We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Copper Mounatin Resort and Condominiums
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Lead
Reviewed 26 August 2008

Stayed here for one night in July 2008 as part of a tour. Hotel was clean and comfortable, but there is nothing at all to do in Lead. Fortunately the hotel puts on transport into Deadwood. ($6 for a return Limo ride)

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank leftfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (322)
There are newer reviews for Copper Mounatin Resort and Condominiums
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

316 - 322 of 322 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2008

This is a nice resort motel. Rooms were fairly clean and good food with big breakfast buffet. The pool is at the YMCA that you can walk underground to get to. It is just behind the resort. It stays open till 8:00 pm. I really don't have alot of complaints. They seem to be updating rooms also.

It is only a few miles from Deadwood too.

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HideawaysSouthDakota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2007

Deadwood was full of gambling hotels which are not our scene so we opted to stay in Lead. The hotel was a good choice. It has good location at the top of the hill and has good parking. Our friends had a room next to the lift and opposite an ice machine. The noise was bad, so they asked to be moved and were given a much better room with no hassle.

We ate dinner there, and it was much more pleasant than we had expected. The dining room looks functional and does not have much ambiance to it. The waitress looked sullen and bored at first, but when we got chatting to her, she was really pleasant.

Our first day we chose to eat breakfast out, thinking that the hotel would rip us off for a cooked breakfast. What a mistake! The breakfast in Deadwood was seriously bad, so next day we ate at the hotel and had an excellent, fresh cooked breakfast at a very reasonable price.

There was a PC in the lobby for guest use, some very comfortable leather sofas to lounge around on and, if we had wanted, a minibus into Deadwood for the casino.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank megsnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2007

The Golden Hills Resort and Convention Center is a Great Place to stay. It is now locally owned and operated, and the new owners really know what is going on. The rooms are clean, and priced right. The restaurants steaks are delicious. The bar was fun, and the drinks were really reasonably price. There is a pool, but it is located inside another building. The cool thing was that to get to the other building you actually walk in a underground tunnel. So even though the pool isn't in the same building, there is definetly a very convenient and nice pool. Deadwood is only three miles away and the resort has a shuttle service which makes it very nice. The cost is $4 but you get it all back and then some in Deadwood. The town of lead is very interesting, and very worth anyones while to visit, and if you do you should stay at this place.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Sled24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Geneva, IL
755
Reviewed 20 August 2004

This place is a bit strange, its part of the Mineral Palace chain of hotels, but isn't in Deadwood. They offer a $4 (reimbursed with gaming credit) shuttle to Mineral Palace in Deadwood - about 4 miles away.

Staff was friendly, room was quiet, clean and spacious. The restaurant and the bar didn't seem to be open - and their is no pool or hot-tub. Seems like the property is in transition - like for the over-flow from Mineral Palace. We only paid just under $60 before tax, and that included an adequate carb-only breakfast too.

If you want really good pizza, there is a small place called PizzaLab just down the street that was really good - no liquor though, but highly recommended. They were really friendly there too - and have ice cream for the kids!

12  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank giorgio d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank celles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lead
0.4 mi away
Blackstone Lodge and Suites
0.4 mi away
Town Hall Inn
Town Hall Inn
#1 of 8 in Lead
225 reviews
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#8 of 24 in Deadwood
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dakota Spur Hotel
Dakota Spur Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lead
65 reviews
2.7 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.1 mi away
Whitetail Court Motel and Campground
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copper Mounatin Resort and Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copper Mounatin Resort and Condominiums

Address: 900 Miners Ave, Lead, SD 57754-1348 (Formerly Days Inn Lead)
Region: United States > South Dakota > Lead
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Lead
Price Range: £36 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Copper Mounatin Resort and Condominiums 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Copper Mountain Resort is located in the heart of the beautiful Black Hills minutes from the Mickelson trail, hiking, biking, snowmobiling, golfing and many other area attractions. There are 50 hotel rooms and 30 Full service Condominiums available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Copper Mounatin Resort and Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Hills Hotel Lead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing