We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only stay here for the price”
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Mitchell
1 review
“Only stay here for the price”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Pros: the bed was comfortable and the desk clerk was friendly. Cons: the room smelled like kitty litter (not cat urine or feces, the clay smell of kitty litter). The refrigerator appeared to be working when I put my items in it, there was frost in the freezer compartment, but the next morning the refrigerator interior was room temperature and there was a puddle of water in the bottom from the freezer frost melting. I had to throw away the perishables. TV was a tube TV and the remote only worked occasionally. The security door to access from the parking lot was warped and would not close completely, so therefore, didn't lock. The air conditioning unit in the stairwell looked like someone had just taken a sawsall and cut a hole in the wall & shoved the unit in. The desk clerk stated that he had given us a "really nice room", I'd hate to see the rest. The carpet was dirty, sheets were so thin you could see through them. It appeared that the motel was used for long-term stays and some of the guests were kind of sketching looking. I wouldn't let my 16 year old granddaughter leave the room without me. Vending machines were not functioning. Breakfast was advertised both on-line and on the card in the room but there was no breakfast available in the morning. Wifi connection was terrible, so slow that I gave up and used my data on my phone. I had planned to make a reservation here for my husband & his father who were traveling 1 week behind me but after my experience, I made them reservations at the Motel 6 behind the Econolodge.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    5
    7
    12
    20
See reviews for
21
11
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
362 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Horrible, dirty place with broken everything; pavement, laundry room, vending machine, etc. TWO rooms were dirty and one even had brown streaks on the wall with hair stuck on it! Clerks are nice, but the carpets are filthy, the coffee pot area on the table was stained and it was NOT a pleasant experience. The area's nice and the Corn Palace is two exits away, so it has potential but only with significantly different management and major repairs.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KaTe2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike H, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
I am so disappointed to hear that you were so dissatisfied with our accommodations and services and that our rating for your experience is so low. It is truly our goal to impress each guest with our service, hospitality, and continuing improvements to our rooms, parking, and policies. Thank you for taking the time to share this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mitchell hotels

Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2014

When we got our rooms everything was fine until we pulled back the blankets and found a dirty rag. Then they moved us across the hall and the toilet had left overs. From our experience I would not recommend it the old guy at the front desk probably doesn't even get anyone to clean the rooms.

Room Tip: Ask to have them clean the room first
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike H, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
We are deeply distressed to discover the lapse in service you experienced during your recent stay. I am so sorry to hear about the difficulties that you experienced with housekeeping issues. It's our primary goal to ensure that you receive the best lodging experience and we wish to let you know that your voice is extremely important to us. We want you to feel at home, welcomed and safe within a clean environment. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and to bring these matters to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night it was nasty. The beds were filthy the carpet was sticky and it smelled bad. I would not have stayed here for free. When I woke up in the morning i couldn't breathe,probably just mold and bacteria. Learn from my mistake

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tom tohini t, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear ,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

Manager
Econo Lodge
6059966647
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

...second night on our journey moving with a dog. Econo Lodge in Mitchell was almost exactly the same as Econo Lodge in Des Moines. The room was comfortable, the desk staff helpful at recommending restaurants in the area. The bed was fine, there was a refrigerator in the room for soda and beer. Needed the air conditioner, it was really hot out, and it worked well. No charge for the dog here, unless I missed it, so $75 for the room.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhonda60103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellaire, Michigan, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We were travelling in the area and needed to find a hotel for the night. I searched the internet and found that if we stayed a couple hours from Sioux Falls, SD we would get much better prices. In my search we came across Econo Lodge so I booked through an agency. We had a clean room with good accommodations for a decent price. We left before breakfast so I cannot say how the breakfast was but I can say that when we booked the room they adjusted the price accordingly.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We stayed 1 night and I'm not sure I could have made it. The room was clean but needed a paint job real bad. The bed wasn't very comfortable, and the breakfast was very basic. For the price, I was dispointing.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mitchell hotels
1.4 mi away
Corn Palace Inn
Corn Palace Inn
#16 of 18 in Mitchell
44 reviews
1.6 mi away
Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell
1.8 mi away
Super 8 Mitchell
Super 8 Mitchell
#13 of 18 in Mitchell
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mitchell
1.5 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Mitchell
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Mitchell
Hampton Inn Mitchell
#1 of 18 in Mitchell
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Property: Rodeway Inn
Address: 1313 S Ohlman St, Mitchell, SD 57301-4143 (Formerly Mitchell Inn and Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Mitchell
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Mitchell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels and Booking.com so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Mitchell
Mitchell Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing