We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Room, Indifferent Staff”
Review of Town Hall Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Town Hall Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Lead
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2013

I agree with reviewers who note that the price is right, the ambiance of sleeping in an old town hall office is cool, and the location for touring Deadwood without the casinos is perfect. However, during our stay the staff was not so interested or helpful. I would say "adequate" or "doing the job." Sadly, Lead doesn't have much to offer in the way of restaurants. The "Bumpin' Buffalo" is right across the street in a lovely building with so-so food.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neroseepa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HistoricTownHallInn, Owner at Town Hall Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Thank you for your kind words regarding our Inn. We're sorry that our level of customer service fell short during your visit. We are a true "mom & pop" Inn and take great pride in exceeding our guest's needs. We were called away on a family emergency during your stay and relied on others to help during our absence.

In an effort to redeem ourselves, please consider contacting us as we would like to offer you an incentive for a return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (228)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 228 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2013

Room was good although bed was uncomfortable. Hotel was clean, service was great and location made touring the Black Hills easy. Lead is a nice small town with good restaurant options. Hotel does not have restaurant or ice machine or elevator. Front steps were kind of rough. Overall the historical significance and restored beauty of the inn made up for the lack of modern conveniences

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wandbtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HistoricTownHallInn, Owner at Town Hall Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2013

Thank you so much for your positive review!

We are very happy you were satisfied with your stay. We are a true "mom & pop" Inn and strive to ensure that our guests needs are met and expectations exceeded. All our beds have memory foam mattress toppers and we receive many compliments on their comfort... some are firmer than others and we're sorry you did not find yours more comfortable. Please send us an email and we will provide you with an incentive to visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Nice staff. Spacious room and bathroom. Very clean and comfortable. Internet computer in lobby along with a TV for those who just can't do without. Price not great, but OK. With a little decorating it could be the real deal, but as is it is still a nice, kinda funky and fun place to stay.

Room Tip: All that said.... consider street noise when making your reservations if you are a light sleeper. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

My husband and I travel out to the hills at least 4 times a year and this is officially our place to stay. After just our first stay we felt like family coming back to visit the second time. Now our third stay (different room every time) we say "lets go home" instead of "lets go back to the hotel". The staff is so kind and truly goes out of their way to make our stay as comfortable as possible and take the time to make recommendations for the area. Having a background in the hotel industry I know what to look for and these rooms are top notch clean!! The bed is SO comfortable, the comforters and pillows are so fluffy. After a long day hiking, biking, or shopping it's like sleeping on a cloud. I cannot say anything but great things about this hotel; you'll truly be missing out if you don't stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

We stayed three nights July 2012. The Historic Town Hall is a great alternative to chain hotels. We prefer the cozy and local ambience of small town inns. Kelly was a most gracious host. We HIGHLY recommend the Inn. It is a short drive, 5-10 minutes to Deadwood, so you can enjoy all of the touristy trash and flash in Deadwood, and then retreat to a much quieter, charming inn. We traveled through Spearfish Canyon to Devils Tower, Wyoming one day. Then on to Sturgis and Rapid City another. Our room was on the first floor; it was small, but extremely clean and newly remodeled. It was wonderful to return each day to our room.
Kim and Jim from West Virginia

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WVtravelingpeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

This was a sweet little Gem in the deadwood area, very affordable and really comfortable and quiet. There was some clanking pipes, but not that big of deal for us. Sost us about 7 dollar taxi ride to deadwood, which was perfect. We wont stay anywhere else in deadwood now that we have stayed here. This is the spot for a quiet stay!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lewis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

My husband and I stayed in this lovely hotel located in the historical town of lead SD. We are from rapid city SD so we were just looking for an over night get away. Another couple and us stayed on a Saturday night. Both rooms as well as the hotel itself was so charming! We all loved it and will definitely stay again. The value of the hotel was excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lindarob213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lead
2.3 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
3.9 mi away
The Lodge at Deadwood
The Lodge at Deadwood
#2 of 25 in Deadwood
594 reviews
0.7 mi away
Blackstone Lodge and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
2.6 mi away
Celebrity Hotel
Celebrity Hotel
#1 of 25 in Deadwood
768 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hickok's Hotel & Gaming
Hickok's Hotel & Gaming
#17 of 25 in Deadwood
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Town Hall Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town Hall Inn

Address: 215 W Main St, Lead, SD 57754-1603
Region: United States > South Dakota > Lead
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Lead
Price Range: £58 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Town Hall Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step through the doors of the Town Hall Inn located in Lead, SD and find yourself swept back in time to the early 1900's; an exhilarating time where hospitality flourished and adventure was plentiful. For our customers, we offer a clean, friendly place to stay; for our associates we promise an upbeat and fair place to work; for our community we promise to be a place that educates patrons in the rich history of the beautiful Black Hills to inspire repeat visits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Town Hall Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing