We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous atmosphere and great burgers !”
Review of Boar's Nest

Boar's Nest
Ranked #7 of 21 Restaurants in Lead
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Lead, South Dakota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous atmosphere and great burgers !”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Don't miss this great secret of the Black Hills restraurants!
Opens Saturday, June 14th.
Opens Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays at 11 a.m.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JazznT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    8
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spearfish, South Dakota
1 review
“Best Burger in the Black Hills...and yes we've been to Sugar Shack & Lewie's”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We have lived in the Hills most of our lives and all five members of our family agree that the burgers here are the best. The Boar burger is my personal fave with pulled pork on top of the beef. The kids love dropping bottles down the upstairs shoots and watching them shatter in the garbage cans below. Hard to beat the open air atmosphere of this place...wish it was open year round.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Refuge”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We were heading from Deadwood to Spearfish on the Harley going over the hills when the weather turned foul. We had just passed the Boars Nest and were forced to turn back with the rain turning to hail. As we blasted into the car park the doors were rapidly opened up and we were waived in. This was a first! I had been in drive-throughs before but never a drive-in. As we rode to the side of the bar the hail came thundering down the size of golf balls, at the same time hot coffee was proffered. We stopped for a bite to eat and let the storm pass. This place is a must stop as the service and welcome is second to none!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hanuman-Haa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Montana
Level Contributor
181 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

If you are in Deadwood just take the 14A south for about 5 minutes and u will stumble upon the Boar's Nest. Grab a cold one and a burger and you will not be disappointed. This is South Dakota at it's best. Sweet casual spot in the Black Hills. Sit indoors or out. I think they are only open Fri and Sat from 4 pm til 10 pm. Great spot on your way to Spearfish Canyon!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thomas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Boar's Nest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing