We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Towering View”
other travellers have booked this property
winter view from windows to the South.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
winter view from windows to the South.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
winter view from windows to the South.
View to South.
View to West.
View from Kitchen.
View to South, thunderhead.
Driveway entrance off Hwy 16a
Driveway to lodge
Dining and kitchen.
Kitchen
Trout run on stream below house.
Climber on South wall seen from your windows.
Trout run below house. Browns , Rainbows, Brook.
View to West  ( Roughlock Canyon wall )
View form trail to Roughlock Falls
Your private deck and entrance
Grizzly bears on front lawn
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Lead, South Dakota

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SouthTex
Texas
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Towering View”
Reviewed 19 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Excellent place for couples getaway. Very appealing place with everything you need just bring your own food.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barronsbu...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A week in the Blackhills”
Reviewed 4 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Fantastic spot, very nice cabin with a wonderful view. The owner is as helpful or removed as you would like and offered advise and recommendations for our stay. The cabin is very well located and convenient for all of the activities we planned. The laundry is an added bonus that I missed in the description. If we come back to this area, the Skylodge will sit atop the places we will choose to stay in.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seasoned...
Sawyer, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“What a beautiful place”
Reviewed 28 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The rental and the location were both just wonderful. Spearfish Canyon is among the most beautiful drives in the Black Hills, and Skye Lodge is a perfect compliment to it. The apartment is thoughtfully and carefully furnished, the deck let us look at the hills around the house, the kitchen is nicely equipped (it took a little ingenuity but there was everything we needed), the bathroom and towels are excellent, the front windows give a wonderful view onto the canyon from another vantage, and the owner is as pleasant and helpful as you could hope for.
As others have commented, the drive up to the house is steep, and we were glad we had and all wheel drive vehicle, but I imagine Greg will help figure it out if you really have trouble.
The single less-than-positive note I would add is that the bed was not the most comfortable I've ever slept in.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the home itself in it's beautiful setting
Liked least: the bed
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tami T
Atlantic, IA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Honeymoon Spot”
Reviewed 3 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

`We loved our stay at Skyelodge. Greg was an awesome host. The location is amazing and the the apartment had everything we needed. We can't say enough good things about this wonderful place!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie R
1 review
“Wonderful Hospitality with a Beautiful View”
Reviewed 16 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This place was amazing - all the appliances were new, the view was spectacular and Greg was so helpful. He even met us on the road the first night to show us the way up the hill. We loved the location in Spearfish Canyon and took advantage of the stream and ponds nearby for trout fishing. If you want a quiet place to get away and enjoy the best part of the Hills - I would recommend this place. Just make sure your vehicle can handle going uphill.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and the kitchen.
Liked least: The drive up the hill on gravel.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michal I
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
1 review
“Peaceful Retreat”
Reviewed 21 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

My husband and I stayed at Skye Lodge for the majority of our honeymoon and we had a fantastic time! Greg is more than hospitable and really had thought of everything to make our stay comfortable and fun. The lodge itself is perfectly clean, as well as modern and cozy. and not to mention the beautiful view! We will definitely want to come here again in the future.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea G
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
1 review
“peaceful get away”
Reviewed 1 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

The cabin was beautiful! My boyfriend and I stayed for 5 nights, the cabin was the perfect place to get away for a week. The views were hard to leave behind when it was time to go home. The owner was great, I would recommend this cabin for any couple.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing