We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best little B&B on the Prairie”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lennox
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Steever House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Lennox B&B and Inns
Bragg Creek, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best little B&B on the Prairie”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

This restored home is a treasure. It is a 10-mile drive outslde Sioux Falls, and well worth the trip. Sara & John Steever welcomed us to their home & were great about shuffling the breakfast menu for my spouse's "heartsmart" diet (that we had forgotten to warn them about!). It was early in the season, so we were able to see all of the guest rooms - each beautifully furnished to match the 1920 style of the home. We had a great sleep in mountains of pillows in the Yellow Room.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 122Peta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
30
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Poquoson, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Steever House has been a favorite of my parents for years, so I was pleased to finally get a chance to stay there recently for a family reunion. The house is beautiful and is furnished in an elegant yet homey way. We occupied 3 rooms - I was in the Rose Room which was lovely and right next to the upstairs sun porch. My sister and her young daughter were in the Blue Room with its clawfoot tub bathroom - there was plenty of room for the two of them. My parents had the Attic Room, which is quite large and yet very cozy with its angled ceilings, sitting area, big Jacuzzi tub, large bathroom, and king size bed which my parents loved. We gathered there in the evenings and felt quite at home. All three rooms have private bathrooms. (The 4th room which we did not use also has a private bath, but it is down the hall and not connected to the room.) John and Sara are absolutely gracious and friendly hosts who entertained us with stories of the area and their home. John does an amazing job with breakfast -- 4 days and each was unique and so delicious! Very accommodating as well. Sunsets in the country were amazing! Enjoy your stay - you'll feel at home!

Room Tip: Attic room with king bed and large bathroom is by far the biggest and most interesting, but don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We chose Steever House because it was not in the city. It is a charming Victorian house with charming hosts, John and Sara. The house was moved from 70 miles away to land owned by John's family. The sunset and sunrise were spectacular as was the breakfast cooked by John.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NCswampmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Stayed here while traveling for business. Liked the quaint old house and great tub. John is a gifted host. He is warm, gracious, and a good cook. He was helpful in giving directions and helped me feel at home in their house. I found the bed a little too hard but I'm a 35 on our select comfort at home. Great tub. Great host.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bandy57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

My fiance and I were in the middle of a month-long cross country road trip when we stopped at the Steever House for a night. Unfortunately, we were late arriving and early to leave due to a full schedule, but John and Sara were most accomodating and extremely generous hosts. John woke up early to cook us a delicious breakfast and share some history of the amazing Victorian house. Beautifully renovated, quiet & peaceful surroundings, and pleasant company-- we only wish we had been able to extend our stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank architectsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vergas, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 November 2013

My husband and I couldn't have enjoyed a nicer time anywhere for our mini anniversary getaway this fall! The Steever House and family are just amazing! Great atmosphere! Great food! Great scenery! Great hospitality!! Definitely want to return sometime soon:)

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeAnn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fullerton, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

This beautiful Victorian b & b was the perfect spot for our family get together. Everyone felt so at home and comfortable. John and Sara the host and hostess make you feel so good you never want to leave. The breakfast yummy. We laughed so much. Who would ever know that Lennox, SD would be such a fun vacation spot. The sunrise in the red room was magical. Thank you John, Sara, John, and Elizabeth for a fantastic vacation.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lennox
9.3 mi away
Best Western Empire Towers
Best Western Empire Towers
#9 of 53 in Sioux Falls
402 reviews
10.0 mi away
Sioux Falls ClubHouse Hotel & Suites
5.0 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Tea / Sioux Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 53 in Sioux Falls
322 reviews
14.3 mi away
AeroStay Hotel
AeroStay Hotel
#17 of 53 in Sioux Falls
84 reviews
11.2 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Sioux Falls Sanford Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steever House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steever House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Steever House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 46850 276th Street, Lennox, SD 57039
Region: United States > South Dakota > Lennox
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lennox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing