roof sounded like a drumline in the room with you, and it was almost like sharing your bed with the neighbor! The great service and location made up for it, would definitely recommend

Room Tip: wouldnt think there would be one better or worse then the others, seemed like a good view could be h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Big Lake, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We visited this lodge with a Corvette club group of about 30. The staff was alot of fun and very accomodating. They even had a bucket, rags and a bottle of carwash soap ready for us with a hose outside! The grounds are absolutely beautiful and so peaceful. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed at Spearfish Canyon for 2 nights and absolutely loved it! Coming off of 2 nights of camping in Custer State Park, we were ready for a little luxury. The lodge provided just that. We enjoyed a gorgeous drive through Spearfish Canyon and arrived to very helpful staff and a comfy, clean room. Both mornings included a delicious breakfast at the lodge's Latchstring Inn (biscuits and gravy were incredible!). We based ourselves here for the short hour and a half drive out to Devils Tower. While here, we also checked out the town of Spearfish and hiked. There are 3 trailheads onsite - we'd definitely suggest the Roughlock Falls hike. I would easily recommend this lodge to anyone traveling the area!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irving, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Our experience with Spearfish Canyon Resort started our with the beauty of the canyon. Couldn't have imagined a place like this. We celebrated our 35th anniversary there this month. But.....they had a wedding party there the same night. What a trainwreck! Drunks cussing, slamming and beating on doors. We got no sleep that night. My wife was very, very upset. During this situation, a bill appears under our door.
I told my wife I would talk to manager before we left.
The next morning when I approached the front desk another lady was already talking to management. Same experience as we had. Management could have taken the attitude that they made more money from the wedding party than two room rental.
BUT, management took the high road and comped both our stays. Nice job Spearfish Canyon resort!!!!!!!!! We will be back!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lead
8.2 mi away
Town Hall Inn
Town Hall Inn
#1 of 8 in Lead
218 reviews
7.5 mi away
Blackstone Lodge and Suites
11.1 mi away
The Lodge at Deadwood
The Lodge at Deadwood
#3 of 24 in Deadwood
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
10.5 mi away
Best Western Black Hills Lodge
8.0 mi away
Dakota Spur Hotel
Dakota Spur Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lead
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spearfish Canyon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spearfish Canyon Lodge

Property: Spearfish Canyon Lodge
Address: 10169 Roughlock Falls Road, Lead, SD 57783
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Lead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Lead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spearfish Canyon Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Spearfish Canyon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spearfish Canyon Hotel Lead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing