We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, Clean, and Quiet”

Whitetail Court Motel and Campground
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Whitetail Court Motel and Campground
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Lead
Grandville, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice, Clean, and Quiet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

We stayed at this Motel in July 2012 and thought the rooms were well prepared, clean, clean, clean and served what we were looking for. The owners were more than pleasant and check in was easy. Bathrooms were very, very clean. Good WI-FI connection which was important to us as we were in the area on business. Grounds were well kept and clean. Appealing from the street. I would stay here again and highly recommend it to anyone traveling through the area or staying for an extended time enjoying the area activities. This one gets a thumbs up!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdw42257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    5
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
6
8
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

Despite my poor review of this property, I would stay here again because of its location, staff and price. The property is in critical need of some TLC. There is small stream in the back of the motel, but the grounds are so unsightly (a tent enclosure, LP tanks, concrete blocks etc.) it is difficult to enjoy it. The motel had the worst kitchen accessories of any kitchenette I have experienced. If you plan on cooking and eating here bring your own car camping cookwear since you'll never be able to prepare and serve a meal with the sparse collection of junk store accessories that came with our room (no bowls, no glasses only coffee cups, one small pan that was so cheap I'd be affraid to cook with it). The room furnishings were on par with the kitchen equipment. That said, it has a great price, the owners are extremely friendly, and it is a great jumping off point to the beauty of the northern Black Hills and Spearfish Canyon. If you are prepared for the blemishes and quirkiness, you should have a good stay here.

Room Tip: Stay in the motel rather than the individual cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BirdLooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lead hotels

Gillette, Wyoming
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

We were in cabin 1 for only one night. The bathroom was still dirty when we checked in--old bar of soap in shower and bobby pins all over the floor. We knew the shower had low pressure but it was barely dripping. The water took almost 10 minutes to heat up and then it was only like warm. The bed was hard. We had been warned it was a cabin, so we weren't expecting super conditions, but some heat would have been nice. No thermostat and the little wall gas heater did not work. There were no extra blankets and by the time we realized that it would be cold and we had no heat, the office was closed so we couldn't even get extra covers. We had friends who had rooms in the hotel part and they were nice rooms with heat and more comfey beds. Don't stay in a cabin here. Plus, the lady who answered the phone couldn't give directions to get us there, and I had to call at 3 different times of the day to even make a reservation as they never answered.

Room Tip: No cabins!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wds36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANKATO
Level Contributor
171 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2011

We stayed in a motel room with 2 beds for 70. for 3 adults including tax, in June. This place is located only a few miles from Lead in Icebox Canyon, near Spearfish Canyon. It is about 7 miles from Deadwood. It is a log cabin motel with log cabins, also. It has a cute location on a stream. The beds were comfortable and clean. I would suggest more landscaping, though. Some flowers in the front, and a better tended backyard along the stream would add alot. Also, new carpeting could be installed soon--clean, but worn by door.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 110kitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2010

Arrived during the kool nights antique car days, all hotels were booked. Except for a freak cancelation that landed us to this cabin. Cute little personal cabin. Clean, microwave, sink, the most weak shower ever. The water pressure was little to nill yet shower stall was very clean. The provided complementary breakfast was entertaining. I haven't had a pop tart in years.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbahr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianola, IA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2009

We stayed at Whitetail court in one of their 'rooms' or as we referred to it - our 'cabin'!! It was myself and my significant other and 3 of his children that are special needs 'adults'. This place is unbelieveable. Relaxing, quiet, quaint and perfect for a family! Plus the price was right - especially when comparing it to other places in that area of South Dakota that were insanely priced! Anyway, our room had 3 queen sized beds in it with the third bed being partially separated from the other too. So, obviously we put the kids in the other two along with a futon on that side of the room so all 3 of them got their own bed. We also had a full kitchen with a refrigerator, stove, and microwave. We parked right outside our front door. The back door led out to a place with picnic tables, a grill, a swing, and babbling spring brook and right NEXT to the back door - was a hot tub!! We spent every evening but one right there. The days would get fairly warm - near 100 one day - but you are right in the thick of the forest and the babbling brook had literally freezing cold water in it so temps there would reach MAYBE the upper 50s/lower 60s at night. With the kitchen we could cook evening meals which saved us a ton of money (there was a grocery store in Lead which was only about 5 mins. away). Plus at noon we stocked our cooler each day and ate sandwiches while we toured all the attractions. The owners were very, very nice and our 'cabin' was cleaned and refreshed each day as we needed. Their dog "Bear" was just a sweetheart! He was at our grill each evening to see what we had to share with him. He's an older lab and just loved attention. It is a bit of a drive to some of the major attractions but just the idea that going back to it in the evening AWAY from all those people - was well worth it. We also found a very nice pizza place near Lead the first night as we were tired from the drive and didn't want to cook that first night. As I said, this is truly an AWESOME place to stay in the Black Hills of South Dakota. We will most defnitely stay here again when we get back to that area. And we highly recommend it to everyone!! Thank you Whitetail Court!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karen520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longmont, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2009

We have stayed at Whitetail Court a few times and have always enjoyed our stay. The staff is beyond wonderful, they have clean rooms and its located in a fantastic place.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thesarahsaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lead
3.0 mi away
Blackstone Lodge and Suites
6.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
3.1 mi away
Town Hall Inn
Town Hall Inn
#1 of 8 in Lead
5.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
7.0 mi away
Spearfish Canyon Lodge
3.1 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitetail Court Motel and Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitetail Court Motel and Campground

Property: Whitetail Court Motel and Campground
Address: Highway 85s-14a, Lead, SD 57754
Region: United States > South Dakota > Lead
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Lead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Whitetail Court Motel and Campground 2*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Ebookers so you can book your Whitetail Court Motel and Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitetail Court Motel And Campground Hotel Lead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing